We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
champaign, United States
1 review
“sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

the room overall was very small, very little ventilation in the bathroom. the thermostat wasn't working and the temp had to be turned down to 65 in order to get the humidity out of the room! there are so many other places to stay in the area we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. We will take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    137
    88
    48
    14
See reviews for
98
73
12
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The beds were comfortable, but they only offer 2 doubles and not queens. A double for 2 adults to sleep in together is tight (and I'm a small person). We each slept with a child to be more comfortable. Slept great! Bathroom was very small. Appreciated the mini fridge we had. We visited over 4th of July and second night for a wedding. Location was just 3 blocks from the riverwalk where we watched fireworks. It was my first time in downtown St. Paul, but I thought location was great! They advertise warm cookies when you arrive, but never saw or was offered any. No a big deal, but they shouldn't advertise it if they're not going to do it. Warm breakfast was good for a hotel, though pastries were mediocre. Front desk staff was always friendly. Just some minor issues, but all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Decent hotel. Desk staff efficient and pleasant. Wish there was more attractions within safe walking distance. Did offer free adjacent parking on the weekend. Breakfast mediocre: luke warm entrees, low quality, expired milk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We regret to hear that you dining experiences did not meet your expectations on your recent stay. The Doubletree brand has very high standards in the area of Food and Beverage and the products we offer our guests.
We try to make each guest experience at our hotel a great one and your satisfaction is very important to us. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention so we can improve upon them immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I travel to ST. Paul for business often and enjoy the Doubletree. You are a short walk from great food and entertainment. I have never had any problems over the past 50 stays. The front staff enjoy what they do and shine through to the customer. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

In St. Paul for the Jazz Fest and a Twins game. We've stayed here a few times before and keep coming back because it is clean, easy parking (but not free) and they have rooms we like for a reasonable price. After we park, we rarely drive. Taking the bus to Target Field is easy and faster. It's a 25 minute bus ride, no driving in game-time traffic and the bus stops are right outside the hotel and inside the Target Field transit center. Being downtown means we can easily walk to many of the St. Paul event locations, parks, dozens of restaurants and museums. It's on the skywalk for indoor walking in bad weather or cold winter days. I find Hilton properties to be consistantly excellent and choose them whenever I can.

Room Tip: Sign up for HiltonHonors - reservations are easy, checkin is fast and points add up for free nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were in the area for a week with the family and a large group of other families. The stay was pleasant, but not great. The staff for the most part were very helpful. Rooms were damp most of the time and the double beds were not too comfortable, but acceptable. The hotel common areas were kept fairly clean, not disgusting, but they didn't clean up the pool area very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, Ca.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were a very large wedding party in from all over the states. My Sons wedding was on June 15 and we were all in town for four days to celebrate. From first reservations until checkout, the staff and management were very friendly and accommodating to our every need. From the first warm chocolate chip cookie to assistance finding a limousine service, best local pizza and sincere patience dealing with such a large group we felt welcome. Thanks also to your great bartenders! We made the most of each of our days in town preparing for the big event and were happy to end them partying on the second floor.
A special thank you to Brian the manager for handing my Son and his brides special room! They were extremely happy and thankful for your kind efforts.
This hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to several casual to fine dining restaurants. Many of our party did not have cars, so that was a plus. The daily breakfast is very good. Several choices at the buffet and the wait staff is very prompt to offer juice and coffee. Rooms are good size, very clean, and the bed was comfortable. Nice desk and sitting area for extra space and comfort is nice as we had guests "room hopping". Ask for a higher floor for a better city view. Overall, we were very pleased and would recommend this property to others.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor. Rooms at the end of hallways are quiet and close to ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.