We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK. Nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 E Kellogg Boulevard, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Radisson)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OK. Nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Don't get ripped off by $17 on site parking. There is plenty of metered parking along the riverfront so long as you can be out by 8AM. Staff was pleasant, but not particularly solicitous. Stayed 2 nights but canceled the third because the price jumped over $50. Now staying in a much more comfortable Hilton near the airport. Cheaper AND parking is free and breakfast for 2 is included.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim N, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Susan, thank you for offering us some feedback. It's disappointing to read that you decided to relocate after a few nights at our place, though. Being right off the river, and in a downtown location, we feel that we provide fair rates. I hope that you enjoyed your time in St. Paul. We're always looking to keep improving our guests' overall experience, and appreciate your helpful critique.

Best,

Tim Blaschke, General Manager
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com

651-605-0175
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    137
    100
    51
    42
See reviews for
72
86
25
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed two nights on business in September 2013. Hotel overlooks the Mississippi River in downtown St. Paul, next to convention center and other great stuff nearby. St. Paul is 'quiet' compared to its twin and seems safe and clean. Staff were friendly enough on check in and lobby and common areas were clean and modern. Te room layouts are a bit odd to say the least. The doors are flush to the walls (partitions, I would say) and if you look at the fire escape diagram on back of door you'll see what I mean. I was in a *21 room and it had a bathroom at entrance, then a long hallway to bed area with a blank space inexplicably in between. Most of the other room layouts seemed similarly to have corners, and other features built in. Not sure why, but it is what it is. I would suggest looking at floor layout in trying to get a room to suit your needs. If you can, go to the 22nd floor for the windows view. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Go high and riverside. If you cannot, take the free trip to 22nd floor to enjoy views of river valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim N, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts — it sounds like you enjoyed your time overall, which is great to hear. We have a lot of upcoming renovations that we're very anxious about, including changing up some of those odd room layouts.

If you find your way back in St. Paul, whether for business, or for fun, we welcome you to stay with us again!

Tim Blaschke, General Manager
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com

651-605-0175
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed here to attend a concert at the Xcel Energy Center. I reserved a river view room. Check out was a breeze and no issue with the reservation. We got to the room and we were all amazed at how big the room was. It was more of a suite then a regular room. More then enough room for 4 adults to move around freely.

Would definitely stay here again with a group of people.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim N, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We would love to have you and your friends stay with us again! Thanks for your encouraging feedback, Nichole. Perhaps next time you can take advantage of some of our other accommodations.

Cheers,

Tim Blaschke, General Manager
tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com

651-605-0175
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Not great, not poor. You could do worse in downtown St. Paul. The service at the registration desk was slow, personnel did not seem too concerned about speed with people waiting in line to check in or for other services. I waited forever just to get my balky key card recoded and then, ultimately, replaced. Inexcusable, really. But everything else was nominal. Agree with other posters, the parking is a rip off. If you have the luxury of a weekend stay, take your chances with the on street metered spots. We did, and with a mix of that and an event at the nearby Science Museum (vouchers for their parking garage), we managed to park all weekend free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear ColorBars,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife, a friend, and I all stayed at the Crowne Plaza Riverfront in St. Paul the last weekend in August for the Women Rock half-marathon. The hotel seemed to have quite a few participants in the various races for this event. We only stayed a single night on Friday and were neither completely impressed, nor disappointed in our experience.

Our initial experience with the hotel was negative as we decided to try their self-parking option as we assumed valet was much more expensive. They have an attached parking garage directly to the left of the valet. Upon pulling into garage we noticed just how cramped it was and after driving through the whole structure we realized it was full. As we were leaving we noticed they were blocking the entrance with signage to note this. We later realized valet parking was only $2 more than the self-parking option, but the price was not nearly as well advertised as the garage.

Checking in was a breeze and the staff seemed pleasant. The lobby is beautiful and large enough for larger groups to gather without getting in the way. The elevators are slightly smaller though so you may have to wait if the hotel is busy.

Our room was nice and clean, but looked like it could use a little updating. The view was fantastic as we were high enough up on the 15th floor to get a great view of the river and downtown. The bathroom as very small and was oddly setup as the toilet was almost sticking out in the middle of the room. It would've probably been worse if we were staying longer or for a family with children. The beds had Sleep Number mattresses which seemed like a nice touch, however they were difficult to work and very easy to set to a number that was uncomfortable without being able to adjust them back. Beyond these small issues, the rooms served their purpose well.

I did not use the pool, but did take advantage of the workout facility which was good, but small. I anticipate for a hotel of this size, with many business travelers, this facility can be busy. The equipment was newer and looked fairly well maintained. The pool was nearby (actually on the second floor above the lobby) and looked to be a good size with enough space to sit and relax. The odd part was simply that it was open to the rest of the floor which contained conference rooms.

Our group also ate at the restaurant on-site. It appeared they typically served breakfast and lunch, but on the night we were there they offered a special 'healthy dinner' presumably for race participants. It was served buffet style with a variety of healthy food. It was hard to gauge how the food would typically be, but on this night it was not great. It seemed to be prepared in haste and did not have much flavor to it. We also utilized the small Starbucks cafe just off of the entrance/exit to the valet. It was a nice extra perk.

Overall, the hotel was perfectly average, the staff was pleasant, and location was very good within St. Paul. We would stay here again given that it was the right price, but would not go out of our way to make sure this was the only hotel we booked. Quite frankly unless it was of high importance to stay in St. Paul, I'd opt to pay a little more for a nicer hotel in Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Higher level (15+) and facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Joshua G,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is nice to know that our room accommodations met your needs and you had a smooth check-in experience. I apologize if the parking conditions were a bit of a disappointment. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve what we can offer.

We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A friend was paying for my stay, and she sent in credit card authorization forms so the room could be charged to her card. I called and was told they never received it, and that their system had been down for two weeks so it's possible that they lost it. About 6 phone calls and an email to the manager (Brian) later, the forms were finally processed with my reservation.

I arrived a few hours before normal check in, and was first told that there were no rooms, but then asked to see someone else at the front desk who managed to find one. Once I got into the room it was very comfortable and clean. The air conditioning was not working, but I asked housekeeping to call maintenance and someone came and fixed it a few minutes later. I ordered one meal from the restaurant and it was very good and moderately priced.

Besides the disorganization of the front desk, my only other complaint is that when I called to ask about an airport shuttle, I was told that they had one but nobody mentioned the cost. I assumed it was free for guests, as most hotel shuttles are. When I checked out, I was told it was $24. Still cheaper than a cab, but I feel they should let you know this when you call to reserve it.

Overall this is a nice hotel, but I'm not entirely sure it was worth the $200+ cost per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Ashley812,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We regret you received service that was less than satisfactory during your stay. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great view, great location and that is where it ends. We entered from the parking garage and noticed how dirty the place was, but we kept going. We should have turned around and run when we overheard the woman in front of us, in the check-in line, asking for another room. Her room had not been made up after the people before her and the room, overall, was dirty. We checked in and entered our corner room, with great views, where we were hit by a disgusting, musty smell. The carpets were filthy and and torn. We cancelled our reservation and went to a Marriott. Haven't stayed in a Crowne Plaza for sometime and will not be returning. Expected so much more for 239.00 a night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi artfan54,

We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience at our hotel. Our hotel is in the planning stages of a major renovation with our new owners and management company that took over the hotel this past spring. We look forward to a bright future coming soon to downtown St Paul. Our goals as always are to provide great customer service and keep our hotel as clean as possible. We apologize that our team missed their mark in the room you visited in. It would be helpful to know the exact room number and if you have time and can share we would appreciate that. I can be reached at 651-605-0175 and am at your service. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront

Address: 11 E Kellogg Boulevard, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Radisson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop the bluffs of the Mississippi River in downtown Saint Paul, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Paul-Riverfront is one of the top greater Minneapolis hotels for Minnesota vacations or business travel. Relax in comfortable accommodations while enjoying unrivaled access to the best of the Twin Cities. At Crowne Plaza, guests can enjoy a 24-hour business service, free wireless high speed internet access in rooms and throughout event space, three restaurants, and indoor pool, plus fitness and leisure facilities.Long a favorite venue for meeting planners and conference attendees among greater Minneapolis convention hotels, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Paul-Riverfront offers an attentive catering staff and over 50,000 sq. ft. of elegant event space.Our St. Paul, downtown hotel is convenient to: Saint Paul RiverCentre Convention Center, Xcel Energy Center Arena, Mall of America, Minnesota Children's Museum, Minnesota State Capitol, Minnesota History Center, Science Museum of Minnesota, Ordway Center for the Performing Arts, Como Zoo and Conservatory, Minnesota Zoo, Target Center, Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Paul
Saint Paul Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.