We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the pirate in you.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smalley's Caribbean Barbeque

Smalley's Caribbean Barbeque
423 S. Main St., Stillwater, MN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“For the pirate in you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food is wonderful, something out of the ordinary. If you're brave or foolish you must try the Triple 6 Hot Wings, Tastes wonderful and has fire unlike you have ever had. Wonderful selection of rums, try the house special. Relaxing dining area, fun sit down upper bar with another level cozy lounge. Great music in back bar with outdoor patio. All in beautiful Stillwater.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    54
    12
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wis. Rapids, Wi
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mouth wateringfood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Smalleys has some of the best Caribbean food outside of the Caribbean. I ordered the jerk pork tacos, and felt like I was back in Jamaica on vacation. Nice spice to them, but not so much that I couldn't enjoy the food. Our waitress was quick and efficient. We even went back to Smalleys the next night at happy hour...great time to go there for $3 jerk pork tacos.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was in Stillwater for business and after seeing Smalley's on DDD I made a point to go. I was travelling alone so just headed to the bar to eat as it was Happy Hour. I tried the jerk pork tacos that were featured on DDD and thoroughly enjoyed them. The flavor was great, with just enough spice to give them a little kick. Enjoyed talking to Ben the bartender and some other patrons. If I'm ever back in Stillwater I'll go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Jamerican..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Let's just say I was humbled. I know JERK and most places do not get it right.. Smalley's GOT IT RIGHT.. The favor, the vibe and the bartender. I thought I was at the 24/7 bar on the beaches of Negril. I will go back to Smalley's when I get home sick for my Jamaican Vibes. Ya mon, soon come.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I would stay away from the triple six wings if I were you...Awesome food though! Will continue to eat there whenever possible!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smalley's Caribbean Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Smalley's Caribbean Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smalley's Caribbean Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.