We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic & special place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Dragon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Dragon Lodge to your Saves list
Sea Dragon Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   2575 Willoughby Road, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special
Sydney, NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic & special place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Hosts Dale & Quentin have a great set-up and have thought of everything to make a great weekend getaway. If you choose them, you must do a day trip with them to see the island. We also spent an afternoon at their private beach - fabulous & relaxing! The food --- oh my goodness! To die for. And kangaroos in the yard is always a treat for the forever tourists like us :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights on our recent tour and would recommend the Lodge to anyone. Dale & Quentin were the perfect hosts, and knew the Island and its secrets, providing us with all the details of our full day tours. The food was delicious - all local and prepared perfectly by Dale & Quentin. The Lodge location is perfect, quiet and relaxing, with magnificent views over the private bay and beach. If we return to Australia, this is one location I would definately ystay at again.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My fiance, aunt and uncle, and I stayed there for a couple nights in early March. After getting temporarily lost, we rumbled our way to the lodge on one of KI's many dirt roads and upon turning up the driveway saw our first wild kangaroos. The property is crawling with them!

Dale and Quentin, the two hosts, are wonderful. The weather turned out to be chillier than anticipated so they provided us with jackets. They also helped us map out what to see on the island given our limited time. The two suites I saw were plenty spacious and well outfitted. The living and dining area is welcoming, and there's a large deck with stunning views of Pink Bay. Our first night we sat on the deck and drank wine and ate cheese/crackers -- can't be beat! If we had more time I would have been content to spend a day at the lodge, just hiking, swimming (when the weather is warm enough), reading, and hanging out.

The one bummer is it is at the far eastern point of the island, so it's a hike to the sites on the western side. But, I have to say, the drives didn't bother me at all because the views from the road were so great.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Getting to Sea Dragon isn't necessarily easy, but well worth the effort. No stress. No noise. No one but the Managers and the few guests.
So, if you want to "get away from it all", can't beat the place.
However, we took the day tour with Dale, and what a revelation! The place is a hive of industry, very special industry. Tea tree oil, wines, a distillery, painters, and the special glass works.
The glass works (Stonor Studios) was a unique experience. What a craftsman.
Food very good, location exquisite.
We'd stay at Sea Dragon again.

Susan and John Grant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Dale & Quentin were the perfect hosts - actually like visit great relations without all the hassles. The food was delicious - recommend you dine in (which we did the 2 nights we stayed there). Why drive to dinner when you can eat local food, cooked to perfection by Dale & Quentin whilst enjoying the magnificent view. The private beach has crystal clear water and is easily accessable from the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Thank you Dale and Quentin for a wonderful 3 days. We can only endorse the positive reviews. Everything was excellent - all of the meals (especially the roast shoulder of lamb - ask Quentin to cook it for you), the wine, the rooms, your fabulous hospitality and friendship. And of course the location. We shall remember the view forever.

Contrary to the last review we found no problem with the road. Our Toyota Corolla hire car negotiated the unsealed road with ease. In our view a 4WD would not be required for the road to Sea Dragon Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We had a very nice stay for 2 nights. Hosts were very knowledgeable about island and happy to help us in any way. Could not fault the service at all. Room had great view down to private beach. Breakfast was simple but delicious and nicely laid out.

One thing to note if you are hiring a car - location is well off the sealed roads so 4wd is highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Dragon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dragon Lodge

Address: 2575 Willoughby Road, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Willoughby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Willoughby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Dragon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dragon Lodge offers luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation providing a unique combination of:. Our very own Private Beach. Spectacular Coastal Scenery. 250 Acre Seafront Estate. Amazing Wildlife At Sea Dragon Lodge Resort, both the Lodge and our new Eco-Villas, offer luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation that overlooks stunning coastline and woodland. Our private sandy beach is just below. Wildlife abounds: kangaroos, echidnas, goannas and a bevy of birdlife. Coastal splendour and enchanting wildlife. Blissful seclusion and stunning views. A private world of relaxed, informal luxury. That’s the Sea Dragon Lodge experience.... Sea Dragon Lodge provides a tranquil Kangaroo Island retreat, with several types of luxury Kangaroo Island holiday packages to choose from ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sea Dragon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Dragon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.