We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Fires Character Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay of Fires Character Cottages to your Saves list
Bay of Fires Character Cottages
Main Road, Binalong Bay, Tasmania 7216, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Close to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The sounds of the ocean, brilliant uninterrupted views, white sandy beaches that go for miles, this is heaven on earth for a day or two. The cottages have the best location at Binalong Bay. We stayed in Dotril cottage, about 30 metres from the water. As previous reviewers have stated, the cottages are well designed, provisioned and very comfortable. We had a double and a single bed in a large bedroom and the bathroom was the largest we have ever seen in a holiday rental. Overall a very nice relaxing location and comfy cottage. Meals at the cafe/restaurant are a must, as the location is overlooking the bay and the chef is very accomplished. All the meals we had were of a very high standard and on par with the best we had while in Tasmania.

Room Tip: As the cottages are located on a hillside, they all have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to make this review.
So glad you enjoyed your cottage,the lovely area and the cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Wish we had stayed here for more than one night. The cottages all face directly out onto the bay and each has a lovely view, which gets more spectacular as you progress up the hill. Our cottage was immaculate, roomy, beautifully furnished and fully equipped.The veranda area was perfect for relaxing and taking in the view of the bay. If you are planning on staying in the St.Helens area, this is the place you stay at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thankyou so much for your kind words and for taking the time to submit a review. It means a great deal to us.
Even I, after all these years still marvel at the view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in the deluxe apartment. Marion the hostess gave us a great deal and moved us from Kingfisher to Deluxe at no extra cost. The views, rooms, apartment are excellent. Dont look any further and forget St helens. The only blemish is paying for wireless connection. $4 for 125 mg takes some of the sheen. I think Marion needs to re negotiate the deal with the carrier because other places we stayed at that were much cheaper had wireless for $0. Marion will look after you and she takes pride in the complex. Excellent all round.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thankyou for your kind words.
I am sorry about the WI FI charges but they are set by Easyweb and totally out of my control.
I would love to offer free WI FI but do not want to raise my prices charged for accommodation and due to over use this would end up being necessary.
I will persue trying to find a cheaper avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in the Burgess cottage for 2 nights in late February. We thought we'd arrived in paradise! The cottage was immaculately clean outside and in and is quite spacious with a combined kitchen/lounge/dining area, all which take in the stunning views. There is also a neat covered verandah for you to sit and enjoy your magnificent surrounds. The separate bedroom had an additional single bed and a roomy ensuite. The bed, pillows and bedding was super comfy and we had the best sleep ever! The kitchen is well equipped with a microwave, small cooktop, small dishwasher, crockery, toaster, kettle, cutlery, pots and pans, everything you would need to self cater. A great inclusion was the dishwashing liquid, dishwasher powder and also laundry liquid for use in the washing machine tucked away in a cupboard. Not to mention small supplies of tea, coffee, coffee plunger and ground coffee. It's a short walk across the road to the beach which has beautiful white sand and crystal clear water. We stocked up on supplies in St Helen's on our way to Binalong Bay which is only a 10 minute drive away. If you want to enjoy a slice of heaven with solitude and relaxation in comfortable surrounds, this is the place. We enjoyed lunch and dinner at the cafe next door too, great food but would prove expensive if you relied on the cafe for all meals over a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed this little cottage and our picturesque area.
The cottage was built to depict the fishermen's cottages that were here in time gone by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed for one night of a week long trip to the east/north east coast of our home state to visit wineries along the way - beautiful Binalong Bay and Bay of Fires never fails to impress (in any weather) and the views from the cottage are fantastic and perfectly framed. Cottages are very well equipped and really comfortable - it was a delight to stay in such nice surroundings in this wonderful area - made us appreciate being Taswegians!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thankyou for your kind words.
It is extremely gratifying when guests enjoy the accommodation and our area
I'm with you,Tasmania is a beautiful state and you do not have to travel far for the scenery to be so different. We are so lucky to live here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here in February and the location is great for this part of the coast. Travelling as 2 couples in the 2 bedroom cottage was very adequate in terms of size and facilities. Clean and tidy, nothing flash but everything you need for an extended stay. Great views.

Room Tip: Make sure yu get your supplies in St Helens before arriving. no shops nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Our cottages are beachside family accommodation but at the same time some are suited to couples or two couples.
We do our best to supply everything that we feel the traveller needs without being over the top and we are extremely cleanliness concious. Our prices reflect the type of accommodation we supply.
The Deluxe is more suited to two couples requiring something a little more luxurious but at the higher price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in Burgess cottage for two nights. This is probably the lower of all cottages, and therefore less uphill walk from the beach, but the views of Binnalong Bay were still stunning. The cottage was well equipped with dishwasher, coffee plunger and coffee, laundry, hairdryer, and everything else needed to be self-contained. The nearest shop is in St Helens, only 10 mins away. Adjacent to the cabins is a nice café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Café prices there are fairly high.
We arrived on a hot afternoon and our cottage was opened up with cool sea breezes blowing through. Everything was spotlessly clean and the furniture and bedding is very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Burgess Cottage is closer to the beach and cafe, and therefore not such a steep walk uphill, should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Burgess is a dear little cottage suitable for couples and maybe a child.
Is great for acess to the Beach without having to walk the hill
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay of Fires Character Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Fires Character Cottages

Address: Main Road, Binalong Bay, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Binalong Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Binalong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four fully self contained,tourism Tasmania accredited one to three bedroom cottages with an onsite (licenced) Restaurant directly opposite the Binalong Bay beach.The cottages are set in a hill of native flora and fauna.The view from each cottage is to the white sands of the Binalong Bay beach and the azure waters and red rocky outcrops of the Bay of Fires as far as you can see up the coastline to Eddystone Light House.Enjoy swimming,snorkling,windsurfing,fishing,walking and exploring this area and all attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bay of Fires Character Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Fires Character Cottages Hotel St Helens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Fires Character Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.