We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter's wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
black river falls, WI, United States
1 review
“Daughter's wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Thought it was a very nice hotel- everything very close by which made dining and parking very convienent. Parking however is $15, which is the going rate for the area- Thought the warm chocolate chip cookie was a nice touch :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for the great review John! Always know you can have as many of those warm chocolate chip cookies as you want. Come visit us again soon!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    136
    88
    48
    14
See reviews for
98
72
12
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Everything was very nice. I was not expecting the lobby to look so lovely. My friends even had some of their wedding pictures done there. The rooms were very nice, comfortable beds! The atmosphere was great

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Melony
Thank you for the nice comments on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and were even able to take some great pictures!
Stop by and see us again soon.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My BFF and I stayed here last weekend. Nice hotel upon entering, appeared clean. We were greeted by such nice and friendly hotel clerks. And on top of it nice warm cookies that were yummy!! The room was clean, updated, with nice amenities. It was -20 the night we stayed, our room stayed nice and warm. Service excellent, all staff from clerks to bartender were very pleasant and "Minnesota Nice". I would stay here again hands down.

Room Tip: Away from elevator, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Warm cookies, warm staff and a warm and cozy room on a cold night. Glad we had the opportunity to serve you and show you our WARM hospitality!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We will not stay here again. The price was too high, the room was too hot, we could easily hear guests in the hallway and no hot tub. I know they did not have it advertised that they had a hot tub but many hotels that have a pool also have a hot tub and we assumed since there was no Jacuzzi suits at this hotel there must at least be a hot tub in the pool area to relax in. We were very disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a great experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the hallway noise. Your comments have helped us to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Brian Schmechel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Checked in for our 33rd anniversary. The Hotel was beautiful. The room was fabulous. The staff absolutely wonderful. Restaurant and entertainment suggestions were top notch. We could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We hope to see you again on your 34th anniversary!

Brian Schmechel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The rooms are in good condition with comfortable beds. The staff is courteous. The only thing that I could recommend is providing hotel guests with a discounted parking rate. Currently, it is a $15 dollar charge to park overnight in the adjacent ramp. This is the same price for guests and others in the area. A slight discount would be nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Timothy
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Brian Schmechel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Pulled up to the hotel and found out there was no valet parking. Guy at the counter was rude and extremely unhelpful. He had attitude when I asked if we could get a rollaway bed for the kids.

Room was freezing when we got here. We turned up the heat and went to dinner but when we got back it was still cold.

I took a shower before bed and there was no hot water. I called the front desk and they wanted to send up an engineer but we were ready for bed. They claimed that sometimes the water is cold....REALLY!

Sad excuse for a Hilton. We are here for a wedding and will not be back.

From the sounds of the managers responses to past reviews he is part of the problem and not the solution. Too bad!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Katie
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying at our hotel. We regret that you had anything less than a stellar stay. I have addressed the issues you mentioned and hope the next time you're in the area you would consider staying with us again. I will be contacting you to discuss your visit in more detail.
Again, our apologies

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.