We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Gramsie Road, Shoreview, MN 55126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Shoreview
West Columbia, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“No elevator”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hotel is a two-story building with no elevator. Our ground floor room had a sliding glass door to the outdoors and, thus, no safe way to leave the door open at night. There was no other way for fresh air. Also, the curtains necessarily had to be closed for dressing. This made the room dark. Smoking is on the second floor. Good restaurant and bar attached. Good parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    33
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
32
17
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stay at Hampton Inns a lot and would not consider this to be representitive of a typical Hampton Inn. It appeared to be a remodeled old Holiday Inn. No elevators, old rooms, smelly, etc. They have tried to update some of the propertie's features, but nothing could make a 50 year old hotel new... For the price, there are much more modern hotels in the area.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnShoreview, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments regarding our hotel. We take guest comments very seriously and use the feedback to improve. We strive to keep our hotel updated and looking fresh and new for our guests. We’ll keep your comments in mind as we plan our continual improvements to the hotel that are coming soon in 2011. Our staff works very hard to please our guests. We will be sure to share your thoughts!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel was not always a Hampton Inn. I'm guessing it was a Holiday Inn from the 1970's. Some of it has retained that 70's "charm". Dark halls, no elevator. Smoking is allowed in this hotel. Really. Hallways smell of smoke. Breakfast area is a bit crowded but fine. Thank goodness the staff are nice here - they really are. The attached restaurant is pretty decent and convenient. If it were up to me, I'd stay at the HGI across the lot and spend a bit more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments regarding our hotel. We take guest comments very seriously and use the feedback to improve. We strive to keep our hotel updated and looking fresh and new for our guests. We’ll keep your comments in mind as we plan our continual improvements to the hotel. Our staff works very hard to please our guests and will appreciate that you noticed and commented about their service. We will be sure to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stayed here during a recent business trip and I must say that I WAS SO IMPRESSED! I felt like I was at home the whole time. The staff was so friendly, the rooms were so beautifully decorated and their were so many nice little extras like a GREAT options at the continental breakfast, nice brown bag grab bags for those in a rush in the mornings, lapboards in the rooms for laptops of books, fabulous cookies on the front desk in the evenings, tea and coffee in the lobby at all times, and did I mention the GREAT STAFF!!!! I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Minneapolis!!! :-)

Room Tip: ANY room would be fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The best thing about this Hampton is the service. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. All other characteristics are typical for a Hampton property (great bedding, above average breakfast selection, etc). The property has recently upgraded it's fitness center. A great improvement. An odd thing about the property is that there are no elevators. Its only two floors so its not much of an issue for most people who prefer a top floor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Stayed here one night on a business trip. This Hampton Inn was close to my business meeting. It has been converted from an older hotel (Holiday Inn maybe) and it in pretty good shape. The rooms have been updated and were in decent shape. Only issue I had was the low ceiling in the bathroom. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel but I didn't try it. My room faced the interstate and I did hear the traffic...not too bad unless you are a very light sleeper. Overall, nothing special about this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

This Hampton Inn was one of the best I have stayed in and I stay at Hamptons about 80% of my trips (like 40/yr).
Staff 5 stars. Room 5 stars. Adjoining restaurant 5 stars.

Nice job management!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North

Address: 1000 Gramsie Road, Shoreview, MN 55126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shoreview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Shoreview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North located in Shoreview, Minnesota. We are a short distance from the twin cities where you can catch a game at the Excel Energy Center, Target Field, Metrodome or the National Sports Center. All Hampton Inn guest rooms include free internet, free hot breakfast (or grab a On the Run breakfast bag), free hot tea & coffee in the lobby. Relax in our pool or whirlpool or use our fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / St. Paul North Hotel Shoreview
Hampton Inn Shoreview
Shoreview Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Minneapolis-St. Paul North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.