We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Paul's Thinnest Pillows” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 St Paul / I-94

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 St Paul / I-94 to your Saves list
Super 8 St Paul / I-94
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1739 Old Hudson Road, Saint Paul, MN 55106 (Formerly Exel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    31
    37
    85
See reviews for
59
29
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed on the second floor/2 queen/non-smoking. When we got into our room the smoke smell was horrible. Our kids, 9 & 12 couldn't even stand it. It smelt like someone literally just had a cigarette in it. The lamp shades had stains on them, there were burns in the comforters and matress covers. The mattresses were stained and under the top mattress it was filthy. The staff though were very friendly. They changed us to a room down the hall. Much better. There was no bad smell and it looked like it was a little bit updated. Even though there were burns in the comforter it was a little cleaner. There was still some dirty stuff under the top mattress but not as bad as the other room. It was the cheapest hotel in the area and it was a quick night's rest. I think that it just needs a good deep clean. Breakfast was okay and nothing fancy; bagels, juice, cereal, frozen waffles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your stay, and also the constructive comments about our hotel. I am glad we were able to move your family to another room. The hotel does need some deep cleaning in areas and we have addressed those issues. My apologies for the areas of the hotel we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We told two front desk people that the tv had one channel three times & they said they would be right up. We asked three times for one pillow and one blanket & never got them. No toilet paper and they did not have any in the building and did not know when they would. Elevator did not work. Smoke detector was missing. No cover on the outlet. Oder in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your constructive comments. Comments such as yours can only improve our service standards. My sincere apologies for the lack of service you received while staying with us. We are training new staff members with emphasis on excellence in service. Again, my deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I should have gotten tipped off when I found the hotel had a hurricane fence around it ...locking people out as not to be attacking people in the parking lot.. Scary place ,,,while there I kept thinking we were going to end up on forensic files show as the victims..The place said they had video cameras yet I didn't see any.i went down to check on our vehicle and there were two under cover cops in the lobby like in the movies.. one sitting reading a newspaper and the other playing with the computer.. i was so stupid staying in this hotel.. we high tailed it out the next day and headed to Duluth.. geez..till this day this hotel gives me the creeps and im a grown adult usually never afraid of anything but definitely was there.. never again.. rather sleep in the woods near an insane asylum .

Room Tip: UGH ...do I really need to mention this.. choose a good room in an excellent motel that is rated 90...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments. My sincere apologies for the inconveniences and problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 St Paul / I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St Paul / I-94

Address: 1739 Old Hudson Road, Saint Paul, MN 55106 (Formerly Exel Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St Paul / I-94 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 St. Paul is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, Pay Per View Movies and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with a Complimentary Super Start Breakfast. To make your stay even more rewarding, please join Wyndham Rewards, our guest loyalty program.We have several restaurants nearby; Sonic, Perkins, Wendys, Culvers, and Taste of Thailand. We are located minutes from The State Capitol, Science Museum of Minnesota, Downtown St. Paul, Metrodome and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 St Paul / I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St Paul / i-94 Hotel Saint Paul
Super 8 Saint Paul
Super Eight Saint Paul
Saint Paul Super Eight
Saint Paul Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 St Paul / I-94, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.