We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Pass it by~!! Luvvit~!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leo's Grill & Malt Shop

Leo's Grill & Malt Shop
131 Main St S, Stillwater, MN 55082-5121
+1 651-351-3943
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 86 restaurants in Stillwater
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: A classic American Malt Shop in a historic setting near the St. Croix River.
MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Pass it by~!! Luvvit~!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were in Stillwater for a Segway ride and went into town to find a place to have a bite. Walking on the main drag and there's a sandwich-type board in front and the words "Coconut Custard Tart" screamed at me to STOP~!!! It was home made by an employee and was absolutely fantastic~!! The right day and the right time as it was almost gone~!!! Hubby had a great ice cream sundae and the vanilla ice cream was amazing~!! I almost got some too, but then I remembered I had to face the scale sooner or later~!! ;+}

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    59
    31
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I go here once a month or so. Everything about this place is great! Try the Leo's Challenge, I have and the yeah it's a giant burger. But the burger is amazing! You don't even care about the timer going, because the burger is so good!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I wanted it to be good, and it was better than good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was a little nervous heading into it because sometimes these places can be dirty and crappy. This was the opposite. I had an amazing burger, my wife had a burger that was WAY to big for her. We then each got a shake. All in all is was really really good. We didn't know that there was outdoor seating, but it was fun to be inside. I can't wait to head back. Almost forgot, we had a great waitress.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vintage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to Stillwater for my birthday. Awesome place. We ate at Leo's and had great food. We were too full to try the malts that seem to be very popular! My only disappointment was our server. She just gave us water which is fine, never asked what we would like to drink. Also never asked how the food was. Just had a poor attitude and felt she didn't want to be at work. Otherwise, overall everything was great. Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Malt Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had lunch here while on a shopping trip to Stillwater, MN. Fun place with great atmosphere. The service was excellent. A lot of choices on the menu from burgers to malts and everything you would expect at a malt shop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's Grill & Malt Shop also viewed

 

Been to Leo's Grill & Malt Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo's Grill & Malt Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.