We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ulala Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ulala Lodge to your Saves list
Ulala Lodge
Muitua, Murrebue 00000, Mozambique   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murrebue
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here as the first leg of our honeymoon in Mozambique. The lodge arranged a pick up and a man was at the airport as promised (although he spent most of the drive to the lodge chatting on the phone!).
The pictures of the lodge on their website don't really do justice to the place. We stayed in the stilted room was beautiful and the main building has been superbly built.
The food is excellent and given there are so few rooms the service feels very personal. The beach is an interesting place to walk around and watch the fishermen and locals going about their daily work.
The only slight downside is the local staff don't speak much (if any) English so it is difficult to communicate with them and find out a bit more about them and their lives.
Great place to stay. Mozambique isn't a great destination in terms of value but Ulala is relatively good value for the money you pay.

Room Tip: The stilted room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Ulala Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Hi !

Thank you so much for your comment !
Yes, it is true that our staff does not speak english. When we established ourselves here, we promessed the village elders we would only hire staff from the village. And we do not regret it at all!
They lack a lot of education, it is true ! Most of them hardly went to school. But they are hard working, enthusiastic and they will speak english one day.
Thank you once again for your stay at Ulala !

Cheers,

Emma and Georges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Ulala Lodge in May 2012 for 7 nights. I have nothing but praise for the place and our hosts, Emma and Georges, who did everything to make sure our stay was relaxed and comfortable. The lodge is exclusive, peaceful and even better than the pictures demonstrate. The hosts - easygoing and non intrusive, with excellent attention to detail.

I would recommend the place without hesitation - ideal for couples or anyone looking for a change of scenery and somewhere nice and exotic to relax. Depending on how long you are there, here are some things to do :

- The lodge offers a walk to the local lake with their guards. It's free - just a few Euros for the guide - and this was well worth doing if you are there for more than a couple of days
- Speak to Emma and Georges about activities you can do in Pemba if you are there for a few days. We spent a day in Pemba Beach Hotel activities centre and did snorkelling and kayaking (and we saw dolphins in the process!). There are plenty of other great options for activities we would have done if we had more time.
- Emma and George do an outstanding job of providing food in a remote location with limited ingredients. Our favourite meals (including lobster, yellow fin tuna, pork, chocolate brownies, banana crumble etc) were all had at Ulala Lodge itself, however, if you want to try food elsewhere, you can check out the nearby local restaurant (open weekends only) or in Pemba there is a decent restaurant called Wilson's Wharf where you can try famous Mozambiquan Prawns and other specialities
- If you want beauty treeatments, the spa at Pemba Beach Hotel is also great

Also, consider:
- The location is remote - no shops easily accessible - so make sure you take what you need!
- Your budget for the taxi/transfers to and from Pemba if you have not hired a car. We paid $50 there and back for the day
- Take out plenty of cash before you get there. Cash points in Pemba are VERY unreliable and you need cash to pay almost everywhere you go
- European two pin plug adaptors are the requirement if staying at the lodge - don't get caught short like we did. (although Emma and George kindly lent us an adaptor)

Please note - above are just some ideas to consider - but this lodge is truly outstanding. What a find!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Ulala Lodge and we truly rank it as one of our top holidays ever. The bungalows and the amazing resturant where build in an sustanible way using local materials and they very well decorated and designed. The location is perfect, its close to the airport and you almost have that long beautiful beach all for yourself. The water is a warm as in a bathtub and you can stay in for hours. Just watching that azure blue water coming and going with the tide was fascinating and especially being able to walk out on the dry sand dunes during low tide to watch the local fisherman and look for shells was really cool.

Emma and George are the best possible hosts that you can imagine and they really made sure we had everything we needed to make this a great holiday. The rest of the staff where also very accommodating, friendly and service minded.

The food was just amazing! Everyday the local fishermen sold the lodge what they had caught that day and Emma would cook it for us. We had some really tasty squid, lobster, tuna and Goat fish together with some lovely South African vines. So if you love seafood this is the place to go.

If you are looking for a truly beautiful place to relax at you wont be disappointed at Ulala Lodge! We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Was there in January 2010 and still remember it. The hosts, Emma and Georges, were absolutely lovely people, the food was delicious and the place is breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had really a wonderful stay at Ulala. Emma and George are very nice and sociable, their cousine excellent and the location is fantastic. The lodge is not luxurious but very confortable and furnished with very good taste. The place is very peaceful and relaxing...just a few bungalows, the beach, a lot of palms..the landscape takes your breath away. Hope to go there again some day!

Room Tip: the bungalow with the two communicating rooms is perfect for a family or a group of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

As a couple in much need for relax and quiet we could have not been luckier! Ulala is a fantastic eco-friendly yet super comfortable lodge. Kilometres on unspoilt and deserted beach provide a great setting for swims and walks. Emma and George are extraordinary: they are warm, friendly and discreet, the perfect hosts.
We spent 7 nights there and struggled with the idea to leave! it is an oasis of peace, food is lovely, and abundant! Both the bungalow and the room on poles are decorated exquisitely and simply with local materials. the dining area has an amazing tatched roof designed by George. We will definitely be back, by ourselves or with a small group of friends.

Room Tip: the suite on the poles is the ultimate honeymooners choice :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

As my travel buddy so apply put it- staying at Ulala with Emma and George was like staying with friends of friends. They were such a warm friendly couple - talking to them and hearing their stories really made the stay interesting. The meals were excellent. The living and dinning lodge and our room were all beautifully done- Emma's artistic touches really added an extra flair. It was lovely to walk on the beach- loads of shells. Wish we could have stayed a bit longer!

FYI- they haven't gotten their actives up and going quite yet, so right now this is primarily a place to go chill out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ulala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulala Lodge

Address: Muitua, Murrebue 00000, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Murrebue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murrebue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ulala is an Eco Lodge located in Murrebue, one of the most beautiful beaches in Mozambique. We are close to Pemba (20 minutes from the city centre, 15 minutes from the airport), in the North of Mozambique. We are a small, isolated, exclusive place, with 6 rooms in beautiful and charming bungalows, all with a view on the Indian ocean. We have taken care to use local materials (coco leaves, bamboos, teak decks, red sand) in all construction, delicately blended with modern facilities to provide comfort with a unique style. Our cosy restaurant / bar is on the beach, and we take great care at giving you the best food we can ! Emmanuelle and Georges will be happy to prepare French Cuisine with a mix of local flair. Wifi, wireless internet, is available at the restaurant. We can also take you outside the lagoon to the coral reef, to do whale watching. Conditions are ideal for kitesurfing from may to october. Ulala is the ideal accomodation for those looking for tranquillity and natural beauty ; the remoteness of the place is an invitation to relaxation. The beauty of the white sandbanks and of the emerald waters shifting with the tides offers a never ending show. The beach is clean and calm. The nearest village is kilometers away. Ulala provides an intimate setting, with a friendly atmosphere, and is perfect for honeymoons, families, couples and friends. We are more a guesthouse than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Ulala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.