We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to rest & relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Saint Paul
Dakota, United States
1 review
“A place to rest & relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

In town for a wedding, we got lucky and were able to check in an hour early so that we could relax a bit before the event. Adjoining rooms with family so that we could visit and catch up. The rooms were cozy, beds slept wonderful and overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We work very hard to ensure all our guests are completely satisfied and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon and thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    78
    52
    24
    9
See reviews for
47
46
7
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent room and location. Cleanliness in room way better than average. Before I retired, I had a job that required 100 to 120 nights on the road each year. This hotel would rate among the best. The value received for a very competitive rate was outstanding. Location provided easy walking distance to many stores and restaurants. It will be the only hotel I stay in when I travel to St Paul.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments! And the best as you stated is going to get better! A NEW bedding package arrives mid August and a new restaurant will open in February. It’s going to be the talk of the twin cities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brown deer, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

wonderful will come back family had a great time, hotel employees were very helpful and nice. I would recommend this hotel to everyone that visit St.Paul Mn. rooms, hall,parking, location was great. easy way around town, love connected to sky-walk

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anytown USA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I mostly stay in the Hilton Brand hotels, and DoubleTree is my preferred choice. I have been disappointed however with the added WIFI fee of $9.99 per day, with my past two stays. I don’t know if this is a new policy, but it may change my preferred hotel choice. This DoubleTree would be good for the price paid had I not been clipped for the extra 15 for parking, and 10 for internet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. In regards to the added WIFI fee of $9.99, we have recently increased our band width and now offer a premium service. We also continue to offer a basic service complimentary. Guests now have a choice when logging on.
We do not own our own parking structure, there is one conveniently attached to the hotel. As with ALL other hotels located downtown, parking charges do occur. We are pleased to say we have negotiated parking rates competitively or less than other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It's a Hotel in downtown St. Paul that looks like it's on it last leg. The staff didn’t really seem to be enjoying themselves at all, nice enough but just doing a job. Went to the bar after a dinner out and two people were sitting at the bar when we arrived, the bartender said he was going to close not enough business to stay open. We had our drinks and left. Good Luck! The End!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the DoubleTree in downtown St. Paul and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were great and the room the best in St. Paul. The warm cookie and bottle of water at check-in were a nice treat. I look forward to staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champaign, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

the room overall was very small, very little ventilation in the bathroom. the thermostat wasn't working and the temp had to be turned down to 65 in order to get the humidity out of the room! there are so many other places to stay in the area we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. We will take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton
Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.