We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shakopee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shakopee to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shakopee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1204 Ramsey Street, Shakopee, MN 55379   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 25%
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Georgetown, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a nice clean hotel with comfortable bed although the pull out sofa is not so comfortable. Plenty of towels. Breakfast area is large enough to get together with a crowd. Lots of choices for free breakfast-typical fare. Front desk extremely helpful in helping us find businesses around town. I would definitely stay here again if visiting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    15
    13
    2
See reviews for
26
13
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at this facility for one night, and it was adequate but nothing more. Check in was very smooth, although I was very shocked that the clerk announced my full name in front of a male guest filling out paperwork to the side of me, and while he was still there announced my room number when handing me the room key! This is a serious guest security concern that needs to be addressed. The room was sparse, nothing special. There was a small fridge and microwave in the corner. The television was difficult to figure out how to turn it on - it is connected to some kind of box - but there were a lot of channels to choose from. The room was clean, the beds were hard, there were three pillows on each bed. Late evening a fire alarm went off and it took over 10 minutes for the staff to figure out how to turn it off! The pool area was very small - one family of four pretty much takes up the entire pool. Breakfast was OK - there were three dry cereals, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, bread, bagels, muffins, eggs, sausage, waffles, juise, coffee. Very little space to eat so we took the food back to our room. There were free newspapers in the lobby, and cookies/fruit available. The area itself appeared safe - we had no concerns about sitting outside or shopping in the area. We paid $60 through Expedia for one night, and I wouldn't pay any more than that for this facility. It was adequate for one night, but if I were in the area again I would look for something nicer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoyt Lakes, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

While our daughter & son-in-law live in Shakopee, we stayed at this hotel because they were having their 1st child. It was close (less than a mile) from the hospital and very close to several eating places and shopping. Rooms were spacious with refrigerators. Very clean. Enjoyed the hot tub and the breakfasts were very delicious. Will most definetly stay again in the very near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is really nice. The bathrooms were spotless and the rooms were really quiet. The pool is amazing and the hot tub was really good too. Breakfast was good and service was amazing. I suggest anyone with a family should stay here!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

I liked this Hotel, my room was quiet and comfy.
The breakfast was pretty good. nice staff.
The only thing weird about our room was...it did not have a picture hanging ANYWHERE!! blank bare blah walls.
I almost wanted to paint a nice county scene on one wall with a cow grazing in the background. ha. [mayby i should have!!]

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Great rate ($75/night + taxes for 3 nights), comfortable setting, adaquate continental breakfast, comfortable rooms and a good front desk. My wife and I do not require frills and Country Inn and Suites deliver that with good quality

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

This hotel has lovely rooms and their king size beds are very comfortable. My concern is that the breakfast was not prepared carefully. I was terribly sick after eating one of their hardboiled eggs. Also, I was on a business trip and this hotel did not have business amenities, like a computer for public use. I forgot to check before I booked and I regret that. The service was okay, not spectacular. The neighborhood was safe.

  • Liked — The bed was comfortable and the room layout was nice.
  • Disliked — The room is a bit dated, although it looked as though they were completing some rennovations.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shakopee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shakopee

Address: 1204 Ramsey Street, Shakopee, MN 55379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shakopee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recharge at this 100% non-smoking Country Inn and Suites in Shakopee-Minneapolis MN. Ideally located off Highway 169,just a few minutes away from many local attractions and businesses such as Valleyfair, Canterbury Park, Mystic Lake Casino, Seagate, Shutterfly, Saint Francis Regional Hospital etc. Surrounded by shopping plazas, shopping centers, and many local and chain restaurants that are within walking distance. Recharge at this 100% non-smoking Country Inn and Suites in Shakopee-Minneapolis MN. Ideally located off Highway 169 and 30 miles southwest of Minneapolis - St. Paul metro area. Business or pleasure, there is something for everyone! We are surrounded by both leisure attractions and corporate businesses, shopping plazas, shopping centers, and many local and chain restaurants like Applebee's are within walking distance. Minutes from major companies and many local businesses such as Seagate Technology, TE Connectivity, Shutterfly, Saint Francis Regional Hospital. For entertainment, check out Chanhassen Dinner Theatre, located only 5 miles away in Chanhassen. The Minnesota Zoo, Mall of America and Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport are only a quick 25 minutes' drive. Inviting rooms equipped with business services, super-fast free high-speed Internet, state of the art business center and LCD TVs with full line of local and premium hi-definition cable channels help guests unwind after a day of exploring the region's top attractions, which include Canterbury Park Racetrack, Valleyfair Amusement Park, Mystic Lake Casino and the SEA LIFE Minnesota Aquarium. Find all you need and more for a relaxing stay in Shakopee-Minneapolis MN with this hotel's accommodating services and amenities. Perfect location for those traveling to Minneapolis Downtown but still want the "small town" feel. Guests at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shakopee-Minneapolis, MN enjoy free cookies, fresh coffee, a fitness center for staying in shape, a heated indoor pool, whirlpool for refreshing swims and a complimentary, hot "Be Our Guest Breakfast" buffet that offers many healthy options that is designed to satisfy every guest we serve. Discover comfort, affordable luxury and convenience when you choose the pet-friendly Country Inn & Suites Shakopee as your relaxation and vacation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shakopee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shakopee
Shakopee Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shakopee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.