We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Lexington Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Savage, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for a Saturday night on November 17th. Wow what great facilities! What really blew my mind was how nice the staff was. From the front desk to the young man serving breakfast. The rooms were clean and with a group of young people we were allowed to bring snacks in by the pool! In this tough time it was nice to be able to feed all the kids that way! We are hosting a double 25th wedding anniversary party in January and have picked America's Best Value as the place for our families to stay for the night. The kids can swim and later the adults can dance! It was all in all a wonderful experience. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who will listen! thanks again so much. Sue W.

Room Tip: We had a pool side room, but on the (guess) west end of the pool are suites with patio doors to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Susan W,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Canterbury Inn.
I will make sure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We can't wait to see you again in January! Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    12
    23
    30
See reviews for
44
18
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Center City, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stopped by on November 17th to check in. The room that we checked in for was in our partner’s name. I felt that this may cause an issue to get in, however, the friendly front desk allowed us to check in to both rooms (with the help of a cellphone) both rooms where clean and neatly set. The hotel looked practically brand new, and well taken care of. The pool and spa area looked great (I will admit that the chlorine scent was noticeable, but heck, it’s an indoor pool for crying out loud!!) I liked the idea of a pool side entry door, nice touch! The food and bar service was great, along with the waiter!! The only issue we had was the bathroom sink was slow at draining. What do I do?.......Call the front desk and ask for maintenance. The nice gentleman came to our room in under 2 minutes, quick and easy, out in a flash. Sometimes people need to understand that hotels are visited by thousands of people in a years’ time. I will not knock off the service and great hotel over simple, dumb, little things. This is a great hotel, with great and quick service, and packaged nicely. I have been to cheap hotels, and this hotel definitely hits the top of my list!!

Room Tip: If you have sensitivity to the chlorine scent of an indoor pool, simply ask the front desk to place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
David P,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Canterbury Inn.
I will make sure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We are glad you enjoyed having a poolside room. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a great time in Shakopee and the hotel was more than we had expected. In addition to a great free breakfast buttet, the on-site restaurants had really good food at very reasonable prices. The rooms were clean and well-cared for but the best thing about the hotel is the staff. Very friendly and most accommodating. The grounds are pleasant, plenty of parking and since it is just off the busy streets, it was quiet, peaceful and a nice area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Deanna V,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Canterbury Inn.
I will make sure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We are so glad you enjoyed the free hot breakfast and on-site restaurants. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Nov 1-4. The staff was very friendly. She had us check our room to make sure it was alright. We received free breakfast....not just cold cereal but an actual hot buffet. Many items and options to choose from. We ate lunch in the bar area and had dinner in the steakhouse. Huge portion of prime rib with prices very reasonable. Live bands on the weekends. Large pool with two hot tubs. Location was very centralized for anything you may need. Close to Mystic Lake Casino, Canterbury Downs Horse Track, Valleyfair Amusement Park and lots of shopping. Friends and family came and visited with us and they were also impressed. I was so impressed I booked for late next year for a family reunion. Thanks Americas Best Value....you really out did yourself with hospitality and we thank you!! See you soon!! :)

Room Tip: We had a suite...very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Anniooh,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Canterbury Inn.
I will make sure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
It sounds like you had a great time! Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I spent Sunday night here after visiting the Renaissance all day, thanks to 2 complimentary tickets from the hotel, which we they gave us before check-in time so we could go and have fun until our room was ready. Check-in was a breeze, and after a fun but dirty day of walking through dust, we showered in a roomy tub, played in a large heated pool full of happy swimmers, relaxed in one of the 2 hot tubs - each with a different temperature for your preference, then went to the Arizona Bar and had a drink while listening to a live country band with NO coverage charge! The place was obviously built for the local attractions and Canterbury Downs racing elite, as it is decorated with a castle facade complete with huge oak doors and spouting lion heads, and racing horse heads imprinted in the pool tiles. We slept peacefully in a huge downfilled bed, thanks to the extra lounging room (complete with sofa, bar, mini-fridge and microwave), which separated our bedroom from the hallway with a door we closed, and woke to a huge buffet-style breakfast complete with all the fixins, at no extra charge! Figuring in the cost of 2 adult breakfasts, 2 tix to the Renaissance, a free band, and a wonderful room, we feel that this hotel was WELL worth what we paid and wondered if they even made a proft! I don't know how much more a person could want?

Room Tip: Everything you want, and MORE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. People having a good experience very seldom take the time to comment on their stays. While we do fall down on guest expectationf from time to time we take every comment seriously as that is the only way we can improve in this service industry.

We appreciate the time it took you to comment on your stay.

We hope you will join us again soon.

Dennis Heyde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for one night for a near by wedding. Check in time is 3PM. Room not ready at 3:30PM. Front desk staff have no idea how long till clean. They were not helpful at all. Have 4 people needing to get ready for the wedding. Change clothes in public restroom. Check in after wedding. Room is small, very old and outdated. Bathroom is totally gross. Bottom of door is rotting away from water damage. Hotel in horrible need of updating. May be better to tear down and start over. Breakfast was good and nice pillows. That is the only positive. Do not stay here. Many much nicer hotels near by!

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We make arrangements for wedding parties if requested for changing areas. While 3PM is when check in time starts when the entire hotel is occuppied the night before it sometimes takes longer to clean and ready the room for the next guest. Shortcutting this process would not be in the best interest of the hotel or the guest. We are sorry for your disappointment regarding trying to dress in a public restroom. All of our rooms are in the process of renovation. I am sorry if you were not in one that was completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shakopee hotels

Madison, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed with my family for two nights, before and after going to Valley Fair. The hotel is about 1 minute from Caturbury Park and about 5 minutes from Valley Fari. The room was spacious, the staff was extremely accomodating and friendly, the pool area was a lot of fun, and the breakfast was wonderful. My daughter and her husband visited us while we were there and the pool area was a wonderful place to relax and socialize. To top it off, the price was very reasonable, best bargain in the area for what you get. I feel like we found a real gem and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and are very happy your experience at your hotel was satisfactory.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area

Dennis Heyde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis

Address: 1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Lexington Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Americas Best Value Hotel Shakopee
Canterbury Hotel Shakopee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.