We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days Inns Need renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 St Paul / I-94

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 St Paul / I-94 to your Saves list
Super 8 St Paul / I-94
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1739 Old Hudson Road, Saint Paul, MN 55106 (Formerly Exel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    31
    37
    85
See reviews for
59
29
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed on the second floor/2 queen/non-smoking. When we got into our room the smoke smell was horrible. Our kids, 9 & 12 couldn't even stand it. It smelt like someone literally just had a cigarette in it. The lamp shades had stains on them, there were burns in the comforters and matress covers. The mattresses were stained and under the top mattress it was filthy. The staff though were very friendly. They changed us to a room down the hall. Much better. There was no bad smell and it looked like it was a little bit updated. Even though there were burns in the comforter it was a little cleaner. There was still some dirty stuff under the top mattress but not as bad as the other room. It was the cheapest hotel in the area and it was a quick night's rest. I think that it just needs a good deep clean. Breakfast was okay and nothing fancy; bagels, juice, cereal, frozen waffles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your stay, and also the constructive comments about our hotel. I am glad we were able to move your family to another room. The hotel does need some deep cleaning in areas and we have addressed those issues. My apologies for the areas of the hotel we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 St Paul / I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St Paul / I-94

Address: 1739 Old Hudson Road, Saint Paul, MN 55106 (Formerly Exel Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St Paul / I-94 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 St. Paul is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, Pay Per View Movies and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with a Complimentary Super Start Breakfast. To make your stay even more rewarding, please join Wyndham Rewards, our guest loyalty program.We have several restaurants nearby; Sonic, Perkins, Wendys, Culvers, and Taste of Thailand. We are located minutes from The State Capitol, Science Museum of Minnesota, Downtown St. Paul, Metrodome and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 St Paul / I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St Paul / i-94 Hotel Saint Paul
Super 8 Saint Paul
Super Eight Saint Paul
Saint Paul Super Eight
Saint Paul Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 St Paul / I-94, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.