We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different hotel before midnight and after” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Saint Paul Hotel to your Saves list
The Saint Paul Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Different hotel before midnight and after”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed one night at this beautiful hotel. The room was gorgeous, very clean and well cared for. We went to the MN Wild game and got back to the room by 10pm. The music from the banquet hall below was rocking until midnight. Around 1145 pm, the neighbors were arguing so loud, I thought they were in the room with us. Felt kind of like being in a cheap motel. After the music stopped and the arguing ended, it was quiet and peaceful. Bed was super comfy, I didn't want to get up and out of it!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room higher than on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    112
    36
    17
    9
See reviews for
65
151
31
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winkler
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

In town for a hockey game, the room was a little small but that's OK because it's an older landmark hotel, very beautiful place. Everyone from the lady I booked with to the bellman, doorman valet and housekeepers were very helpful, professional and extremely polite. The bellman actually showed us everything in and about the room. We had requested a fridge and cot and everything was in order and the fridge was cold. On top of that our favorite hockey team was staying there and we saw them in the lobby. The tunnel to the Xcel energy Center is an added bonus. If you like staying at a classy clean place this is the one for you. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! I hope the "right" team won the hockey game!

Looking forward to having you as a guest again in the future.

David Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I am a frequent guest at the St Paul Hotel, and cannot say enough good things about it. It is the nicest hotel in St Paul, and the grandest hotel in the entire Minneapolis/St Paul area. The rooms are nicely appointed, the bathroom are large enough and always clean, and the beds are very nice. The service is second to none, and you will see the same staff people there, stay after stay.

Besides being a wonderful place to stay, the hotel is also the home to the St Paul Grille, which is one of the top three restaurants in the Minneapolis/St Paul metro area. It is THE gathering place in St Paul.

No more to say - if you want the best in St Paul, stay at the SPH.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a corner suite overlooking Rice Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you, Lyle! We appreciate the kind words.

Hope to see you soon!

David Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The room was very clean and bathroom spotless (LOVE that!). We were able to check in early (2:30). Upon checkout, we decided to have lunch. We asked the bellman to hold our bags, very gracious and accomodating. Can not say a negative thing regarding the service or hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is the place my husband and I go for the most special of occasions, and my mother-in-law loves the place, so (special or not) we always make a reservation when she is in town. This holiday season we took her there for yet another memorable evening of exceptional service, wonderful food, and yummy drinks. Pricey? Yes. And, more than we typically spend on date night. But it is an experience worth waiting for, and an experience worth savoring. Thankfully, the staff allows for that which makes dinner here a real event.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 22nd anniversary. We chose the Saint Paul Hotel because we had stayed there to celebrate our 15th anniversary. Upon making our reservations I requested a top floor room overlooking either Rice Park or the Landmark center. Upon arrival we were greeted by the door man who valet parked our vehicle. We were greeted warmly by the hotel staff upon check in. I asked if where our room was located and was advised that we were on the top floor overlooking Rice Park.

We entered our room and found everything in order. The room was nicely decorated and had an upscale feel. A fully stocked mini bar, plenty of room, and a well appointed bathroom were all appreciated by us both. After we dropped off our luggage we made our way back to the lobby. Tea time was occurring upon our arrival with light jazz to follow.

After dinner at Kincaids we returned to our room and relaxed. It was easy with complementary wifi, a healthy movie selection, and a view of Rice Park glowing with holiday lights and the Mississippi river just to the South. In the morning we ordered room service and it was delivered at our desired time. The food was warm, fresh and plentiful. We were sad to leave but extremely glad that we came back to celebrate our anniversary.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic get away...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks Rice Park or the Landmark Center. This will give you a West facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback Rich!

Happy Anniversary!

David Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hibbing, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Love this hotel when travelling to the Twin Cities. Go out of my way in fact as usually need to be in Minnesota, not St. Paul, but its such a lovely hotel with top notch service and oh so friendly. Great restaurants, modern furnishings, traditional elegance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you, Mike! We look forward to your next visit!

Stay warm.

David Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Paul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.