We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will love to stay at the Saint Paul Hotel for special occasions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Saint Paul Hotel to your Saves list
The Saint Paul Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
GreenLeadersGold level
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
“Will love to stay at the Saint Paul Hotel for special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

The Saint Paul Hotel is our favorite destination for a night away. We live in Maple Grove, just a 40 minute drive, and always pick this hotel for special getaways...anniversary, Valentine's Day, and other occasions. The rooms are beautiful, as well as the views. The staff could not not be more efficient and kind. The ambience of the entire hotel is warm and elegant. We love the location as it is easy to walk to a variety of restaurants, a brewery , wine bar, and several museums. The Excel is only a short distance as well. Rice Park is georgeous year round. Location is perfect... Winter Carnival, St. Patrick's Day parade, or a beautiful summer afternoon spent at the market. We would highly recommend this hotel to travelers from afar, or to anyone in the twin cities looking for a memorable and amazing night away!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    112
    36
    17
    9
See reviews for
65
151
31
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

A superb hotel in every respect. Comfortable beds, a nice working desk with a good chair, a nice comfy chair from which to watch TV (in too many hotel rooms, you can really only watch TV from the bed). $10 to go to a nearby YMCA with great fitness classes. (The hotel also has its own fitness facilities, which are fine.) The room service was excellent. Probably the best hotel food I've ever had. Highly recommend the chocolate caramel turtle tart. The Sunday brunch buffet at the basement cafe was terrific. Good service all around.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location in downtown st. paul. Its right next to xcel energy center, river centre, the ordway theatre and many good restaurants. I stayed here with my spouse and it was nice and quiet. However its not family / kids friendly... better leave this hotel for singles or couples only. If you brought children here they would be bored fast. But still a good stay overall. I've been here before, beautiful in summer months with the garden.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel is elegant, the rooms are attractively appointed, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I wish every hotel I ever stayed in lived up to the standards of the Saint Paul Hotel. The Fitness Center is on the top floor with terrific views and offers more cardio machines than one typically finds in a hotel. The concierge went out of her way on many occasions to help us and was always gracious and patient. Although the hotel charges for in-room Internet service, its Business Center (conveniently located off of the lobby) has three computers that guests can use free of charge, 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I love the St. Paul Hotel. I have NEVER had a bad time. From check in with the valet to check out with the valet!

We have been there many times. A very close proximity to any events and food in St. Paul. The Xcel. Heimies Haberdashery for a shave. Kinkaids. Pazzaluna. The Ordway.

Check in? No Problem! The room? (1022 on Friday) Great! We love the Lobby Bar! Great piano and bass! The St. Paul Grill is GREAT!!!!

The problem? Nothing that the St. Paul can correct... put the STENCH of the previous cigarette smokers was overwhelming for me. This is NOT something that the St. Paul can control, but upon hearing another couples issues getting a different suite due to the smells in their room upon check in, we decided to throw a little forbearance out there. A sideways took saw the Landmark. I loved the room. We were pleased as usual. 4th time in a few years. We will be back next year. A busy weekend (Valentines) this year.GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!

We love the St. Paul. See you next year! It is an old but classic hotel. We'll get over it. We won't be going to Minneapolis. But... PEE YOOO! My masseuse in Minnetonka smelled it off of my clothes that were in the closet. Mrs. L. if you care, St. Paul Hotel....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

This is a lovely hotel in the centre of St Paul with a hundred odd years of history, and a fantastic service and quality ethic. Staff are fantastic, food is excellent, and the whole set-up including the valet parking is very civilised. There are a couple of dining options in the hotel itself, and restaurants from the upmarket Italian Pazzaluna to an excellent casual Japanese called Sakura within a 2 minute walk.
Just a slight note for solo business travellers is that the hotel is quite a contrast to the informality of some of the more suburban business hotels. For example, I have to say I wouldn't have felt comfortable nipping downstairs for a beer and a bite to eat in a pair of jeans. There's a certain style to this hotel, which is great, but quite different as an experience to say the Sheraton/ Holiday Inn.
One negative comment - there was no wireless coverage in the room I stayed in (812) and although there was a wired ethernet connection which I could use with my PC, I had to use 3G to get a signal on my iPad.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My stay was Jan 24th through Feb 3rd. This is a beautiful hotel, especially considering the age. Unfortunately there is nothing else that separates it from any other hotel. In fact in many of the service areas it fell short for me. It does have a nice location overlooking the park. The fitness center on the 12th floor is more than adequate and was one of the places I did enjoy going to. It has ample equipment and a good view. Some of the cons for me were as follows. The staff was very unengaged. I would pass by staff in the lobby several times a day and it was as if I were invisible. Being from out of town some friendly hellos would have been nice. I will say the housekeeper was about the most friendly staff member I met during my stay. I found the internet to be very slow, almost useless at times. The heater didn’t seem to be a problem for me as some of the other reviewers have noted. The room seemed to hold the temperature well. For eating purposes on the weekend, good luck. The area is built for business. I do highly recommend the The St Paul Grill in the hotel. And Mickey's diner cart two blocks away is open 24 hours and well worth the wait.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Paul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.