We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leo's Grill & Malt Shop

Leo's Grill & Malt Shop
131 Main St S, Stillwater, MN 55082-5121
+1 651-351-3943
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 87 Restaurants in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: A classic American Malt Shop in a historic setting near the St. Croix River.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This restaurant is a great place to grab a burger, malt or chili. The group I was with had all 3 of these items and they were all very good. The service was very good and our server was very nice. It is located on main st on the corner so you can walk to all the shops with ease.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    43
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't Pass it by~!! Luvvit~!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were in Stillwater for a Segway ride and went into town to find a place to have a bite. Walking on the main drag and there's a sandwich-type board in front and the words "Coconut Custard Tart" screamed at me to STOP~!!! It was home made by an employee and was absolutely fantastic~!! The right day and the right time as it was almost gone~!!! Hubby had a great ice cream sundae and the vanilla ice cream was amazing~!! I almost got some too, but then I remembered I had to face the scale sooner or later~!! ;+}

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I go here once a month or so. Everything about this place is great! Try the Leo's Challenge, I have and the yeah it's a giant burger. But the burger is amazing! You don't even care about the timer going, because the burger is so good!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I wanted it to be good, and it was better than good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was a little nervous heading into it because sometimes these places can be dirty and crappy. This was the opposite. I had an amazing burger, my wife had a burger that was WAY to big for her. We then each got a shake. All in all is was really really good. We didn't know that there was outdoor seating, but it was fun to be inside. I can't wait to head back. Almost forgot, we had a great waitress.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vintage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to Stillwater for my birthday. Awesome place. We ate at Leo's and had great food. We were too full to try the malts that seem to be very popular! My only disappointment was our server. She just gave us water which is fine, never asked what we would like to drink. Also never asked how the food was. Just had a poor attitude and felt she didn't want to be at work. Otherwise, overall everything was great. Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's Grill & Malt Shop also viewed

 

Been to Leo's Grill & Malt Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo's Grill & Malt Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.