We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our annual family vacation to Dickerson's Resort at Lake Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spicer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort
13194 Second Street NE, Spicer, MN 56288   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Spicer
Blaine, m
1 review
“Our annual family vacation to Dickerson's Resort at Lake Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We just had another great week at Lake Florida. It is a wonderful family vacation spot. My son Asher and I went out for a walk one morning and he looked at me and said, "Mom, I just love it here." I couldn't agree more. We would highly recommend it for any family vacation. The lake is wonderful and the beach is beautiful. Bob and Connie do a tremendous job maintaining the resort and ensuring that everyone has a wonderful vacation experience.

Room Tip: Check out the online information to determine which cabin will suit your needs best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falcon Heights, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I would like to express thanks on behalf of my entire family for the very enjoyable and relaxing week we spent at Dickerson’s resort. In all, eighteen of us stayed the week and we found the resort and cabins to be spotless and very well appointed. In particular, we very much appreciated the resort’s shaded lawn and beautiful lake shore through what turned out to be one of the hottest weeks on record. The water was perfect and the resort is well-stocked with beach and water toys, and fishing rods and bait, life jackets, charcoal and lighter fluid were all available.

Because we were staying close to our home town, we knew that a number of guests would visit us on different days. Just as we were asked when we arrived, we simply told the Dickersons who our guests would be and they were welcomed. We also played lawn games the entire week and were asked only to shift the game to give the grass a rest.

Again, we really enjoyed our week at Dickerson’s and we look forward to the next time our family can get together ‘at the lake’.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have never experienced such a relaxing time as I have the last two years visiting Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort! Anyone who knows me knows I can never completely relax and shut down. Well, I have found the place where I can! The surroundings are so clean and beautiful and Bob and Connie take such good care of the cabins and lake shore! They plan many fun activities so you can get to know your neighbors and just provide such kind and courteous help. We had access to many fun water toys, paddle boats, water bikes, rafts and floaties! There is so much to do but most of all I just enjoyed being in such a peaceful, calm, clean environment and relaxing on their beautiful lake shore! I was able to bring along a woman with MS who is wheelchair bound and she could not believe how clean and beautiful the resort was.You thought she was in heaven and in a way that is how it feels when you sit on the beach and look out at this beautiful lake! It made her day and Dickerson's were so accommodating to all of us and our needs! They make you feel like family! I can't express enough what a fabulous place this is to get away to with your family. Bob and Connie treat you so well and make you feel like family. I feel truly blessed to have been able to stay there the last two years and am looking forward to next year! Let the countdown begin!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We are looking forward to our upcoming vacation this month. This will be a return visit because of the hospitality and wonderful people at Dickerson's. We happened to find this place on the internet and couldn't be happier. This has turned out to be an annual event. We look forward to this year's visit. The grounds are well maintained and there is so much to do. We love the hydrobikes and Kayaks along with making smores at night. This place is great for kids and adults alike. We highly recommend Dickerson's Resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Bob and Connie Dickerson should not be in any business involving the public. Don't let their web-site fool you. Please scroll down to the Tripadvisor for comments. I wish I had. If you want a pleasant,fun,relaxing, and stress-free vacation, Dickerson's is NOT the place to go. Bob and Connie our rude, discourteous, and they have way to many RULES. No lawn games in front of the cabin, as it might kill the lawn, we had to move our car every other day as it might kill the lawn, there is no fire rings, except in front of the office, which Bob will "supervise" no privacy. One of the guests staying their happen to break a water toy, which BOB made them pay for the repair. We had friends stop by just to say Hi, and there was BOB peering through the trees to make sure they wouldn't stay very long, because you get charged for day visitors. We never got a nice greeting when we arrived, just the speech, about the rules, and when we checked out and leaving over 2000.00 we didn't even get a Thank-you. There slogan is "Building Sandcastles and Memories" We certainly did very BAD MEMORIES. Never going back and telling everyone we can, Don't go the Dickerson's Resort!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cld58, Owner at Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
I was quite shocked to read this review. I thought you had a good time at the resort.
When you arrived at 3:15 rather than the 4:00 check in time we were still cleaning you cabin. I had Bob upgrade you to a larger cabin that was ready and he checked you in. He gave you the same overview of the resort that he gives everyone-which docks are ours, how to use the beach toys, extra bathrooms, shower, fish cleaning, garbage etc. That night when you needed milk for you Hamburger Helper I gave you some right out of our own refrigerator to save you a trip to town.

We do ask that our guests play lawn games on the east side of the resort. There are 2 good reasons for this. One of them is that yes, it wears out the grass. We want the lawn to look as good for the guests who come in August as it did for you in June. The second reason is that we have a sprinkler system. When the hard balls hit the heads they crack and need to be replaced.

There was never any problem with your friend being at the resort, but when there is a strange car at the resort and no one has introduced us we do find out who it is. Knowing who is at our resort is important for the safety of our guests and in case of an emergency. You were not charged for your guest.

I don't believe Bob asked you to move your car every other day. He may have asked you to move it once and to park the extra car across the road in the extra parking area. We don't have room for 3 cars for each cabin.

We have always had only one fire ring. After being here I'm sure you realize that there is not enough land to have a fire ring for each cabin. The fire is supervised by us on Thursday evenings after the hayride or when adults do not join the children. Again it is a safety issue.

Bob didn't a"make" the guest pay for the broken funbug. The father brought some money with his daughter as a teaching moment for her.

While you were here, there was another family who had lived in the same town. We made sure they knew who you were and the men sat on the deck of cabin #1 and had a good conversation.

I find it hard to believe that Bob didn't say thank you. If he truly didn't, then I apologize for that. Thank you, we do appreciate that you stayed with us and from all that was said while you were here we were looking forward to a long relationship and watching the girls grow up. We're sorry your vacation was ruined by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We cannot say enough about Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort. From the moment we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owners Bob and Connie. We were given a tour of the area and taken to our cabin. It was spotless. We knew right away that all would be good - and it was. The property was just as neat and clean with many activities awaiting. We had access to kayaks, canoes, fishing boats, a pontoon, lake bicycles, paddle boats, a small conveinence store and in the evening, a beautiful fire in the firepit. In the evening the sunsets were spectacular. We will be returning next month and EVERY year after that.

Room Tip: Each cabin has been set up for a certain number of people. Very appropriate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit Lake, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

For over 30 years we have been going to Spicer for our vacations. We have been to many local resorts, and they all had plusses and minuses. The last one we went to for 15 years until they sold the property for homes.

Dickerson's was recomended to us, and it has been a real find. We go in September when the rush is off, and we have time to just relax. Bob and Connie go out of their way to make things just the way we want. Our cottage is right on the beach, the accomodations are comfortable, we have a pizza supper on Mondays, homemade donuts and juice on Saturday, and time to enjoy Bob and Connie. and their beautiful sunsets.

This is a fabulous resort, and you could not go wrong planning your vacation here. We have been doing that for ten years. We rate it a 12 on a scale of 1-10!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort

Address: 13194 Second Street NE, Spicer, MN 56288
Location: United States > Minnesota > Spicer
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Spicer
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort near Spicer, Minnesota has 13 family cabins on a beautiful, 450' level, sand beach. We are located 6 miles west of Spicer, 10 miles north of Willmar, Minnesota. All of the cottages/cabins are housekeeping cabins. We have many fun things for families to do in addition to playing on the beach and swimming in our beautiful lake. We have a paddle boat, kayaks, canoe, fun bugs, hydro-bikes, bicycles, tricycles and wagons which are all free of charge.The New London & Spicer areas are abundant with lakes, parks and things to do. Families will love it here! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dickerson's Lake Florida Resort to your Saves list