We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Saint Paul
Duluth, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The rooms are in good condition with comfortable beds. The staff is courteous. The only thing that I could recommend is providing hotel guests with a discounted parking rate. Currently, it is a $15 dollar charge to park overnight in the adjacent ramp. This is the same price for guests and others in the area. A slight discount would be nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Timothy
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Brian Schmechel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    97
    66
    34
    11
See reviews for
64
58
7
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Pulled up to the hotel and found out there was no valet parking. Guy at the counter was rude and extremely unhelpful. He had attitude when I asked if we could get a rollaway bed for the kids.

Room was freezing when we got here. We turned up the heat and went to dinner but when we got back it was still cold.

I took a shower before bed and there was no hot water. I called the front desk and they wanted to send up an engineer but we were ready for bed. They claimed that sometimes the water is cold....REALLY!

Sad excuse for a Hilton. We are here for a wedding and will not be back.

From the sounds of the managers responses to past reviews he is part of the problem and not the solution. Too bad!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Katie
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying at our hotel. We regret that you had anything less than a stellar stay. I have addressed the issues you mentioned and hope the next time you're in the area you would consider staying with us again. I will be contacting you to discuss your visit in more detail.
Again, our apologies

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great hotel, clean rooms, great service, warm pool, close to skyway and great food options. The staff let me check it in early and gave me great directions via the skyway. Easy parking, I felt very safe traveling alone and walking around the hotel. The parking ramp is secure and I felt safe parking there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRING VALLEY, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

clean hotel professional housekeeping staff and front desk super cool .Hotel well located / rooms are little smaller comapred to the same name hotel down town minneapolis if you have a family trip better place to stay and downtown @ night very safe and walkable via skyway

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

my experience with other double trees has been excellent. This time not soo much.

upon my late arrival (flight issues) I had to get in and out of the hotel several times. there is no easy marking telling you where to park. after checking in I had to go back out again. do a u-turn and go to underground parking that belongs to small shopping mall. which of course I got a nice sticker in the garage on my windshield that took a lot of work to remove. don't expect to park a full size vehicle in this garage as the parking spots are made for a Prius sized vehicle. so small you should expect some door damage from other cars.

once in the elevator a nice homeless person somehow found his way past security and trapped himself in the elevator alone with me. a nice enough guy until he started begging me for money and getting louder and louder. I put my luggage between us and prayed for my floor al the while telling him that I had no cash money as I'm from canada and just got in the us.

Breakfast meals were sketchy at best. love paying $16 for a toast and scrambled egg.

I am a hilton honors member but I won't be returning to this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jason
We want to take this opportunity to address your recent visit with us.
It was unfortunate to hear that you had parking challenges. There is a large parking sign out in front of the building. Sorry you missed it. We are glad to hear though that the small U-turn got to where you wanted to go. We do not own the parking garage and there are many additional parking garages close by to choose from.
The breakfast we offer is $13.95. With tax and tip it would end up being about $16. However, it is a breakfast buffet with many items for our guests to enjoy.
Lastly, being located downtown, there are times when you will see a homeless person. Our security staff works very hard to monitor the entrances.
We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Few things to know. I am a gold member and they upgraded me to a king deluxe corner room. When I checked in the person checking me in said that it was a larger room. I was not impressed at all. If I wasn't running late for a prior engagement when I was checking in, I would have request a different room.The corner room was tight and not any bigger than a standard room. I ended up on the south east corner. When I was leaving the next day, the cleaning person was cleaning the northwest corner room and that one was much larger. SO if you go there, request the northwest corner room. . .it has more windows too. The southwest corner room only has one small window and its off to the side.
I kind of lucked out. I booked the weekend getaway which included parking and breakfast. I don't usually pay attention to this because I choose the free breakfast as a gold member so I get free breakfast whenever I travel. But when I went to breakfast the waiter told me that the free breakfast is only continental. The waiter was nice enough not to charge me because I wasn't told but imagine how embarrassed I was when I started eating the hot items on the buffet when I shouldn't have. I thanked the waiter and checked with the front desk. As a gold member, that is true I only get a continental breakfast BUT because of the package I booked, I got the full breakfast and was given the right ticket. Waiter just didn't know the difference in the tickets apparently.
I personally would not pay the amount they are charging for the breakfast. It was expensive for what was offered. After seeing the prices, I wasn't surprised that the place was pretty dead in the morning.
Service from staff was EXCEPTIONAL. Every interaction was great. I was charged for parking when I wasn't supposed to be but front desk corrected it right away.
I did not get a chance to see the pool so cant rate that.
Overall, rooms are ok. I personally think the hotel needs an update and get some larger suites. Staff was great, location good. But I probably would only stay here again if there was a special rate as I wasn't impressed with the hotel itself. But I admit, my tastes might be higher than most. Which to be honest, is the result of staying 30+ nights a year in hotels.

Room Tip: If you request a corner, request the northwest corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Adam
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry about issuing you the wrong breakfast coupon. I was glad to hear the staff took good care of you regardless of the coupon you presented. Hope to see you again soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The DoubleTree in downtown St. Paul is a great hotel, with an excellent location downtown. It is very walkable to local businesses and restaurants and has perfect accommodations for business travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.