We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Dragon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Dragon Lodge to your Saves list
Sea Dragon Lodge
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   2575 Willoughby Road, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 Night Winter Special
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Sea Dragon Lodge and it was barely enough! Stunning location overlooking the sea, sadly the weather wasn't brilliant so we didn't swim off the completely secluded beach or relax in the gazebo, but we did go for lovely walks and, yes, saw kangaroos hopping around. The accommodation was extremely good, there are two suites each with 2 bedrooms and good bathroom, they are separated by a comfortable communal living area opening onto a large balcony. Breakfasts were very good, freshly prepared with eggs laid by their own free range hens. We had both dinners 'in' - a good decision as the house is a fair distance from the nearest town, the roads are unmetalled and, perhaps most importantly, rental car insurance does not cover you after dark! Food, prepared by Steve and his wife, was delicious, sourced locally and very freshly prepared. Steve was incredibly helpful both before we arrived and while we were there. Highly recommend Sea dragon Lodge if you are visiting Kangaoo Island

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Clemency,

Thanks very much for your great review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you. Shame about the Cricket :-)
Best regards Steve & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were made to feel most welcome by our host Steve. The lodge was beautiful, clean and tidy with stunning views of Kangaroo Island. What a treat to have our own private beach and how we enjoyed supping wine in the gazebo with Steve after a dip in the crystal clear blue sea.
Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

We hope to return one day but it's a long way from the UK!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Catherine & Jim,

The pleasure is mutual.. We really enjoyed having you stay and it was great to meet you both and the family. Hope you had a safe trip back home. You'll be very welcome back, hopefully not too long!
warm regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Location, location, location. This was the most magnificent place to arrive at after a very busy Christmas week catching up with an extended family of over 30 individuals from all over the world. Having done the family "thing" Kangaroo Island was planned as a chill out session for me and my wife, my closest brother and my niece and her husband. Sea Dragon was all that we could have asked for and more. The view was stunning, Steve was a fund of useful information and the place is extremely comfortable and well appointed and reasonably close to everything. Even the chickens and sheep added to the entire experience along with an abundance of other wild life, Kangaroos, lizards, birds, echidna's, emus and so on.

Room Tip: Whole place is just fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Chris
Thanks very much for your great review
Glad you and the family enjoyed themselves and were able to unwind and relax

All the best.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a perfect place to explore the eastern end of Kangaroo Island. The accommodation is perfectly situated on several acres, sheltered from the wind but with wonderful views of Backstairs Passage and some of the coastline of Kangaroo Island. We enjoyed wandering the paddocks to spot kangaroos during the day and especially at dusk. The site has some interesting walking tracks, including to a private beach. It is walking distance ro Cape Willoughby Lighthouse. A tour is worthwhile, as the guides are a wealth of knowledge on the lighthouse and its history.

Sea Dragon is beautifully appointed, with every thought gone into a luxurious stay. Steve, our welcoming host, thoroughly spoilt us with generous serves of fresh, delicious gourmet food including free range eggs from the live-in chooks. Steve was also a wealth of information on island activities and suggestions for sites to visit.

We loved our stay at Sea Dragon, would not hesitate to recommend it and would return with pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Margaret
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate it
All the best
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Writing this in our last night in the property... truly refreshed after 7 wonderful nights at the Sea Dragon Lodge on KI.

Steve and Gail the owners have been both lovely and available when ever required (maybe once?!) .. hosts full of information and advice, yet completely private so you wouldn't even know they lived on the property and we had complete privacy - something I rate as essential. Fresh eggs from the "ladies" didn't go astray either, with beautiful offerings from their chickens!! Best poached eggs ever.

The lodgings are immediately comfortable and there is nothing that I wanted or needed from home in terms of cooking, or going about daily routine etc. Perfectly equipped for what you might need- we made everything from Mexican to Roast Pork, to the pudding I'm sitting with now!

Very comfortable bedding and high quality of furnishings throughout. It was day 4 though before we remembered there was a great coffee maker though... soon made up for it, and it was a really great addition. Little extras greatly appreciated.

We came on purpose in winter hoping to get some wild weather and were not disappointed ... plenty of cool weather for a lovely time lying in front of the wood fire, listening to the "crackle" with a book Ive been trying to read for months and a glass of wine! I personally got some good time in, in front of that fire!

We are 2 professional people who were looking for quality accommodation and surroundings in which we could decompress, relax and get away from it all - this has done the trick.

We were blessed with a few lovely sunny days too though, and ventured around the island.

The property is on a slightly remoter end of the island, a good 35 minute drive back into Penneshaw, but on saying that the roads are a little rough at the moment due to some heavy rains this season, probably a little quicker at other times. I imagine that the island is perfectly approachable with a regular car, but we have been happy to have our 4WD for a little off road action.

Hubby is a keen photographer and has been up at the crack of dawn every morning, no lack of places locally for beautiful sunrises. Away from it all, the darkness was perfect for night photography, star photography etc. and some magical sunsets.

The deck outside and the huge glass windows make for beautiful nights, watching the waves and bay, the birds, the wildlife. We hope to return in the summer time to make greater use of the beautiful private beach, Pink Bay.. I already have my rock picked to lie down on a towel and soak up the sun with another book... jumping in for a dip when I get a bit hot!

This property has been perfect for what we needed. Cant wait to come back.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thankyou very much for your very kind review, it was an absolute pleasure having you both stay at the Lodge. I really looking forward to seeing all the great photos that Steve took. Gail & I are looking forward to having you stay at the Lodge again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in this lodge for 2 nights and we wish we could have stayed longer.
The views were amazing.
The house was perfectly decorated, rooms were very comfortable and the kitchen and living room were excellent.
The owners were also very welcoming and advised us about the places to visit during our stay in Kangaroo Island.
Definetely, I would stay in this lodge. It is the best choice in the island and the best price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thankyou very much for your kind review, it was very much appreciated. You're right you really need 4 days or more to see most of what the island has to offer. I Look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy some of the other island highlights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at sea dragon for 5 nights in winter and even though the weather was cold,wet and windy, our stay by the fire over looking Pink Bay was wonderful.
On the other side there was a lovely isolated lighthouse on a rugged cliff top that we loved to wonder around.
We certainly intend to travel to KI again and stay at the Sea Dragon Lodge but next we will bring more wine to have by the fire!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Craig,
Great to have you both stay at the Lodge we really enjoyed your company. You're right, KI can be an amazing place during winter. Nothing like watching the huge swells rolling around Cape Willoughby Lighthouse. Look forward to seeing you again.
warm regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Dragon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dragon Lodge

Address: 2575 Willoughby Road, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Willoughby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Willoughby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Dragon Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dragon Lodge offers luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation providing a unique combination of:. Our very own Private Beach. Spectacular Coastal Scenery. 250 Acre Seafront Estate. Amazing Wildlife At Sea Dragon Lodge Resort, both the Lodge and our new Eco-Villas, offer luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation that overlooks stunning coastline and woodland. Our private sandy beach is just below. Wildlife abounds: kangaroos, echidnas, goannas and a bevy of birdlife. Coastal splendour and enchanting wildlife. Blissful seclusion and stunning views. A private world of relaxed, informal luxury. That’s the Sea Dragon Lodge experience.... Sea Dragon Lodge provides a tranquil Kangaroo Island retreat, with several types of luxury Kangaroo Island holiday packages to choose from ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sea Dragon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Dragon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.