We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE BEST breakfast I have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Binalong Bay Cafe - CLOSED

Binalong Bay Cafe
64 Main Road | Binalong Bay, Binalong Bay, Tasmania 7216, Australia
6376 8131
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is THE BEST breakfast I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I heard about this cafe from a waitress at the Freycinet Lodge so we stopped there on our way to the Bay of Fires. I ordered the Eggs Benedict with a side of hash browns. The view was fantastic (although we enjoyed it from inside the restaurant since it was a bit cold that morning) but the breakfast was to die for. It was the best eggs benedict I have ever had. Moreover, it was THE BEST breakfast I have ever enjoyed. If it was acceptable for a 30 something woman to lick her plate I would have. Amazing. If you are in the area stop here. It is well worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    34
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food at this cafe with an amazing view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were recommended to dine here and were not disappointed.
Cafe by day and restaurant by night, anytime the food would be good.
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We dined here with friends whilst travelling for 12 days around Tasmania and we were all very happy with perfectly cooked innovative meals. Lamb cutlets, beef and seafood, the serving sizes generous with nice fresh vegetables. The dessert was well worth consuming more than we needed to. Waiting staff friendly and helpful and this cafe has a wonderful view of part of the coastline of The Bay of Fires.
I'm sure if you were wanting breakfast, lunch or dinner you would love it here. A must if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A little wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stopping overnight at the Character Cottages in Binalong Bay and not wishing to drive back to St Helen's we decided to have dinner at the local café. Since the local seafood was all fresh I decided to have oysters Kilpatrick which were divine. This was followed by a main of Spagetti Marinara which was probably the best marinara I have ever had. There was an abundance of seafood and the chef had it just right with the spaghetti!
In a lot of places the small amount of marinara is hidden in heaps of spaghetti but this was just perfect! Well done and highly recommended. Emma did a great job looking after our table!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Binalong Bay Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We, that is our family of 4 adults and 2 children, enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Binalong Bay Café. It is named a café but is really a restaurant where the view of the beach and ocean from the verandah is magnificent. Our dinner was very enjoyable and we all thoroughly enjoyed it, even the children were well catered for. It is a restaurant that we would certainly visit again. The beach is also a great place for a walk after an satisfying meal. A must visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wow - what a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our expectations were not high when we discovered that this is the only place to eat in Binalong Bay - but wow....the food here is first class.

After tasting their laksa (one is enough for two!), we ditched our plans to self-cater during our stay with the prospect of more great food - and we were not disappointed. The duck dish was excellent - as was the pasta marinara and salt and pepper calamari - light and tender. In fact, we only have praise for all the food that we tried - and we're very fussy!

The average cost of mains was around $30 - but it was well worth it (they also have special discounted meals for locals on Thursday nights).

The only negative we experienced was a rather gruff woman serving the tables one night - she was terse and rude. We discovered later that she is actually the owner! We think she would be wise to leave the table waiting to the other young, dark haired lady who made dining there a real pleasure (note that our rating for service applies to the courteous waiter). If you do encounter the large, gruff woman however, don't let her put you off as the food is really special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Binalong Bay Cafe also viewed

Binalong Bay, Tasmania
St Helens, Tasmania
 
St Helens, Tasmania
St Helens, Tasmania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Binalong Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.