We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Saint Paul Hotel to your Saves list
The Saint Paul Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Great stay - perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

I attended a family wedding at the St. Paul Hotel and enjoyed the quaint, vintage feel immensely. The hotel is slightly dated but very very clean with good service. The location of the hotel is beautiful and the locale can't be beat. The rooms are slightly old fashioned but very comfortable. The bed was great!

The wedding services itself were very nice, the food was good and the service was top notch. The wedding rate was very affordable as well making the trip an incredible value. I would recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway weekend for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    120
    37
    18
    9
See reviews for
67
158
31
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woodland hills, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

I will keep this short and sweet. This is a Fabulous little find in Saint Paul. The location is great for walking everywhere. The service was fantastic. The rooms well appointed and with beautiful views and most importantly the bed was sooo comfortable. My only recomendation would be skip the cafe...there are much better resturants walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

It was peak wedding season apparently because our rooms were pretty expensive, about $350/night. You'd think that a hotel that costs that much would have at least decent service. There are certain expectations about service the more you pay for it. This hotel fails every aspect of good service. Not only do their employees not even say hello to you when you enter/exit the hotel lobby, their front desk staff really need to stop treating their not-dressed-like-they're-loaded-with-cash guests like street [--]. On the second day at the hotel, I asked the front desk if they had a lobby store (they don't btw and sundry items are sold from their housekeeping unit) and the front desk woman eyes me like I can't afford anything from their store and says there's a Walgreens a couple blocks away. Uhmm, excuse me?

Also, there is no complimentary hotel parking. There's valet parking (with additional fees) or you can park in the adjacent parking garage (the bellhop says that's the preferred choice for their guests). Either way, parking at or near the hotel is going to cost you at least $18/day. No complimentary coffee in the suites. No complimentary newspaper either, you have to pay for that in advance. The housekeeping staff doesn't even turn down the beds every night unless you request it.

Even if I won the Powerball lotto, I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the St Paul Hotel. Unlike previous reviewers, I thought that the hotel staff was very service-minded, attentive, and helpful. When I arrived, the doorman greeted me BY NAME (how they worked that I have no idea), and the front desk clerk automatically gave me a lower rate for the room when she saw my military ID. The hotel itself is nice, clean, and well maintained. The lobby won't blow you away like some other historic hotels (e.g. The Jefferson in Richmond, et. al...) but the bar is wonderful and has one of the most complete spirits selections I have ever seen...class act. I had room 920 which commanded an excellent view of the state capitol to the west and the Landmark Center below. The rooms were ok - well kept, comfortable bed. The bathrooms were a bit dated but functional and well maintained. Unlike the previous reviewer, I did not get nickeled-and-dimed to death...the newspaper was complimentary and I had no extraneous charges other than the mini bar stuff I consumed. All told, I'd go back in a heartbeat. It was my 1st time to St Paul and I was impressed with the city and her cultural opportunities. It is evident by the cleanliness of the city that there is a high degree of civic pride. The historic district is great to walk through as well. If it weren't for the brutal winters, I'd consider moving there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

The St Paul Hotel is beautiful in appearance and the front desk staff was very polite. However, for $150+ a night in St Paul, the value isn't there. I have stayed at budget hotels for 1/2 the price that had better value. Everything, including the newspaper shoved under the door is charged to your account. Coffee service in the lobby isn't even free. Parking cost an additional $18 for self parking. I was very disappointed in what was offered for the cost of the room. Won't stay there again. Go to Minneapolis, with better and cheaper rooms, it's not that far.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Beautiful hotel and rooms. Watch the bartender who will upgrade your "vodka grapefruit" to Grey Goose without a word at a higher price and count you among a group (even if paying separately) for speaking with others in the bar for a 20% automatic gratuity. Then there's the breakfast staff in the restaurant who are among the slowest ever - get up early if you want to eat AND make it to your meetings. Don't forget the hostess who is so nasty I told her see should be a "back of the house gal" - (Don't put your bag there, That's not a door!- the iron gate at the restaurant) - Gee it has hinges and it's not a door... Wow - you really can wear nice clothes, be a size two and be a witch at the front of the restaurant. Oh, and whether you order room service or buy anything food related - bar, lunch etc they have a "service fee" and a "tip" listed on the receipt - don't pay for bad service twice. The service at this beautiful hotel needs to be completely retrained - and make sure to watch the receipts or you'll be paying too much. Such a beautiful hotel too bad about the service...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJChi11
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

My husband and I had our third stay at the St. Paul Hotel in April, and it was just as great as the last two times. We love the St. Paul Hotel for quick one night get-aways when visiting family in the Twin Cities. St. Paul is much more historic than Minneapolis, and the hotel is right on Rice Park, is easily accessible and close to several fantastic St. Paul restaurants. Service is excellent. This past time, our room was "waiting" for us... clean, lights turned on, and soft music playing as we entered. One drawback that we noticed on this last stay was the morning noise from the streets below (thin walls or bad windows?). We can wait for another special occasion to celebrate at the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Paul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.