We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lowell Inn
Save
You added Lowell Inn to your Saves list
102 North Second Street, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
Wis. Rapids, Wi
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We loved the Lowell Inn! My husband and I stayed at the Lowell for a romantic weekend in October. We stayed in one of the older rooms, that included a jacuzzi tub. We thought our room was great...very clean, tastefully decorated, and romantic. As some reviewers have stated...the hotel is old, but we found that to be part of its charm. Yes, some things are a little worn, but I guess you know that if you choose one of the older rooms, things may be less than perfect. We weren't there to notice every little flaw in the hotel or room...we were there to enjoy each others company and enjoy the town of Stillwater.

Room Tip: If you are there for romance, try one of the rooms in the older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    22
    18
    16
See reviews for
24
60
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It's old, somewhat run down, definitely not a Holiday Inn. But really, that's ok as long as you're not expecting a fancy TV and a robe for your jacuzzi. There was no fridge in the room which was kind of a bummer but I got ice from the machine and loaded up the sink too keep our beer cold. There was also no coffee maker in the room but on the second floor (we were on the third) there was a big coffee machine with hot water available too. Not bad!

The room was a trip! The toilet was raised up a couple steps with no door but curtains! haha, and even a window to the sink which was next to the door. That window had curtains too. My bf apologized for taking a #2. hahaha. The toilet would run sometimes too after flushing. A little jiggle of the handle and it was all good.

The jacuzzi was great! There's no shower in the room but instead has a shower hose on the jacuzzi tub. We didnt use it though. The bonus, A MIRROR ABOVE THE TUB!!

It took us awhile to find the bell/service button when we were checking in. (Didn't find it until after we checked in.) There was no one around so we reached over the desk and pressed a button that was behind a computer. We weren't really sure what was going to happen but someone came!

We didnt eat there but the restaurants looked busy.

We didnt use the TV in the room but it was a tiny ol' thing.

The hallway smelled really good. Like a Penzey's or something.

We didnt mess around with the parking ramp. We parked out front on the street. We only stayed one night (Friday) and when I asked the receptionist if we were cool with parking on the street she said, "that should probably be ok." I didn't really know what that meant. Like, we MIGHT get a ticket? Or will a kid pee on our car or something? Nothing happened.

Bed was ok. Pillows were comfy. It was wicked warm in the room and i didnt even use a blanket most of the night.

Location was killer. Super close to prime downtown but not TOO close.

This place was a real trip. I might do it again.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Note, no elevator. Don't get a room upstairs if you cant walk or are a to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Center, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Before I booked the hotel I read the reviews and they were not so great. I am glad I did not listen to the reviews. We had a modern room with a balcony and I loved it. The bed was very comfortable. There was a flat screen t.v. and a huge armoire to keep your clothes in. The bathroom had a huge shower, the water pressure was not so great, but if that is the worst problem I am ok with it. The balcony had two chairs and a table and it was nice to sit out there. On our way out I did peek into some of the older rooms when they were being cleaned and they were beautiful. The entry into the hotel looks like something from a different era. It was just beautiful. If you are ever in Stillwater I would recommend you stay at Lowell Inn. Downtown was only a block way, so it was perfect to walk to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent one night in the newer part of the inn. Room was adequate. Location was great--near Stillwater shops and dining. Old fashioned establishment with some character. Breakfast in the dining room was excellent with reasonable prices.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Yes, it is old, that's the whole charm of it IMHO. There was a musty smell, as noted, but again, it's part of the history of this town. We loved staying here. Hot tub worked great, although the light did give a little flicker for added effect ; ) Bed was comfortable and room was very clean. Walking down the halls made us feel like we were in the middle of an Agatha Christie movie! How fun! And walking distance from all the fun places down town. No need to drive! Parking is free too, just park in attached parking garage and they'll validate your parking slip upon check-in!

Room Tip: We were in room 330 I think it was. It had a king bed and jacuzzi in the corner, small but cozy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in a Jacuzzi King room. Wallpaper was peeling. Carpet was old and stained. Creepy pictures of old people, one of them right next to the bed. Towels are so thin and dingy. Opened our soap and it was wet. Would expect luxurious linens and pillows... and Robes for the Jacuzzi.. Nope :( bathroom and shower were so tiny you couldn't move. We made the best of icky room. On a positive note, our bed was firm and comfortable. Not worth the $$

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed two of our three nights in Stillwater at the Lowell Inn. We were given a "newer room" in the updated area and we found the room to be above average, although very small. The room was clean and comfortable, although the shower head was disconnected and needed to be fixed. We parked in the city lot on the same floor as our room and it was convenient and eliminated hauling the luggage up steps and down the hall. All in all it was ok for the price we paid. We also thought the staff was attentive and cared a lot about their facility. We also ate at the restaurant and found it to be a pleasant surprise and a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.1 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 8 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites of Stillwater / Minneapolis
1.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Stillwater/St. Paul
7.5 mi away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Inn

Address: 102 North Second Street, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lowell Inn and Restaurant and Banquet Center...where historic charm blends with contemporary elegance. Established in 1927, the Lowell Inn offers fine dining for business or pleasure and thirty-five newly restored rooms in beautiful downtown Stillwater, Minnesota. We are uniquely qualified to make your experience with us perfect, be that an intimate family celebration, a wedding, a groom's dinner or an anniversary. We also can accomodate formal events and business meetings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.