We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This charming inn is better than ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lowell Inn
Save Saved
You added Lowell Inn to your Saves list
102 North Second Street, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
Omaha
1 review
“This charming inn is better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary over two nights at the Lowell Inn this week. We went there on our honeymoon and have gone back every year since. Over the years, the inn has changed ownership several times. THANKFULLY, the current owners have restored the old charm! We ate the fondue dinner in the Matahorn Room both nights. The food was to die for and the service was impeccable. Everyone who works there is friendly and ready to serve. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The jacuzzi tubs are perfect for two. By the time we left, we were so relaxed we had to be poured into our car!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    15
    16
    12
See reviews for
17
45
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

The restaurant is terrifc ( even if we were the only ones in there! ) Food excellent.

Room ( 19 ) just OK - pillows awful - stubbed my toe repeatedly on the bed. TV only worked if you were right in front of it..

Great spot for romantic get away - little room at the top of the stairs ( no elevator ) had a coffee machine - no pastries or anything for breakfast - we could eat in the restaurant at full price - how can they be a B/B? No bar.

Great location but there are other places I would try..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Before staying at the Lowell Inn I had read over reviews and am glad to say that I had went against some of the bad reviews previously written on this site. We, my fiancee and I, decided to plan a get away in Stillwater and looked over all of our options for stays. The price seemed more reasonable compared to others and the rooms looked very cozy! Come to find out that this was very true. The beds were comfortable and the rooms very clean. It is true that the rooms do not have completely private bathroom areas but for a couple I couldn't see why this would be a problem.

In particular, I want to let it be known that it was very obvious that this Inn read their reviews and took appropriate action to correct what others were having problems with. I cannot say that I had a gift certificate that I was unable to use, so no advice in this area. However, I will say that one gentleman in particular whom we booked with and met with in the morning for breakfast and check out was very accomodating and polite. We were seated immediately and the food was very good. I wouldn't say that the food was spectacular but everyone has different and particular taste.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any friend who is looking for a stay that is reasonable in price and also very nestalgic. Every person is going to have their own opinion but I would not throw out the idea of staying at this Inn because of personal dining preferences or past problems of management changes. By the sounds of it, I would just avoid buying a gift certificate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Had an engagement event planned--booked 2 months in advance with only 2 requirements--a sofa and a 2-seater jacuzzi which was advertised on their web site. Also made reservations for dinner assuming that their menu was the same as the one on the web site. When we arrived, no sofa, no jacuzzi, the room rates were substantially increased. Both I and my wife are disabled and no mention was made of the fact that our room was also on the 3rd floor with no elevator! Also, the menu was changed to a more pricey variant allowing only 5 high-calorie options for the entree. Although, after substantial discussion with one of the more ruder managers I have ever run across, our money was refunded. If you want to eat there--great! But don't plan a life milestone there and expect it to go off without a hitch.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Manager
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We stayed here for our anniversary. Easy to get too. Big parking lot on North side of building. Friendly, fast check in. Nice size room. QUIET, no traffic or train noise!!!. Beds are super nice!!Slept 12 hours!!!! Did not eat supper here, but had breakfast the next morning. Good service, good food. Very historic building.

  • Liked — The comfy Bed
  • Disliked — bathroom set up.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesjnov4
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I stay at the Lowell Inn each year for Lumber Jack Days with my friends and we always have GREAT Service, I am a Director of Sales at a hotel and always expect to have good service which we do. I have not eaten there so I can not say anything for the food but the front desk is GREAT. The only thing I can say is make sure they book your dates well they made a mistake for our 2008 room and we almost did not have a room but they called me right away after they had a cancelation they are GREAT would recomnad.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillwater mn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

how can they call it fine dinning, what a joke.i had the sunday brunch,they should have paid me to eat it. well to start it off, there was an older woman short with glasses, was so rude needs to work on the personality side.nothing was from scratch, maby the soup that was the only good item, everything was boxed canned or frozen. the dessert tasted freezer burned, so u know that not home-made. mc-donalds would have tasted better.

  • Liked — bathrooms were clean
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lowell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Inn

Address: 102 North Second Street, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lowell Inn and Restaurant and Banquet Center...where historic charm blends with contemporary elegance. Established in 1927, the Lowell Inn offers fine dining for business or pleasure and thirty-five newly restored rooms in beautiful downtown Stillwater, Minnesota. We are uniquely qualified to make your experience with us perfect, be that an intimate family celebration, a wedding, a groom's dinner or an anniversary. We also can accomodate formal events and business meetings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.