We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did research for several days and this place is seriously the nicest b&b out there.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivertown Inn

Save Saved
You added Rivertown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
306 W. Olive St., Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 8 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Palmdale,ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Did research for several days and this place is seriously the nicest b&b out there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a place to take my wife for our 10 year wedding aniversary and I must say according to my wife it was the most beautiful hotel/ inn she had ever stayed in, and we have stayed in some of the worlds finest resorts so that's saying a lot. She said it was incredible and she couldn't believe that after 10 years I was still able to show her places that still wowed her. Needless to say I did my research.
I looked at many b&b's across the U.S using magazines, internet reviews, and news articles to find some of the best B&B's out there. When I stumbled across this one from the moment I saw there website I knew they would be the one. First off let me start by saying that while this place is gorgeous online the pictures do not do it justice. It IS STUNNING. The breakfast was incredible, the service was inpeckable and the location was within walking distance to the main street. I stayed in the Browning suite and while it was not my first choice (it was the only one available during the time I wanted) that feeling quickly went out the window because you guessed it, that room was also AMAZING. Seriously I would be happy sleeping in a hallway at the River Town Inn because the entire house is just incredible. All in all this was in my opinion the number one bed and breakfast in Stillwater if not then entire state and or country . The only thing I wasn't a fan of was that the sound carries a bit more in these old houses and if you are a light sleeper recommend you bring some ear plugs or sleep on the highest floor maybe even the carriage house ( top floor). But again everything else just makes up for it. Parking was also easy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
112
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Prague, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A great B & B in beautiful Stillwater. The service was amazing. The grounds were gorgeous. Unbelievable breakfast in the morning. Nice selection of rooms are available. Within walking distance of downtown Stillwater.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the Agatha Christie grand suite. Loved the attention to detail and the jet tub. The cleanliness is excellent. The garden was gorgeous. The breakfast was delicious. The service friendly and attentive. We did give a couple of suggestions to improve the suite. Install a makeup mirror due to dim lighting in the bathroom. We didn't like the mattress and the rail at the end of the bed made it difficult to get out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and loved it. Chef Ray is fantastic and you shouldn't miss the wine hour starting at 5pm. The breakfast is one-of-a-kind wonderful prepared by the chef, and then you are ready for the day. We start the weekend by getting massages at the Just For Me Spa to kick-start our time away from the kids. The bedchamber rooms are a bit smaller than the suites and are worth the increased price. You can eat outside on the wraparound porch which is such a treat!

Room Tip: If you are tall make sure you look carefully at the description of the bed. We like the Browning Su...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I went there for an overnight stay for our anniversary and this will now be an annual visit for us! We've been to quite a few bed and breakfasts in Minnesota and this one is by far the best! There is ample parking, and the house and grounds are absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the Oscar Wilde suite and loved it! The attention to detail in this themed suite was amazing. When we stepped into the room we felt so comfortable there that we wished we could have stayed for two nights. A very romantic room. The picture on the website doesn't do it justice! Very large shower with two shower heads and steam availability. A large whirlpool tub also. The bed was unique and so comfortable. The breakfast was delivered to our room and was delicious of course! Every amenity you may need is made available to you, from wine, coffee, to bottled water. We just cannot say enough good things about this place! Stillwater is a great town, if you are planning a romantic overnight stay, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the main shopping street, but beware becasue it is three blocks straight up! Not bad going down but a bit strenuous walking up! As with most of Stillwater, the Inn is Victorian with heavy furniture and a bit dark, even in summer sunlight. Our room was in the attic but there is air conditioning and a fan so it was comfortable sleeping even on a hot muggy night. The bed was comfortable and we loved the double whirlpool tub, especially after climbing up from downtown. WIne and snacks are served from 5 to 6 each evening. It was very pleasant to sit on the wide porch and relax. Breakfast was served on the porch the next morning with all guests at tables for two. This was, for us, a welcome change from the typical B&B where you all sit together and have to make conversation over breakfast. Not bad but on a romantic weekend away it was nice to have a table to ourselves. Breakfast itself was wonderful. The chef came out and described each of the four courses in detail which was interesting. Serously the best bran muffin ever! Fresh squeezed juice, great coffee. Overall great experience and we would go back.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures online and choose a decor that appeals to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 2nd anniversary by doing something unique so we stayed at Rivertown Inn for a night. Our experience was fantastic!!! We stayed in the Lewis Carroll bedchamber. The room was so cute and interesting. It was apparent that a lot of thought and planning went into the decor and theme of the room. We've stayed at a few B&Bs, but this one was unlike any other. There was a cocktail hour at 5pm with complimentary wine and appetizers and the three-course breakfast was out of this world! It was the fanciest, tastiest, most well thought out breakfast I've ever had. And the chef was there to answer questions and present each course. The experience and special touches at this inn were well worth the price. I hope to stay there again in the future, but next time I might stay in a suite!

Room Tip: Bedchambers don't have shower stalls. Suites have full bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Address: 306 W. Olive St., Stillwater, MN 55082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivertown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.