We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in search of dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood Cafe

Westwood Cafe
142 Lake Ave N, Spicer, MN 56288-9616
320-796-5355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Spicer
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“in search of dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Dining options in this resort area are very limited. Some places are closed on Sundays. The food and service were good at the Westwood. We did stand by the cash register for about 10 minutes waiting for a table. It wasn't a good place to stand since we got in the way of people who wanted to pay for their meal. Several different servers asked us if we had been helped: we told each of them we were waiting to be seated. We saw an empty table that had not been cleared but was unoccupied for several minutes. Finally we asked a server if we could sit there: we sat down, the table was promptly cleared, and we enjoyed the rest of our meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, welcoming with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on the way north, cute little town. This was a great breakfast spot, half a block from a park on the lake with a great playground for the kids to take a break from the long roadtrip. Food was cooked to order, arrived hot. We were served by 3 very pleasant servers. I was nicely accommodated for my necessarily gluten-free diet (my own risk to eat in any restaurant), though the menu does not have explicit gluten-free notations. Really a perfect breakfast spot for a roadtrip in a friendly little town. I only knock the food down to 4 star because my daughter's french toast looked a bit limp for my taste (briefly-dipped white bread), but she liked it and cleared most of her plate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“My fave when I'm in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Good food good service and my food was always perfect! I go back time and time again. I've been going here for about 6 years now and everything still stayed the same.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I used to skip school to go to this little cozy place with some friends to eat amazing french toast hee hee must be good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

One of my favorite places to eat! Breakfast and lunch. Always a pleasant time and a great value! Daily specials are always something delicious. Wait staff is very polite. May be a short wait during the summer months or Sundays after church as this is a small facility. Other than that, this is a great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westwood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Westwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.