We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and Dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saint Paul Saints
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
St Paul, MN, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hot and Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Room was very dirty, appeared to be dried blood on the bathroom door frame and shower curtain. The room was warm and humid. Ended up turning the temperature controls off completely and opening a window. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Corey
Once I received your comments I immediately met with the Executive Housekeeper to fix the problem. We do apologize.
Renovations will be completed soon. We have renovated the lobby and added a great restaurant adjacent to the lobby.
Thank you for the nice comments about the staff.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    155
    98
    52
    17
See reviews for
109
87
13
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Nice hotel, but not worth the price compared to others in the Minneapols/St. Paul area. I thought the wedding block of rooms was at a better rate but guess I should have booked on my own as I found others paying much less.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hi Rita
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel. As our rates do fluctuate with demand, we hope you will consider us again when traveling to the Twin Cities.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I just finished a one-night stay here. We specifically chose this place because of it's proximity to the Xcel Center - allegedly it's "connected by Skywalk." We assumed that meant it was near the Xcel Center. In fact, it's a .7 mile walk above ground and a bit longer through the maze that is Skywalk. We were able to make the walk, but it certainly wasn't located where we thought it would be. With that said, we could have checked that on mapquest, so that's a bit our fault.

The staff was nice enough, but the place just feels rundown. The shower was missing a shower curtain (just had the fabric one), so I ended up with a swimming pool on the tile floor. It took all but two of the towels (including hand towels) to sop up the mess. I tried the workout facility and the two treadmills didn't work (but the two elliptical machines did). The workout room is awkwardly placed - there's clear glass that overlooks the conference area so as people in suits are moving between their rooms, they can see you on the machines. I used the "lift for assistance" phone to try to ask about the treadmills, but no one answered.

The beds are comfortable, and the internet was included --so those are big benefits. I ordered room service for breakfast and maybe I'm just cheap but $18 before tip was a lot for a small pot of coffee, a fruit cup, and cheerios.

The bath products also smelled good, so that was nice.

We had a drink in the hotel bar last night. It was a sad affair that felt like it was torn out of 1985.

The hotel is in the midst of renovations, so hopefully that'll turn its course. For those wondering, the renovations did not disturb our stay in any way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I have addressed the issues about the treadmill phone and shower curtain with my team. It is now fixed. Thank you for the kind comments about the team.
We hope to see you again soon.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

nice hotel but alittle on the high side for quality of room. The hotel staff was very helpful and the restaurant help staff was excellent. The breakfast was very good and plenty to choose from. Located close to the excel center and the capital.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Randy
Thank you for the nice comments. Around June 1st we will be opening our new restaurant called the Rivalhouse. We are also redoing the entire lobby. We hope that you will stop by again and see us.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I'd stay here again. The only downside is that it's in the financial district of St. Paul, which means on the weekends, the area is pretty quiet (Starbucks is closed). You can walk either way about 10 minutes to some restaurants, but don't expect to be in the heart of the "happening" part of St. Paul. Come to think of it, that part may not have any hotels. Also, for the price, the hotel could offer free coffee in the lobby in the morning, especially since there's nothing close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Lynn
Yes, the downtown area is definitely more quieter than on weekdays. We have information at the front desk to give you ideas for possible site seeing opportunities. As we do not offer coffee in the lobby, there is complimentary coffee in all the guest rooms and coffee is available in the Town Grill restaurant located on the 2nd floor.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The air mattress reminded me of a Hilton Garden Inn not a Double Tree. Regardless the mattress did not work and I was not able to change the firmness of the mattress. My entire stay resulted in back pain which I never get from sleeping. I would not recommend this Hotel until the mattresses are upgrade to new.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello
We are sorry you did not have a restful night sleep. At this time there are no plans to replace the mattresses as they are fairly new to begin with. They are regular mattresses, not air an mattresses. Doubletree requires us to maintain mattress quality and are known for their sweet dreams mattress. Unfortunately, it was not to your satisfaction.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

quality and cleanliness were fantastic! Staff was great! Convenience for our activity was great! If we have an Honors card, we would like to know as we can't find our card so that the points were were to receive from this stay would be added to that card. Please have someone call me regarding this at 507-206-0879.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Pamela
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We do have a fantastic staff!
We will be following up with you to award the HHonors points to your account.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.