We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no disappointment here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitey's

Whitey's
302 Main Street South, Stillwater, MN
651-439-9902
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 88 Restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“no disappointment here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had an early dinner here on December 2nd after a Christmas Tea touring 5 Stillwater Bed and Breakfasts. I have eaten at Whiteys in Northeast Minneapolis several times, and this location did not disappoint.

The server was good and genuinely friendly. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that seems like a rating reserved for more gourmet food. This is very good food, and offers a wider variety than a standard bar menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great bar with above average menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stopped over in Stillwater and was looking for something different for lunch. While strolling along the main street, checking out the different eat spots and we came across Whiteys Saloon. Was not even sure if it was open due to the nondescript storefront, but I am glad I walked up to the window and found the menu. My daughter quickly found the baked Brie and we knew this was not going to be your typical bar food scene.

And I am sure glad it wasn't. I found the chicken quesadilla with SPINACH on it. Perhaps not the most outrageous, but most definately excellent with a salsa on the side better than a lot of Mexican restaurants visited. Check this place and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachlover6928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Neat Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Like going back in time. A really neat bar in a busy area. Great value with old time feel.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The steak and eggs are great! All the juice is hand sqeezed. The boss works there!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shellibomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice bar atmosphere, good, spicy won tons.
Good Tuna Tataki.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DJR1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitey's also viewed

 

Been to Whitey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing