We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Bay of Fires” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Fires Character Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay of Fires Character Cottages to your Saves list
Bay of Fires Character Cottages
Main Road, Binalong Bay, Tasmania 7216, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Availability DEC/JAN/FEB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location in Bay of Fires”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in King Fisher cottage. It has nice view of the Binalong bay beach which is the beginning of the bay of fires. The house is a bit old but quite clean. The duvet is very comfortable and the sheets r high quality. The only thing can be improved is to be a little flexible on the check in time. We arrived at 1pm which is an hour earlier of the earliest check in time. We were told we have to wait for an hour even the house was ready...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Arrival time is generally from 2.00 p.m. onwards and I was unable to let these specific guests in any earlier as I had the plumber coming to check and service the water pressure pump as we are on tank water and the pump kept cutting in and would have kept the guests awake all night .
The water has to be turned off to do this.
If a guest arrives early and I am able to let them in before 2.00 p.m. as long as the cottage is serviced I will always do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first crack at self-contained accommodation on this trip, and we'd go back for sure. These cottages are all in one strip going up a hill behind the only restaurant around, at the southern end of the main beach. You pay more as you get higher and the view improves, but all cottages have been built to take advantage of the view, so all are good. The cottage we were in (Deluxe) was very spacious, well-equipped (with laundry), and clean. We used the balcony as often as we could, and watched the day dawn lying in bed. There's not a lot to do in Binalong Bay, but we were well stocked with food from nearby St Helens, and we never get tired of walks along the beach. I fully expected to see whales cruising by and a month or so later this may have been a reality.

I have a couple small complaints - nothing to stop us going back, but little things that can easily be addressed. Blunt knives - we always carry a sharp knife because too often knives in such accommodation are blunt. Blunt knives are dangerous and I reported this - hopefully something was done. Wood barbecue: there's a lot of wood in Tassie, but a wood barbecue, especially for overseas travellers, is really difficult to use. Thin toilet paper: false economy IMO and annoying to use for travellers.

One thing we really liked was the provision of a coffee plunger AND coffee to use in it. I nice touch for travellers who like coffee but don't/can't lug such things around.

Great place to stay and a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Higher up the hill gets better views but at a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thankyou for your review.
I wish to point out I was not told about blunt knives. As we have good quality steak knives it could only be the carving knives. Now this has been bought to my attention I have sharpened them in each cottage and will continue to do so.
Re the toilet paper. Binalong Bay has no infrastructure,so no sewerage and water. We have to supply both ourselves. In our case our own plant. Needless to say we have to be very carefull as to what enters the plant and therefor, although I supply always 2 ply sheets purchased from the hotel suppliers they can not be of the thick quality available from supermarkets as the plant or septic tanks can not cope.
I consider I am generous with what I leave in the cottages and the quantity.
Re the wood barbeques. I find in the majority guests enjoy them and love to sit around them while there meal is cooking. There are many issues surrounding gas barbeques plus the salt air is very hard on everything. There are large electric frypans etc. for cooking inside if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a beautiful place to spend a few days, the view from the cottage are amazing, the beach is stunning. Its a lovely getaway for a few days. This was my second time to Binalong Bay and to the character cottages - dont hesitate to book and enjoy!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Kingfisher twice, but I reckon try for Albatros if you can get it. Has a bigger balcon...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the area and thankyou for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent two nights staying in the Kingfisher cottage with our 4 year old son. Highly recommend it. Very spacious & clean cottage. Two bedrooms, one with a queen, the other with a queen and two singles. Great views, just across from a very safe beach with white sand. BBQ out the back. Playground 50metres down the road. Sometimes it's the little things that can add or ruin a holiday. We arrived on a very cold day, owner turned heater on before we arrived. Plenty of pillows, blankets, electric blankets, tea, coffee and even plunger coffee. Hope to stay again someday.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thankyou for your review.
It makes everything worth while when we know guests have enjoyed our lovely area and found the accommodation we provide acceptable as we put in a lot of hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lovely, fresh and well-equipped cottages with fantastic views of the bay. Heater worked very well when it started to get chilly and the bed was warm and soft. Very easy walk down to the sand and we had the beach to ourselves! Cafe was closed for meals, but able to drive the short distance to St Helen's. Great spot to relax.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thankyou for your review and kind words.
We are so glad you found your cottage to be cosy and enjoyed our lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here on 05 September and were just blown away by the 180 degree water views and the fact that you are literally 50 meters walk to the pristine beach across the road.
The gentleman that check us in was great in providing local knowledge about the area.
We stayed in the Dotril Cottage and found it to be very cosy with all the amenities you could need. The BBQ on the back porch was great and after travelling around Tasmania for the week a home cooked meal on the BBQ was definitely in order.
This was a highlight of our trip around the East Coast - Thank you !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you back again one day to revisit this special part of Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our last night of our driving trip around Tasmania in April and what a way to finish. Booked the Bay of Fires Character Cottages based on reviews from TA before we left from home and was not disappointed.
Binalong Bay is small but we had decided we didn't want to stay in St. Helen's preferring views of the ocean at Bay of Fires. We booked the Burgess cottage which was on the lower level, and yes, the views are not as good as further up but still spectacular. The cottage was 1 bedroom with a queen and single bed in it and very comfortable. The bathroom was newish, warm with plenty of room.
The kitchen and living room (best seen on their website) was comfy, tastefully furnished and quite pretty. We were very happy with the overall cottage for the price we paid.
The best part of our overnight stay was dining at the cafe next door. Literally steps away with stunning food and really friendly service. We had a wonderful last night and tasted once again stunning Tassie local produce and wine. We rarely splurge on dessert but did and didn't regret it.
Overall, this small town tucked away offers the best of what Tassie is renowned for. The beach is 50m away and a morning run helped make up for the dessert and wine consumed the night before. We only wished we had another night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Glad you had a great time and enjoyed this beautiful part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay of Fires Character Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Fires Character Cottages

Address: Main Road, Binalong Bay, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Binalong Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Binalong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have five fully self contained,tourism Tasmania accredited one to three bedroom cottages with an onsite (licenced) Restaurant/Cafe directly opposite the Binalong Bay beach.The cottages are set in a hill of native flora and fauna.The view from each cottage is to the white sands of the Binalong Bay beach and the azure waters and red rocky outcrops of the Bay of Fires as far as you can see up the coastline to Eddystone Light House.Enjoy swimming,snorkling,windsurfing,fishing,walking and exploring this area and all attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bay of Fires Character Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Fires Character Cottages Hotel St Helens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Fires Character Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.