We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice remodel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 E Kellogg Boulevard, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Radisson)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Owatonna, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice remodel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza over a weekend while attending a wedding. The staff was friendly and our check-in went smoothly.
Our room had been remodeled and was nice, but maybe a little small. The king bed did not leave much room for sitting at the desk.
The bathroom was nice and well lit. There was even a lighted side magnifying mirror. The shower did not have anywhere to set the soap or hair products, which was strange. It was also a newer design with just a short glass wall separating it from the rest of the bathroom and no door. That let a lot of water escape.
The bed was comfortable and there were several pillows from which to choose. There was no bedspread. Maybe still to come?
The hotel is located on the river and there are some nice walking paths. It was a short walk to the St Paul Farmer's market. We didn't notice a lot of shops within walking distance, but the Science Museum was next door.
The hotel had a restaurant with a breakfast buffet. Omelets are made to order, there was fresh fruit along with the usual buffet choices. The separate pub was a great lunch stop.
All in all, it was a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room - it's still a work in progress and the old rooms are unattractive. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for offering us some detailed feedback, Sue! As we've made these changes, it's quite helpful to hear where we can continue to focus our attention -- whether that means taking a better look at the new shower design or bedspread.

It sounds like you all really had an enjoyable stay, though, which is great to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in St. Paul!

Sincerely,
Tim Blaschke
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com
(651) 605-0175
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    142
    111
    55
    42
See reviews for
74
94
26
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

WIll never stay here again just went down to the desk to see if my mmy brothers room was done but still they had no way to guarantee that since the room is right next to ours and the maid card was out in the hallway I look at her she and down the room was clean but they were waiting for a supervisor to checked it. And turns out the were waiting for a roll of toilet..REally. THis hotel will be host hotel next year...YOu do not deverse to have this privledge. And will tell everyone.Sherry

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Sherry, it is disappointing to hear that you were not more impressed with your stay from start to finish. It is important to us that we have every detail of the room taken care of before our guest steps in. You are paying for comfort and accommodations, and we don't want to fall short there.

Was there anything else about the stay that concerned you? If so, I encourage you to let me know.

Sincerely,
Tim Blaschke
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com
(651) 605-0175
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo ND
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here because of it's close proximity to the Xcel Energy Center. We arrived Saturday afternoon. Locating and getting to the property was a breeze. Like many other reviewers indicated the parking garage is a nightmare; extremely low clearance and depending what floor you park on you have to navigate through the ramp to get to the hotel.

We arrived promptly at check-in time as well as MANY other guests so there was a HUGE line. Other than that the room was fine. Excellent view of the Mississippi River, fresh linens and tidy room. Yes, the rooms do need sprucing but I understand they are currently working on that.

Room Tip: Request a higher room (to avoid traffic noise) overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Sara -- the parking garage is something that is on our list, so we appreciate you letting us in on the fact that you were troubled by it.

It sound like you enjoyed everything else, though, which is wonderful to hear. We look forward to seeing you back should you need a place to stay in St. Paul!

Sincerely,
Tim Blaschke
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com
(651) 605-0175
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times on business, but this visit saw considerable change. The rooms have been completely renovated and the improvements make it feel like a different hotel. Furnishings lean to the contemporary, but are very comfortable and functional. The bathroom had a large, glassed in shower and nice finishes everywhere. The beds were very comfortable. The only remaining issue with the rooms is that most include a connecting door, allowing noise from neighboring rooms noticeable on occasion. The lobby of the hotel is currently being renovated, but that appears to be a work in progress. Service at the front desk was very good. All in all, I'm much more excited about staying at this location in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river on higher floors are a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Owner at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you, Larry! We have been loved being able to show our guests a new and improved stay, and we look forward to continuing to improve even more from here. Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you thought of everything.

Sincerely,
Tim Blaschke
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com
(651) 605-0175
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We got this hotel through Priceline.com and got a great deal. The service was excellent! We were greeted cheerfully by the front desk staff around 7 pm on the Fourth of July. They were helpful suggesting some pizza places for dinner and giving directions on how to walk to the state capitol grounds for viewing the fireworks.

There is no swimming pool which was a disappointment for us. We knew we were taking such a risk when booking through Priceline online bidding.

This hotel is within walking distance to Minnesota Children's Museum (a must do if you have kids), Science Museum of Minnesota, and numerous restaurants and theaters.

Our room was very clean. We forgot to take off our "Do Not Disturb" sign one day. I called down for towels when we got back to the room around 5:30. I didn't expect anything more than some clean towels. We left for dinner and when we came back, our room was clean! The maid service even took the time to neatly arrange our oldest son's stuffed animals and blanket on one of the beds.

Our only complaints for value is that there is no complimentary breakfast and you had to pay for parking. Vouchers for breakfast in the hotel restaurant would be nice.

The hotel is currently undergoing renovations. We didn't notice any construction sound, though we weren't in the hotel much other than when we were sleeping.

We would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your nice review and recommendation, Amanda! It's wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. I think that you will be even more impressed once all of our renovations are complete!

Sincerely,
Tim Blaschke
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com
(651) 605-0175
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We opted to stay in St. Paul after our flight from Pittsburgh to San Francisco became weather delayed. Based on positive experiences at other Crownes by family members we booked this location...where to begin?! We arrived around 9:30pm after a not great day of travel to find the hotel lobby in a state of renovations, a large reception (loud with wondering inebriated guests in the halls) and many volleyball tournament guests. We stopped down to the lounge for dinner where after sitting down at 10pm with our 2 teenagers were told we'd have to order out and sit in the lobby as they only serve adults after 10. This location seems to be a bar hopping favorite among the locals and it didn't feel like a place we'd want our kiss around anyway. So we ordered a variety of burgers and after waiting for almost 50 minutes constantly being told by the one single server it was almost ready (he was polite and courteous) we got our food and up,to our room only to find the meat red and uncooked in the middle. My wife and I went back down to the front desk and asked to speak with the manager and after 5-7 minutes later the manager appeared somewhat sympathetic and offered to comp us the pizza we ordered after that from the same room service which was OK. Additionally the room was musty smelling (manager said due to having so many sweaty players in all the rooms the past week) and offered to spray some industrial strength Febreeze which seemed like a stretch. The comforter also felt damp.

We were sorely disappointed in the lack of service and quality. The breakfast the next day at the main restaurant there was wonderful I must say, the staff very courteous...almost like a different hotel. We cannot recommend this hotel sadly!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Joshua, it is a shame to hear that you were not more impressed with your stay. While we are undergoing some great renovations, we have tried our best to keep the noise to a minimum and make things welcoming for our guests. We want to apologize if you experienced anything otherwise.

Additionally, we are sorry that your experience at the bar was not more efficient. I appreciate you speaking up about your concerns, so that we could try and get things taken care of in the moment.

As far as your room goes, it is likely that the dampness was a result of the A/C. For example, it might have been on high, and then turned off -- this would result in a bit of humidity.

Thank you for offering us your feedback. I encourage you to reach out to me should you have any other thoughts.

Sincerely,
Tim Blaschke
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com
(651) 605-0175
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at this establishment during our Bruno Mars concert and it was absolutely perfect! The service was great! Valet was wonderful and room service was exceptional!
I don't recommend parking yourself because it's difficult to find a parking spot in the garage, just use valet. The other nuisance was the check-in line. It took about 15-20 minutes to wait in line to get checked in but considering the event(s) for the night it was understandable. Price was reasonable too.
Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for the shout out! We apologize for the initial delay getting checked in. You're right, it can get to be a bit more of a wait when there are events going on, but we try to move swiftly and efficiently.

Do you make your way to St. Paul often? We would love to have you stay with us again next time you're near!

Take care,
Tim Blaschke
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com
(651) 605-0175
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront

Address: 11 E Kellogg Boulevard, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Radisson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop the bluffs of the Mississippi River in downtown Saint Paul, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Paul-Riverfront is one of the top greater Minneapolis hotels for Minnesota vacations or business travel. Relax in comfortable accommodations while enjoying unrivaled access to the best of the Twin Cities. At Crowne Plaza, guests can enjoy a 24-hour business service, free wireless high speed internet access in rooms and throughout event space, three restaurants, and indoor pool, plus fitness and leisure facilities.Long a favorite venue for meeting planners and conference attendees among greater Minneapolis convention hotels, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Paul-Riverfront offers an attentive catering staff and over 50,000 sq. ft. of elegant event space.Our St. Paul, downtown hotel is convenient to: Saint Paul RiverCentre Convention Center, Xcel Energy Center Arena, Mall of America, Minnesota Children's Museum, Minnesota State Capitol, Minnesota History Center, Science Museum of Minnesota, Ordway Center for the Performing Arts, Como Zoo and Conservatory, Minnesota Zoo, Target Center, Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Paul
Saint Paul Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.