We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive out of your way to experience Americana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A&W Drive-In

A&W Drive-In
730 North Broadway Avenue, Spring Valley, MN 55975
5073467486
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Drive out of your way to experience Americana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

When I was a kid there were a lot of these restaurants on the smaller roads of the midwest. Over time we have build mega highways and fast food restaurants that just don't have the same vibe as a place like this. The facility has a lot of new space to eat in or you can do the drive in. The grounds have some of the old statues that A&W used. The service was super quick and tasty. This was the 2nd time I drove out of my way to eat here and glad I did.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    4
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great old-style drive-in with excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've been going to this drive-in since I was a kid, and make it a point to stop in whenever I return to SE Minnesota. The A&W root beer on tap and the fried cheese curds are absolutely top-notch. Carhop service is most always fast, courteous and friendly. Definitely worth a stop if you are traveling through Spring Valley on 63.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Break on a Road Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stopped in for some root beer, and were not disappointed. A&W root beer is soooooo delicious from the tap! I had a large root beer, and my husband had a root beer float and french fries.

To many people, McDonald's french fries are the gold standard. That's because they haven't eaten here. I don't know what they do to make them so delicious, but I may have to keep investigating until I figure it out.

We ate inside, and got to place our order at an intercom, just like the ones outside, on the wall. The decor was just like an old A&W restaurant. As a couple of baby boomers, we loved it. Someone came through the dining area, checking to make sure that everyone was happy.

We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, mn
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old time Drive in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place brings back memories of going to the drive in with my grandparents and parents. They recently added an indoor seating area. The food is classic A&W and the service has always been good for us.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Like the Ole Times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This drive-in takes you back to the 60's, where everybody for miles around gathered to see friends and have a burger (see photos). The dinning area inside was very nostalgic with its decor too. You had to place your order at an order station, like outside when you drive up. My friend had a pork tenderloin sandwich and he said with the coating, whats the need for bread? I had a shrimp dinner, which consisted of 5 fantail shrimp, fried in either old oil or with something else, fries that were ok, cole slaw, which I dont eat and a root beer float, which was great!! It was a great place to visit for the nostalgia.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A&W Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to A&W Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&W Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.