We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Block of rooms for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Saint Paul Hotel to your Saves list
The Saint Paul Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
GreenLeadersGold level
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Block of rooms for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

From the time we set foot into the hotel to the time we left, we felt the staff went above and beyond expectations. We decided we were having lots of fun at the wedding and wanted to book a room. They were able to still give us the blocked room rate with a beautiful view. The wait staff for the wedding and the coat servers addressed as many patrons as they could by name and remembered their drink they ordered before or what coat was who's. It was one of the fanciest wedding venues I have been to and the room was comfortable and within reason for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    112
    36
    17
    9
See reviews for
65
151
31
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
613 helpful votes 613 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The St. Paul Hotel is a nice, classy hotel with friendly service and comfortable rooms. The service is very friendly from the door man to the check in area. The decor is classy with live lobby music being played in the evenings. Beds are comfortable and the mini bar hits the spot in those situations where you need something to tide you over until dinner. Nice location in downtown St. Paul with dinner options available in the area. Valets for parking as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at The Saint Paul Hotel for a long weekend to visit family in the twin cities. The room was beautiful. There were nice furnishings with classy elegance. Coffee and mini bar were well-appointed and always restocked daily. The staff were very friendly and polite. The valet was always polite and prompt. We felt that we received a very good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place is classy! Door man with a top hat, bottle (not a plastic bottle) of water bedside, beautiful decor, and comfortable beds. This is by far the nicest hotel that I've stayed at in St. Paul. Next time I am in St Paul I will be sure to stay there.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much! We look forward to having you as a guest on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed at The St. Paul Hotel numerous times on business and have always had a great experience. The staff is friendly and competent. The rooms and lobby are impeccable. The hotel is conveniently located in the downtown area and relatively close to the sports arena. The St. Paul Grill located in the hotel is also a wonderful restaurant with attentive service and a varied menu. While The St. Paul Hotel hotel is reasonably priced, it is not a value hotel by any stretch of the imagination and the budget minded traveler may want to look elsewhere in the St. Paul downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I love the grand lobby. I had a view of the river from my room. Everything was clean and charming. I would have welcomed some coffee in the morning (the booklet said something about a coffee cart, but I could not find it. Fortunately, Starbucks is only two blocks away). Comfortable bed.

The service at the front desk was insanely slow checking out....I don't understand why! At one point, the clerk went to "make a photocopy" and was gone for ten minutes. Other than that, loved it!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is one of those wonderful, classic hotels. You can tell that it has been around for a long time but it maintains its high standards and surroundings in a very consistent manner. They keep the property clean and up to date. The people working there all understand great customer service. This is a great choice when visiting St. Paul.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. The staff loves to read that they have been recognized, so thank you for taking the time to do it!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Paul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.