We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
chippewa falls, wisconsin, United States
1 review
“wedding weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

even though the hotel was under construction we had a very nice room.. Front desk was very accommodating and got us into adjoining rooms. The only observation I had was when we went to breakfast on the 2nd floor the only way to get back on the elevator was with a room key which was not explained anywhere on the advertisements in elevator or brochures. Luckily we had one on us, but other guests did not and was thankful that we were able to get an elevator for them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi David
Yes, we lock off the elevators for key use only to give our guest added privacy. I will meet with the front desk team to make sure they mention this added security option when our guest arrive.
Thank you for your feedback.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    120
    81
    47
    14
See reviews for
81
69
12
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My visit here was quick, but I experience both pro's and cons. CONS: I stayed at this location as it was located right across the street from a conference I was attending. I was surprised to find that there was no valet/bellman available (I arrived around 5pm). Though I was on business, I was traveling with heavy items and no assistance was offered. During check-in, the front desk staff were pleasant, but did not make an effort to make me feel at home. I had dropped many hints that I was from out of town - business travel, 1st time here, long flight, hungry. I was fishing to see if they would indulge me and tell me where to eat, or things to do. But nothing. Crickets! The coffee pot in my room was broken as was the TV. The final Con to this review is that I always seem to ride the elevator with a homeless person. One homeless lady started screaming sexual obscenities at me. Needless to say, I only left my room when I had to. PROS: -The bed was very comfortable - and I slept really well despite being scared that a homeless person was going to break in! -Connected to sky ways and easy to get to/from different buildings. -The coffee pot that was broken was quickly replaced after a phone call. - I got a cookie at check in. Didn't cure my hunger, but it helped.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Allison
Thank you for your comments. I will meet with my front office team and discuss your check-in process and how we could have made it more welcoming. I was glad to hear everything else was to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

There is a great skywalk attached to the hotel with tons of places to eat etc. However none of these are open on the weekend! This isn't the hotel's fault of course but very frustrating. They also don't offer any help ordering from somewhere other than the hotel dining which is very expensive,especially for a family. The pool is quite small, no hot tub and was closed due to a scheduled power outage on the first three floors.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Debra
We are sorry for the inconvenience that the pool was closed during your visit. We had to reroute some electrical wires that day due to our construction project. The New lobby is now open !
Also, the new restaurant will be open in just a few weeks.
We were happy to hear everything else was to your satisfaction.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great location. Good rooms. Good food. Good value. Only detraction was the remodeling of the lobby. Other than that, the stay was good. Courteous staff at the desk and very helpful. Shuttle service within the city is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Merle
We opened our brand new lobby yesterday May 28th. We hope to see you again soon. Enjoy your summer.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed at a different Hilton brand property in St. Paul last fall, and was very unhappy so I decided to give this one a try. It was MUCH nicer than my last experience in St. Paul. This hotel is currently going through a remodel in the lobby, which was no problem and I think it is going to look very nice once completed. My room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. I did have one of the corner rooms near the elevators, and I think that may have given some extra space. The hotel was in a good location, and also offered shuttle services around the area, which was a great perk. I only had a couple of minor issues that kept this stay from being perfect. I am a Hilton Diamond member and was not recognized as such at all. Typically when I check into any Hilton property, I am thanked for my membership and also offered some perks. They are typically small things like even a bottle of water, but nothing here. Also, I received a breakfast voucher (which I think is a perk of being a diamond member, but was not mentioned when I was handed my key with the enclosed voucher), but it was only for continental breakfast. You were required to pay an additional $3 surcharge if you wanted any of the hot food at the buffet. I have stayed at other Doubletrees where the hot breakfast included made-to-order omelets, pancakes, etc., but not here. It was your standard Hilton precooked eggs and bacon that you would be served for free at a Hampton Inn. I just felt like charging a diamond member $3 for the hot portion of this breakfast was really nickel-and-diming it. It certainly did not make me feel like a valued member of the Hilton network. And my final concern was with the parking charge on my receipt. Parking at the hotel lot is $15 for anyone who wants to pull in there for the night. If you are staying at the hotel, they give you a parking card that allows you in-and-out access and puts the $15 on your room. Great! However, when you check out you will be charged hotel taxes on that $15, where if you just pay it as you leave you certainly would not be charged extra in taxes. It was only a couple of bucks, but it is the principle of the thing. The hotel should not be charging hotel taxes on the parking fee. I guess if you were going in and out of the lot (which we did not - we never moved our car), it may be nice to go through the hotel and get the card, but if you are just parking for the night, pay it yourself and avoid this extra charge. All said, I certainly would not downplay this hotel over a few dollars here and there. I liked the room, the overall setting, and the location. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for giving us another chance. We were pleased to hear that you had a much better experience. I will meet with my front office manager to reiterate the importance of our brand promise and recognition to you our loyal customers. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I would hesitate to recommend this hotel. Front Desk Manager is supreme at his job. Need more like him. Housekeeping needs major upgrade in training. Until renovation is complete and the rooms décor is updated would stay away. Most of the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We would be very interested in receiving more feedback on the housekeeping services provided. In the meantime I will certainly pass on your wonderful comments concerning our front office manager.

Thank you!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel was renovating the lobby and really worked to operate in the smaller space. They went above and beyond to fix a problem that was not their fault with a taxi company. Very friendly and everyone on the staff was sure to tell us how great things would be with the new lobby and entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to serving you again.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.