We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no disappointment here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitey's

Whitey's
302 Main Street South, Stillwater, MN
651-439-9902
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 87 Restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“no disappointment here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had an early dinner here on December 2nd after a Christmas Tea touring 5 Stillwater Bed and Breakfasts. I have eaten at Whiteys in Northeast Minneapolis several times, and this location did not disappoint.

The server was good and genuinely friendly. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that seems like a rating reserved for more gourmet food. This is very good food, and offers a wider variety than a standard bar menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great bar with above average menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stopped over in Stillwater and was looking for something different for lunch. While strolling along the main street, checking out the different eat spots and we came across Whiteys Saloon. Was not even sure if it was open due to the nondescript storefront, but I am glad I walked up to the window and found the menu. My daughter quickly found the baked Brie and we knew this was not going to be your typical bar food scene.

And I am sure glad it wasn't. I found the chicken quesadilla with SPINACH on it. Perhaps not the most outrageous, but most definately excellent with a salsa on the side better than a lot of Mexican restaurants visited. Check this place and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Neat Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Like going back in time. A really neat bar in a busy area. Great value with old time feel.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The steak and eggs are great! All the juice is hand sqeezed. The boss works there!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice bar atmosphere, good, spicy won tons.
Good Tuna Tataki.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitey's also viewed

 

Been to Whitey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.