We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast
50917 East Dixon Lake Rd, Squaw Lake, MN 56681   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Squaw Lake B&B and Inns
Apple Valley, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get away from it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely home full of artistic details. It was quiet, serene and had all the comforts needed for a relaxing few days. The food was delicious, the proprietors helpful and hospitable, and the home and lake were beautiful!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Secret Garden Room. Cozy and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyLakeHome, Owner at My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
It was so great to have you both here and nice to see you relaxing and having some down time. I know how busy you both are and I was honored to be your host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We just loved this B&B! Everything about it promotes relaxation, beauty and peacefullness. This house is really something to see, it is so unique with many artistic flairs about it, just too much to mention. The owners are super friendly and hospitable. The grounds and lake were beautiful and so serene. The 4 course breakfast is just lovely!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I won an evening at this beautiful Bed & Breakfast in a silent auction, and I was absolutely astonished at how amazing this house was. We stayed in the Secret Garden Room, and it was so cozy I didn't want to leave. It was like visiting friends who just happened to have the most incredible home we had ever seen. Unfortunately we arrived later in the evening so we weren't able to take advantage of everything offered, but we fully intend to go back for a more extended stay.

Kathryn was the perfect hostess. We got a tour of the house, and all the creativity and attention to detail that went into building and decorating it just blew us away. The photos truly do not do it justice, and it needs to be seen to be believed.

If you are looking for something unique and off the beaten path, you won't be disappointed. It is truly a showcase.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Since moving to Minnesota two years ago, my husband and I have been "exploring" different areas of the state. After a few very stressful weeks, we really needed a restful weekend getaway. I found My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast on Facebook. I contacted Katherine on short notice. The Secret Garden Room was available! What a surprise we received upon arriving to the beautiful home on the shores of Dixon Lake. The house is beautiful, the lake is spectacular, the setting quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed excellent food, hospitality and rest.
We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

A definite hideaway that provided so much peace and quiet. Our hosts were so kind and thoughtful and did everything possible to making our celebration private and romantic. The secret garden room is quaint and provided a beautiful breeze right off the lake with the beautiful song of the Loons. Kathryn made a great breakfast and was so willing to serve us privately. Great Host! Great Location!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyLakeHome, owner at My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2009
Thank you for your business and the very nice review, it was wonderful having you and come again! Kathryn *~*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

My wife and I absolutely enjoyed our time at ‘My Lake Home’ near Squaw Lake, MN. We use the internet to find most of our vacation lodging and have become accustomed to knowing exactly what we are getting prior to arriving. In this case, we were pleasantly surprised as the pictures on the website DO NOT DO JUSTICE to show how wonderful this bed and breakfast is. We stayed in the Secret Garden room which had a great view of the lake. Every morning we awoke to a gourmet 3-course breakfast prepared by Kathryn while watching the ducks and loons on the lake. Then it was off to a full day of paddleboat, canoe, or kayak before hustling back for wine and cheese at 5. Being a ways from town, we appreciated the guest fridge and freedom to use the grill whenever we wanted. After dinner, we retired to the guest community room with games, satellite TV, and bar. Kathryn and Lyle were gracious hosts and are some of the nicest people you’ll meet. Thanks for the great vacation!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyLakeHome, owner at My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2009
It was so great to have you here at Dixon lake and great to hear that you were pleased with our place. Looking forward to seeing you next time, Happy Fall Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH, MN
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Something about the elegence of this bed and breakfast that made my husband and I feel at home. It was a long week, long drive and we were welcomed with wine and cheese over the beautiful sunset. Cost us about $30 gas total and the nightly rates were amazing! The perfect get-away. Thanks Lyle and Kathryn. We plan to spread the word.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast

Address: 50917 East Dixon Lake Rd, Squaw Lake, MN 56681
Location: United States > Minnesota > Squaw Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Squaw Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate, unique, peaceful, elegant, romantic... An oasis of tranquility! A visually stunning round inn! Feel the Harmony in this exquisite space! Modern lake living and many amenities on an undeveloped lake. This lakeside round inn is nestled peacefully in the Chippewa National Forest on the waters edge of Dixon Lake. Around the house ... guest enjoy 4000 square feet of Mediterranean style home with Eclectic, Modern Spanish and Artsy touches throughout. The entire front of both great rooms is all glass facing beautiful undeveloped Dixon Lake. Some of the homes best features are stained glass windows and ceilings, two majestic fireplaces, the tic-tac-tin ceiling in one great room and the 20 foot vaulted ceiling in the other, this ceiling has clouds by day and northern lights in the evenings. Guests enjoy the warm pebbled floors, the open floor plan, homemade artwork and carpentry along with all the unique built ins. Cable TV, wifi, billiards, kitchenette, game tables, bar, in and outdoor music, grand fireplace, huge lounge and indoor dining area.Outdoors guest enjoy comfortable lounge chairs, lakeside log swing, dining courtyard, garden veranda, firepit and grilling terrace, kayaks, canoe, paddleboat, sandy beach, several gardens, 250 feet of lakeshoe, wooded 8 acre setting, boat rentals, great fishing & water sports, pristine lake. Boat & ATV rental. Fishing is popular in Dixon lake, this 670 acre lake is connected to Lake Winnie, (MN 5th largest lake) Great walleye, crappie, sunny, perch, bass, pike fishing can be found in both lakes. Breakfast and snacks included. Other meals & extras available. Massage services available (Ever have a Lakeside massage) Groomed XC ski trails on site, Rentals available. Back woods Snowmobile trails and groomed trails close by. Reduced winter and spring rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.