We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rather sorry Doubletree” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“rather sorry Doubletree”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I travel often. Generally because of our corporate policy I use Hilton properties and they are generally fine. In fact the two nights before checking in here I stayed at the Doubletree at 1500 Park Place in Minneapolis and had a very pleasant experience. Here, not so much. We arrived to the 16th floor (Hilton Honors floor) and the odour of solvent was strong, and equally as bad in our room. We asked for another floor, also an Honors floor, and it was even worse. The engineer came up and said they had just resealed the tubs on many floors and they could move us if needed. Having already tried two floors we just asked for a floor fan and opened our window (fortunately the windows do open) and the odor cleared mostly by the next day.

The odd thing is that the tub, which was supposedly resealed looked awful; missing caulk and black mold in many spots where the tub met the walls. Additionally the drain in the sink was partly pulled through the ceramic of the sink. I was surprised it was not leaking. And the room just plain looked grungy. The fitted sheet didn't fully cover the mattress. The wall a/c allowed for temperature control but no fan control. Although we asked for 68 for sleeping at night it did not seem to really cool and only would get us down to 69.

The Town Grill restaurant was equally as tired looking. The fabric on the chairs was well worn. They should have been replaced a couple of years ago.

On the upside the location was good and the staff friendly, but if this was my first Doubletree experience it would be my last.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to comment on Trip Advisor. Comments from our guests help us to ensure the quality and comfort of our guests. I would like to apologize for your recent stay with us.
Yes, we are in the process of resealing all of our bathroom tubs. Your floor was not yet attended to but will be soon and the project will be fully completed shortly. In addition, we are addressing the fabric on the chairs with new furniture arriving soon. Also, we are developing an entirely new restaurant located on lobby level. This will give our guest two options for dining.
Thank you for your comments about the staff. They are very attentive and CARE for all our guests.
We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    122
    81
    47
    14
See reviews for
82
69
12
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dakota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

In town for a wedding, we got lucky and were able to check in an hour early so that we could relax a bit before the event. Adjoining rooms with family so that we could visit and catch up. The rooms were cozy, beds slept wonderful and overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We work very hard to ensure all our guests are completely satisfied and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon and thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent room and location. Cleanliness in room way better than average. Before I retired, I had a job that required 100 to 120 nights on the road each year. This hotel would rate among the best. The value received for a very competitive rate was outstanding. Location provided easy walking distance to many stores and restaurants. It will be the only hotel I stay in when I travel to St Paul.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments! And the best as you stated is going to get better! A NEW bedding package arrives mid August and a new restaurant will open in February. It’s going to be the talk of the twin cities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brown deer, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

wonderful will come back family had a great time, hotel employees were very helpful and nice. I would recommend this hotel to everyone that visit St.Paul Mn. rooms, hall,parking, location was great. easy way around town, love connected to sky-walk

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anytown USA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I mostly stay in the Hilton Brand hotels, and DoubleTree is my preferred choice. I have been disappointed however with the added WIFI fee of $9.99 per day, with my past two stays. I don’t know if this is a new policy, but it may change my preferred hotel choice. This DoubleTree would be good for the price paid had I not been clipped for the extra 15 for parking, and 10 for internet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. In regards to the added WIFI fee of $9.99, we have recently increased our band width and now offer a premium service. We also continue to offer a basic service complimentary. Guests now have a choice when logging on.
We do not own our own parking structure, there is one conveniently attached to the hotel. As with ALL other hotels located downtown, parking charges do occur. We are pleased to say we have negotiated parking rates competitively or less than other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It's a Hotel in downtown St. Paul that looks like it's on it last leg. The staff didn’t really seem to be enjoying themselves at all, nice enough but just doing a job. Went to the bar after a dinner out and two people were sitting at the bar when we arrived, the bartender said he was going to close not enough business to stay open. We had our drinks and left. Good Luck! The End!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the DoubleTree in downtown St. Paul and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were great and the room the best in St. Paul. The warm cookie and bottle of water at check-in were a nice treat. I look forward to staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.