We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 6th year and we already booked next year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spicer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort
Save
You added Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort to your Saves list
13194 2nd Street NE, Spicer, MN 56288   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spicer
Savage, Minnesota
1 review
“Our 6th year and we already booked next year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is our 6th year staying w/ Bob and Connie. You can't find a nicer, neater resort in Minnesota. We love the the lakeside cabins and terrific swim area. They go out of their way to make it fun for the kids. Bikes, water toys, huge swim area and the swim raft. It's everything childhood memories are made of. The cabins are modern and super neat. Bob & Connie are meticulous about keeping the resort tidy (see Bob at 7a each morning raking and organizing the beach). As the saying goes "build sandcastles and memories" and we've built a ton of those. Did I mention the great fishing too? It's the total package for a family looking for a relaxing week away. If you must, Willmar is only 15 minutes away and has everything you need...or forgot at home :). Enjoy your time and tell them the Hjerpe's sent you...

Room Tip: Lakeside - but if you have a large group, they have plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New London, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

13 family members gathered to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary, all our birthdays, Christmas, and an opportunity for cousins to get acquainted. We are a scattered family and this was a memorable occasion. Did Bob and Connie intentionally order the best weather of the entire summer for us, or is that the way they treat all their guests? Every thing we needed was provided practically before we asked. Kids loved all the bike options, water toys, and kids water skiing adventure was the best. Fire ring s'mores, hay ride, and catering to all our kids made us love you even more, if that is possible. Amazing sunsets and beach cleaned every morning - 5 stars are inadequate! Thank you both!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was our 16th year vacationing at Dickerson's. The week goes by so fast. With daily visits (some times several times a day) of all 17 of us coming to the store to visit with Bob and Connie, they always make us feel welcome and always have time for us. Having a store on site is so convenient. The cabins, grounds and beach are kept immaculate. I love being able to take my daily jogs/walk in the area. Bob made sure we had excellent weather for the week. :) The fish were biting and we were all sad when it was time to leave. Looking forward to year number 17 in 2012!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, m
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We just had another great week at Lake Florida. It is a wonderful family vacation spot. My son Asher and I went out for a walk one morning and he looked at me and said, "Mom, I just love it here." I couldn't agree more. We would highly recommend it for any family vacation. The lake is wonderful and the beach is beautiful. Bob and Connie do a tremendous job maintaining the resort and ensuring that everyone has a wonderful vacation experience.

Room Tip: Check out the online information to determine which cabin will suit your needs best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I would like to express thanks on behalf of my entire family for the very enjoyable and relaxing week we spent at Dickerson’s resort. In all, eighteen of us stayed the week and we found the resort and cabins to be spotless and very well appointed. In particular, we very much appreciated the resort’s shaded lawn and beautiful lake shore through what turned out to be one of the hottest weeks on record. The water was perfect and the resort is well-stocked with beach and water toys, and fishing rods and bait, life jackets, charcoal and lighter fluid were all available.

Because we were staying close to our home town, we knew that a number of guests would visit us on different days. Just as we were asked when we arrived, we simply told the Dickersons who our guests would be and they were welcomed. We also played lawn games the entire week and were asked only to shift the game to give the grass a rest.

Again, we really enjoyed our week at Dickerson’s and we look forward to the next time our family can get together ‘at the lake’.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have never experienced such a relaxing time as I have the last two years visiting Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort! Anyone who knows me knows I can never completely relax and shut down. Well, I have found the place where I can! The surroundings are so clean and beautiful and Bob and Connie take such good care of the cabins and lake shore! They plan many fun activities so you can get to know your neighbors and just provide such kind and courteous help. We had access to many fun water toys, paddle boats, water bikes, rafts and floaties! There is so much to do but most of all I just enjoyed being in such a peaceful, calm, clean environment and relaxing on their beautiful lake shore! I was able to bring along a woman with MS who is wheelchair bound and she could not believe how clean and beautiful the resort was.You thought she was in heaven and in a way that is how it feels when you sit on the beach and look out at this beautiful lake! It made her day and Dickerson's were so accommodating to all of us and our needs! They make you feel like family! I can't express enough what a fabulous place this is to get away to with your family. Bob and Connie treat you so well and make you feel like family. I feel truly blessed to have been able to stay there the last two years and am looking forward to next year! Let the countdown begin!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We are looking forward to our upcoming vacation this month. This will be a return visit because of the hospitality and wonderful people at Dickerson's. We happened to find this place on the internet and couldn't be happier. This has turned out to be an annual event. We look forward to this year's visit. The grounds are well maintained and there is so much to do. We love the hydrobikes and Kayaks along with making smores at night. This place is great for kids and adults alike. We highly recommend Dickerson's Resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spicer
10.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Willmar
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Paynesville Inn & Suites
Paynesville Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Paynesville
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
8.9 mi away
AmericInn Willmar
AmericInn Willmar
#4 of 8 in Willmar
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
9.0 mi away
Days Inn Willmar
Days Inn Willmar
#6 of 8 in Willmar
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort

Address: 13194 2nd Street NE, Spicer, MN 56288
Location: United States > Minnesota > Spicer
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spicer
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort near Spicer, Minnesota has 13 family cabins on a beautiful, 450' level, sand beach. We are located 6 miles west of Spicer, 10 miles north of Willmar, Minnesota. All of the cottages/cabins are housekeeping cabins. We have many fun things for families to do in addition to playing on the beach and swimming in our beautiful lake. We have a paddle boat, kayaks, canoe, fun bugs, hydro-bikes, bicycles, tricycles and wagons which are all free of charge.The New London & Spicer areas are abundant with lakes, parks and things to do. Families will love it here! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.