We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first stay in a post-Hilton Doubletree--disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My first stay in a post-Hilton Doubletree--disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was expecting more. I avoided Doubletrees for business travel but reconsidered for this trip to see if the Hilton touch could raise the bar--it hasn't. This is not a bad property, it could just be a lot better. The hallways are dark and need a décor upgrade. The rooms are adequate. Not luxurious, not Spartan, just adequate and unremarkable. The gym is well sized but has only two treadmills and two climbers and a bike--simply not enough. The dining room is likewise dark and dreary with food that fits in the "meh" category. The coffee was really lousy and I will visit the Caribou Coffee just outside the dining room.

Not terrible, but not really good. For a business traveler, its good enough for an overnight but I will try somewhere else for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The Doubletree St. Paul Downtown works very hard each day to be the best hotel in Downtown St. Paul. Soon will be receiving all new 42" HDTV's, Doubletree bedding package and all new in room amenities. A new restaurant concept is in the works and will be part of the main lobby taht will provide our guests with an upscale dining option. The staff of the Doubletree hopes to welcome and serve you again if your travels bring you to St. Paul. In the meantime, guests will experience clean, comfortable, well maintained accommodations and a very caring and attentive staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    139
    90
    49
    14
See reviews for
100
74
13
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I needed a place to stay when I picked up my daughter from college in the area. We had a long drive and would have loved to have had glass of wine or something to eat upon arrival. We were told that due to low occupancy the restaurant had closed early and room service was unavailable. We were directed to go to a place a couple of blocks away but as we pulled in there was a large group on the street that were running from something. The police arrived moments later. It didn't seem to be prudent to leave the hotel at that time. We went to bed hungry and had the pleasure of sleeping in lumpy beds. I certainly will not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've been living here on and off for 2 months. The staff is always helpful and friendly. Beds are comfy with lots of pillows. Mini fridge and microwave in each room. There were some excess heat issues during the colder times but now that I'm on a lower floor, it's no longer a problem for me. The restaurant serves good food, including truly fresh fruit!

Room Tip: During heating season, if you really like your room warm, try to get an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

There are better deals in downtown St. Paul but the accommodations are well cared for, the skyways allow you to get everywhere even in bad weather and the bedding is the nicest I have experienced. The room cost is higher than average. It will have new ownership, a Chippewa Tribe, soon and I expect good things!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were attending a 3 day conference with fewer than 100 attendees. We arrived early, and our rooms were ready for us. They were well-appointed with a beautiful view. The suite of conference rooms had comfortable furniture with ample space between tables; rooms were well-lighted, and maintained at a comfortable temperature throughout the 3 day conference. These rooms were adjacent to a lovely dining area with high ceilings and an open, spacious feeling. The breakfasts, break food, lunch and the coffee (Starbucks) were all very tasty, set up in convenient buffet lines, served at the right temperature and well-stocked. There were plenty of clean, nearby restrooms. All of the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful. They had a discounted parking ramp for guests. Highly recommended for a small conference.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room on a higher floor (I was on 15) facing the Capitol for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here while in the area seeing a concert. Rooms were clean, staff was excellent and enjoyed the cookies! Centrally located near the Xcel Center and local restaurants. Hotel was clean and rooms where very nice. I would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were attending the Fleetwood Mac concert last weekend and stayed at the DoubleTree in downtown St. Paul. Check in was a breeze and the gal behind the counter asked if we were in town for the concert and told us to stop back before we left for the venue and she would give us directions. It was a nice evening so instead of walking the skyway we walked to the concert as the X is only 3 blocks away. We were give directions to walk the sidewalks there and the skywalk back. Beds were comfy and good sized room had microwave, fridge, etc. Also, great cookies at check-in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.