We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Gramsie Rd, Shoreview, MN 55126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ok but worn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

They allow smoking on the 4th floor, starting at room 423, and you can smell it in the 4th floor hallways and near the elevator shaft on all the floors. Even so, that is where you want to stay because there is not enough sound proofing between the floors.

Two days in a row we left their card on the beds asking that our linens. We did not realize until the second day they were not but we were gone all day and got back too late to complain. I mentioned this and another problem to the manager the night before we left and she comped us one night.

The rooms need updating. Tiles in the bathroom were cracked and so was the sink. Carpeting was frayed. The fridge in our first room ran constantly. Doors and trim in the room needed to be cleaned. The stairwells needed to be vacuumed. For the most part, very nice, helpful staff.

Room Tip: 4th floor so you can avoid hearing the elephants above you. An odd numbered room so you can be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShoreview, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for being our guest, we love having you as our guest. Thank you for your comments as we appreciate all feedback from our valuable guests. I am sorry to see we didn't exceed with our cleanliness and maintenance issues with the rooms.



I have shared your comments with the team and know that each and every one of them will learn and grow from your comments...We are looking forward to our renovations later this year. At that time, we will be 100% non-smoking as we refresh all of our guest rooms.



I am proud of the staff that took care of our errors and that you found the staff nice and helpful. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to show our true hospitality with cleanliness and maintenance...Please let me know of your return so that I can take care of your reservation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    50
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
53
22
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a 3.5 start property - the lobby is very nice and the staff were very friendly. The biggest negative is the hotel rooms need a remodel. The rooms are a little outdated, bathroom was clean but shower and tub showed their age. You could hear people above you quite easily. Air conditioner controls were old model, but did work. Would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: top floor a must due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShoreview, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for being our guest, we love having you here! Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated. With your comments our team can strive to be the best...we are looking forward to refreshing our rooms in the latter part of this year along with a new lobby!



Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This HGI is a typical business hotel, close to many of the major company headquarters in the area (Medtronic, St. Jude Medical, Smiths Medical, Land-O-Lakes, etc.). Nothing out of the ordinary, but decent service, decent value, and decent surroundings. With a Hilton Garden Inn, you get what you expect. There's a couple of restaurants within walking distance (just on the other side of the parking lot), if you don't have transportation at dinner time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShoreview, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and for the Star Rating! We are honored to have you as our guest and hope to see you again soon! We have a new Chef in the evening in case you are looking to dine in at the hotel, he has gotten rave reviews and will prepare about anything you can wish for.

Thank you again,
Julie Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a friends' wedding and the results were typical of a HGI. Great service, clean and updated rooms, very up to date decor, etc. The breakfast provided looked AMAZING, but that's all I can say. It was about $10 per person to eat the breakfast buffet. When you're staying in a nice hotel and paying a decent rate, I have issue with the breakfast being so spendy. I wish they would provide it complimentary to guests, or discount the rate to make it more conducive for families and couples traveling together. I also wished that there would have been a restaurant attached. The Hampton across the street is attached to a Green Mill, so I was half expecting a bar/restaurant onsite.

That being said, I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShoreview, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about our service and facility! We also appreciate hearing from you about our breakfast options and cost. Our onsite restaurant, the Great American Grill, provides an extensive hot breakfast buffet or a la carte, cooked to order options for our guests each morning as well as dinner and room service in the evening The Green Mill across the parking lot is also a great option within walking distance for lunch, dinner or drinks. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and want to thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just like the title says...I had a pleasant stay with no complaints. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShoreview, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for being our guest! Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We debated between Hilton Garden and Hampton Inn since these two are side by side. We decided to try Hilton Garden. The staff was very friendly and the public areas and rooms were clean and neat. The floor we stayed on seemed a bit over fabreezed if you know what I mean. We are finding this at a number of places we stay so no big surprise. So what was our deciding factor? The Hilton website showed Hilton Garden Inn had free WIFI and no free breakfast. The Hampton Inn had free breakfast but charged for the WIFI. It's probably a wash but we will opt for the free WIFI since we travel with at least two laptops. We think charging for WIFI is a ripoff. Would we stay here again? Yes, it suited our purposes just fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShoreview, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
We are so happy you chose our hotel, but wanted to make sure you knew both our hotel and our sister hotel, Hampton Inn Shoreview, offer complimentary wireless Internet. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have to stay in this hotel when I travel to this area for work and while it's a decent hotel, I just don't like it for several little reasons that add up. The staff is friendly but not out of their way helpful, sounds carry and/or are magnified through the walls/ceilings (i.e. it sounds like an elephant is walking around upstairs), smells (like cigarette smoke and food) carry through the vents/doors, the bathroom and closet doors are designed to close on their own (so you are always getting hit with the door if you forget this), room service food is poor, beds are uncomfortable (no matter what setting - and I usually love Hilton Garden Inn beds), and no automatic entrance doors in the lobby. This trip I moved to another Hilton Garden Inn in Maple Grove part way through the trip and reconfirmed what this chain of hotel is supposed to be. I realize that current management can't really do much about most of these things - mostly due to poor design of the hotel. Again, it's a decent place to stay but if I had a choice, I wouldn't.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
I want to sincerely apologize for your experience. It is always our goal to surpass, not just meet, our guests’ expectations. In other words, just being friendly is not enough! Our job is to ensure if there are areas that impact your stay, we are doing everything in our power to address them to your satisfaction. Although some of what you described is related to the design of the building, there are a number of areas we can improve upon based on your feedback. I will share your comments with our team and we will work to identify solutions.

To specifically address a few of your concerns, we are updating to automatic entry doors for the lobby this spring as part of our continual investment in the hotel. In addition, later this year, we will be installing new guest room carpeting and repainting the guest rooms. As part of that process, we will become a 100% non-smoking hotel. We are excited about these, along with a number of other improvements we continue to make to the hotel.

Please accept our apologies. We are disappointed that we didn’t deliver on the experience you expect and deserve while traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview

Address: 1050 Gramsie Rd, Shoreview, MN 55126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shoreview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview just 25 minutes from Minneapolis-St. Paul Int'l Airport. Our hotel is north of the Twin Cities and close to area attractions: Mall of America, Como Park Zoo, The Metrodome/Target Center, Minnesota State Fairgrounds and the National Sports Center. Guest rooms include free internet and the Garden Sleep System. Relax in our pool or whirlpool or use our fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Shoreview Hotel Shoreview
Hilton Shoreview

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.