We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4175 Dean Lakes Blvd., Shakopee, MN 55379   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is definately designed for business travelers and not families which is odd considering how close they are to Valleyfair. We got lots of strange looks from other guests when they saw our kids running around. The pool is very small and the water was cold. Our Daughter who loves to swim only went once during our 3 day stay and didn't want to go back in.
There is no fridge or microwave in the rooms. The breakfast was good. Very comfortable beds and super quiet at night. Had problems with the cable TV. The picture would go blank and "no signal" would appear on the screen. You then have to turn the TV off & back on & then it worked fine. This happened several times. We did like the location in a safe area and away from heavy traffic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Man_Mpls, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We apologize for the quality of services you received during your recent stay. We have reported the malfunctioning TV in your guest suite to our maintenance team but regret it was not taken care of sooner. We will are also monitor the pool temperature and keep it at a constant 83 degrees. We will be sure to take care of any inconsistencies so that all guests can enjoy getting in the water. We’re also a very family friendly place with our fun breakfast waffles and wall to wall candy in our sweet shop. We hope you will consider staying with us at again the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    49
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
71
25
7
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tomah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel and room was very clean and is a nice place to stay, but there were some flaws. We were very surprised that the room didn't have a microwave and refrigerator. There was one sitting in the hallway & we asked the cleaning lady about it. She said the rooms don't come with them, but you can get one on request. We asked the front desk if we could take the one in the hallway and we could. The room was very nice and clean. The only problem, in the room, was there wasn't any cold water coming out of the bathroom sink. Only hot water would come out & wasn't pleasant brushing your teeth with hot water. The other complaint was the breakfast. Got down there an hour before it was to end & they were already out of waffle batter & muffins. Our 5 yr old daughter was very disappointed she couldn't get a waffle. Think they would be prepared on how much to have. Would stay here again, but I hope they get the kinks out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Man_Mpls, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We’re happy that you enjoyed a clean and fresh room but apologize for the quality of services you received during your recent stay. We have reported the water temperature in your guest suite to our maintenance team. We will also take note of your experience at breakfast and make sure our staff has adequately prepared meal items during breakfast. We hope you will consider staying with us at again the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookston, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The staff at check-in was friendly and fast. The room was clean and modern. There was a closet, but no dresser, other than a couple of drawers in the nightstand. The beds were okay. Free high-speed internet was nice. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate were available in the lobby 24 hours a day. Complimentary breakfast consisted of: waffles, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon/sausage, french toast sticks, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, breads, milk, and orange juice. The hotel also offered a "grab and go" breakfast bag. The pool is small, but adequate. There is no hot tub. Plenty of parking, even though the hotel was at capacity for one night of our stay. Check-out was a breeze.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, facing ValleyFair, so got to see the nightly fireworks from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I am a frequent Hilton property guest and was very dissapointed in the is property. First check in was very slow on a Friday night and another guest was ignored in the suite shop. Next the pool was gross...crackers on the bathroom floor in the pool area, towels everywhere, cups everywhere. When the front desk finally came to clean up the pool area - she took the towel hamper so no one was able to put away their dirty towesl. Also they were always out of towles so when went to get some there was a weird note at the desk. I posted a photo -we were unsure how to call for her...luckily she came up behind us. Room was fine...Breakfast area was busy and messy....I would suggest possibly having additional staff on the weekends since it seems to attract families with it's proximity to ValleyFair. Forget to mention kids had through ice all over the single elevator.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Man_Mpls, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay here and we are very sorry that you ran into problems. We have fixed the pool area issues and have addressed the towel hamper and ice cream in the elevator issues with our housekeepers. I’ve spoken to our front desk staff regarding their absences when you needed them and the slow check-in service. We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again so we can have another chance at showing you what our warm Hamptonality is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After being disappointed by other hotels in the area, I recently stayed here while travelling to the area. Great place, the breakfast is good, the staff is friendly and most importantly, the rooms are CLEAN and FRESH. You can tell this place is new as soon as you walk in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After experiencing less than ideal conditions at another hotel in the area, we stopped in at Hampton Inn to see about switching hotels.

From the modern carpets and decor to the friendly staff, our stay was met with comfort and friendly service. The breakfast bar was adequate and matched the price of the accommodations. French toast sticks, waffles, bacon, omelet wraps, cereal, fresh fruit, juices were among some of the items that I remember from our two mornings.

It was quite irritating that we had a family reunion group on our floor that wanted to drink and party in the hallway when my wife and I were trying to relax. After seeing that it was not going to cease soon, I stepped out of my room, and told them to take in in their room or down to the ample public meeting space on the first floor. The group was respectful and moved in their rooms. I notified the front desk concerning this and they said they would follow-up. I had no further incident and can not blame the hotel for the behavior of the guests if the guests no longer present a problem after a report is made.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed here in 2011 and 2012. Both stays were pleasant. The beds sleep well. The room is clean. The breakfast is above par. The service is good. The atmosphere is welcoming. The hotel is modern and clean kept.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee

Address: 4175 Dean Lakes Blvd., Shakopee, MN 55379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee Hotel Shakopee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.