We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good on a weekend or for kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saint Paul Saints
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Duluth, United States
1 review
“not good on a weekend or for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

There is a great skywalk attached to the hotel with tons of places to eat etc. However none of these are open on the weekend! This isn't the hotel's fault of course but very frustrating. They also don't offer any help ordering from somewhere other than the hotel dining which is very expensive,especially for a family. The pool is quite small, no hot tub and was closed due to a scheduled power outage on the first three floors.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Debra
We are sorry for the inconvenience that the pool was closed during your visit. We had to reroute some electrical wires that day due to our construction project. The New lobby is now open !
Also, the new restaurant will be open in just a few weeks.
We were happy to hear everything else was to your satisfaction.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    154
    97
    52
    16
See reviews for
108
86
13
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, GA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great location. Good rooms. Good food. Good value. Only detraction was the remodeling of the lobby. Other than that, the stay was good. Courteous staff at the desk and very helpful. Shuttle service within the city is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Merle
We opened our brand new lobby yesterday May 28th. We hope to see you again soon. Enjoy your summer.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed at a different Hilton brand property in St. Paul last fall, and was very unhappy so I decided to give this one a try. It was MUCH nicer than my last experience in St. Paul. This hotel is currently going through a remodel in the lobby, which was no problem and I think it is going to look very nice once completed. My room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. I did have one of the corner rooms near the elevators, and I think that may have given some extra space. The hotel was in a good location, and also offered shuttle services around the area, which was a great perk. I only had a couple of minor issues that kept this stay from being perfect. I am a Hilton Diamond member and was not recognized as such at all. Typically when I check into any Hilton property, I am thanked for my membership and also offered some perks. They are typically small things like even a bottle of water, but nothing here. Also, I received a breakfast voucher (which I think is a perk of being a diamond member, but was not mentioned when I was handed my key with the enclosed voucher), but it was only for continental breakfast. You were required to pay an additional $3 surcharge if you wanted any of the hot food at the buffet. I have stayed at other Doubletrees where the hot breakfast included made-to-order omelets, pancakes, etc., but not here. It was your standard Hilton precooked eggs and bacon that you would be served for free at a Hampton Inn. I just felt like charging a diamond member $3 for the hot portion of this breakfast was really nickel-and-diming it. It certainly did not make me feel like a valued member of the Hilton network. And my final concern was with the parking charge on my receipt. Parking at the hotel lot is $15 for anyone who wants to pull in there for the night. If you are staying at the hotel, they give you a parking card that allows you in-and-out access and puts the $15 on your room. Great! However, when you check out you will be charged hotel taxes on that $15, where if you just pay it as you leave you certainly would not be charged extra in taxes. It was only a couple of bucks, but it is the principle of the thing. The hotel should not be charging hotel taxes on the parking fee. I guess if you were going in and out of the lot (which we did not - we never moved our car), it may be nice to go through the hotel and get the card, but if you are just parking for the night, pay it yourself and avoid this extra charge. All said, I certainly would not downplay this hotel over a few dollars here and there. I liked the room, the overall setting, and the location. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for giving us another chance. We were pleased to hear that you had a much better experience. I will meet with my front office manager to reiterate the importance of our brand promise and recognition to you our loyal customers. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I would hesitate to recommend this hotel. Front Desk Manager is supreme at his job. Need more like him. Housekeeping needs major upgrade in training. Until renovation is complete and the rooms décor is updated would stay away. Most of the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We would be very interested in receiving more feedback on the housekeeping services provided. In the meantime I will certainly pass on your wonderful comments concerning our front office manager.

Thank you!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel was renovating the lobby and really worked to operate in the smaller space. They went above and beyond to fix a problem that was not their fault with a taxi company. Very friendly and everyone on the staff was sure to tell us how great things would be with the new lobby and entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to serving you again.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Despite the lobby being renovated this is one of the best Hilton Hotels I have stayed at. The staff made sure I had everything and if I needed anything they were responsive and friendly. Garage is confusing and get crowded during business hours but other than that I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. Food was good, staff was amazing and the rooms were perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We do have an amazing staff! Thank you for your great comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our son's wedding - we had a fantastic suite with connecting rooms for our son and daughter and their children. The service was excellent, the employees are very caring and attentive and the price was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you Susan for the kind comments. We were glad to help make this day extra special for you and the wedding party.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.