We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to it's #1 ranking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ann Bean Mansion B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ann Bean Mansion B&B
Save Saved
You added Ann Bean Mansion B&B to your Saves list
319 Pine Street West, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Stillwater B&B and Inns
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lives up to it's #1 ranking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night recently in Cynthia's room and loved the entire experience. Erin welcomed us enthusiastically, and her passion for their B&B was evident as she showed us around and explained the features of the room. We especially liked the luxuriously soft king-sized bed and the top-notch whirlpool tub (both were excellent on muscles sore from hours of antiqueing!). Cynthia's room also boasts a cozy nook area that doubles as an additional sleeping area and a large tiled bathroom with a charming pocket door. The entire B&B has been restored with an eye for elegant antique charm. The breakfast in the morning was excellent as well. We chose to have our breakfast delivered to the room, which seems to be a popular option. There were a number of small courses, both sweet and savory, the variety and portions of which were perfect to leave us satisfied but not stuffed. I'd love to go back again and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
117
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgeley
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I just stayed in the Tower Room and it was just what we needed. Erin and Jeremy were personable. The room was beautiful and the trap door room needs to be in our house!!!! HEated floor in the whirlpool room. :)The room was cozy, linens were soft and the shower with the rain shower head was heaven. Breakfast, the first morning, was very yummy. The second morning it was not our cup of tea- but everything is local. The entry way was inviting and warm. Jeremy brews his own beer- very tastey and we can not wait to escape again. Nothing negative except that I kept hitting my head on the beams in the room and the fireplace needed to be restarted a few times. Close to downtown with lots of antique shops. Everything was worth the planning. Please check this place out and enjoy!!!

Room Tip: If you are tall- look at another room besides tower room. I am 5 ft. 3 in and hit my head on the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We just recently stayed at the Ann Bean Mansion. We stayed in Ann & Albert's Room. Everything was perfect for us. Some people have mentioned a refrigerator making noise when it comes on and off and that is true. It didn't bother us.

About rooms: When we arrived, we were able to look at all the rooms. They are all excellent. 3 rooms (Ann & Alberts, E.L.Hersey, and Jacob's room) are on the second floor and two are on the 3rd (Cyntihia's and the Tower room). There really isn't a "bad" choice.

The hosts were excellent as well. They were very friendly and made themselves available if there was a problem. We didn't have any problems. Their attention to detail had everything ready.

We had breakfast serve to the room. The host asked us when we checked in if we had any food allergies and if we would like anything specific. We left it open and were very pleased with what was prepared.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were able to look at all the rooms. They are all excellent. 3 rooms (Ann & Alberts, E.L.Her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just spent a night at the Ann Bean Mansion and it was wonderful! We stayed in Jacob's room... small, but cozy room with a wood burning fireplace. We definitely needed it, as it was very cold here this past weekend.

The mansion is beautiful with lots of antiques and special touches. The front room is very inviting- lots of comfy chairs to lounge in, plus a gorgeous piano. The dining room is set up for snacks and drinks any time you want them (hot chocolate, tea, coffee, fresh baked cookies, crackers, etc). Our room had a small refrigerator with some bottled water and some other drinks, which was very nice.

The bed was super comfy, with lots of great pillows and linens. Our room was set off a bit from the others, so it was very quiet. We liked the privacy and the ipod compatible cd player was nice to have.

There was a computer in the hallway for guests to use, as well as wifi throughout the house (we didn't use it, but very nice to have). We got to peek into a couple of the other rooms before people checked in... all of them were very nice!

For anyone wanting or expecting a powerful morning shower, keep in mind that it's an old house and the plumbing isn't updated. They still have the charming chain system in the shower.... lots of hot water, just not lots of pressure :)

We chose to have breakfast in our room, which was a nice way to ease into the day. Jeremy delivered it on a tray & it was delicious!!

We checked in and were given a key for the front door and our room, so we were free to come and go as we pleased. We did go out for dinner downtown, but were happy to get back and warm up in front of our fire.

The only thing that would have been nice to have is some little loveseat or couch to sit on while we enjoyed the fire.... otherwise the room was perfect.

I would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone who's looking for a quiet, romantic weekend away :)

Room Tip: Jacob's room is the smallest, but very cozy. No tv, if that's important to you. Great wood b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnBeanInnkeeper, Owner at Ann Bean Mansion B&B, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We're always grateful when guests decide to go public with their accolades. Upon reading your comment about the shower, my husband ducked upstairs to see what might have been amiss--and sure enough, the modern shower head was the problem (ironically it was not the few pieces of remaining historic plumbing!). Our apologies, we fixed it right away. I guess those 'water conserving' fixtures sometimes conserve a little too much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menomonie
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have nothing but excellent things to say about our stay at Ann Bean. It was rather close to home, about an hour away, and I couldn't think of a better quick get-away than staying here for a night or two. The house is absolutely amazing, stepping through the doors is like going back in time to when a home was a beautiful piece of art.

The hospitality was amazing. Extremely welcoming, and professional. The breakfast was exquisite, delicious and impressive. We stayed in Jacobs room and the real wood fireplace, with double hot tub was exactly what the doctor ordered.

My review does not do justice as to what this experience was. There is not a single thing I felt was lacking, no corners cut and generally I consider myself picky. When comparing a stay at Ann Bean with that of a chain establishment, it makes their "continental breakfast" and uncomfortable beds with sandpaper sheets laughable. This is a bargain stay for an excellent and relaxing experience.

Cant say enough good things. I have stayed at other B&B before, some that cost significantly more and I can say the service was much better here, as well as the accommodations. Without doubt will return, looking forward to scratching each room off one enjoyable stay by stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally impressive, our room did not have a TV...but we had to option to choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was a bride's attendant at a wedding here. We spent the night, had an amazing breakfast, and took part in a wonderful wedding here the next day. The innkeepers are great; they're so accommodating, flexible, and kind-- the manager even gave us her cell phone number to call about anything at any time.

I highly recommend this place and will absolutely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cynthia's room-- sleep room for three, excellent for our girl's night and brida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Cynthia's room and had such a wonderful time. We were greeted by Jeremy upon arrival and were shown our room and made to feel at home. We went out for dinner with a friend and came back to the mansion to relax for the rest of the evening. Our suite was just gorgeous and the bathtub was soooooo relaxing for both of us.

Breakfast the next morning was a four course feast with service beyond amazing. Jeremy was ever the host bringing the courses while Erin popped in and out of the kitchen as well. When the service was complete, they both came out and visited with the four of us at the table, which was a treat. We had lively conversation with our other table mates. Erin and Jeremy were more than happy to talk about the house and their journey with it.

We will be going back soon and can't wait!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ann Bean Mansion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann Bean Mansion B&B

Address: 319 Pine Street West, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor a stress-free evening of luxury! Escape to our grand Victorian mansion, noted for exceptionally large rooms with fireplace, private bathroom and double whirlpool; gourmet breakfasts (in bed if you wish); and outstanding hospitality! Enjoy historic character with modern comforts: lounge on a luxury king bed, kick back in a whirlpool-for-two, relax with a glass of wine (or brew)! Within walking distance to historic downtown Stillwater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ann Bean Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Ann Bean Mansion Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ann Bean Mansion B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.