We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitey's

Whitey's
302 Main Street South, Stillwater, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 85 Restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Good drinks, relaxing atmosphere. Will visit again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Whitey's Crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Whitey's is the place! The staff rocks, the food is great, the atmosphere is a riot. Whether you're a local or a visitor, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White bear
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Went and had some drinks and food. They use freshly squeezed fruits for mixed drinks and juices. had a surprisingley intruiging menu to what we expected. A fun spot to go for a fun night on the town. I even won on the pull-tabs!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Chili was the highlight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I were told Whitey's has the best chili in town, and we opted to give the place a shot. Word to the wise, if twelve other restaurants are listed for Stillwater in your smart phone application and not Whitey's there is a reason.

We walked into Whitey's on a Tuesday evening around 6pm, only one other couple was in the bar / restaurant. The layout is more bar friendly then eat in, but for people watching on Main Street it didn't disappoint. I walked three quarters of the restaurant before anyone greeted us, despite a bar tender and two waitresses inside. The menu has an extensive list of sandwiches, and their selection of wine and beer did not disappoint either. The chili is what we came for, and we both had that as our side instead of fries. I can be selective of chili, and Whitey's put fourth a great product. The cobb salad was enough to feed two adults, and the bbq chicken sandwich was lack luster. Our waitress was friendly but scarce throughout the meal. Overall value for the two meals, two beer and glass of wine was on par for average.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink and some good bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Whenever we go to Stillwater we stop at Whitey's for at least a drink, often for lunch. They have a pretty typical bar menu, however a couple of items stand out, especially their slow roast beef sandwich, it is awesome! Good beer selection and fair wine list. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitey's also viewed

 

Been to Whitey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.