We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Oversights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 St Paul / I-94

Save Saved
You added Super 8 St Paul / I-94 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 St Paul / I-94
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1739 Old Hudson Road, Saint Paul, MN 55106 (Formerly Exel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Saint Paul
Duluth
1 review
“Little Oversights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our stay was only one night for a family birthday get-together. The room was nice and clean, but there were small inconveniences: only decaf was available in room; one side of king bed had no light and no nightstand; only two cups were provided, one of which had a hole and spilled all over my husband; no shampoo or other amenities. I appreciated the four pillows for the two of us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will ensure our rooms are stocked with the necessary Amenities. Thank you for choosing Super 8!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    30
    27
    73
See reviews for
51
27
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The front desk was the only nice part about this hotel. The rooms had a stinky smell to them. We had stains all over the comforter of nail polish or even dried blood (couldn't tell just knew it was red stains), the bed was rock hard and housekeeping came to our room two times before our check out time, waking us up and having to explain to them we were not ready to leave yet. Worst Super 8 I've ever been to. Will not be coming back. I will spend the extra money for better service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We apologize for your Less than satisfactory experience. Please know that your feedback is very valuable and we will use it to better our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

When I first arrived I was lied to for an hour an half, being told my room wasn't ready because housecleaning was behind. Then their story changed to the fact that the person who had the room the night before became a "Stay-over" that morning. The front desk staff knew this by the time I checked in, but decided not to tell me for as long as they could. Considering the fact that there were MANY guests at the Super 8 that were CLEARLY homeless and living there, the staff really should have seen that one coming and warned me ahead of time - my reservation was in the system for two weeks. They were unwilling to accomodate what we needed. When we got into one of the two rooms we reserved, the smoke detector was hanging off of the wall. There was also a disturbed woman sitting in the lobby talking to nobody in particular, as well as speaking to guests who did not want her speaking to them. I heard the front desk staff on the phone with their coworkers, saying that "The manager says guests are complaining, if guests are complaining then she needs to go unfortunately," backed up by the woman in question also saying, "Nobody said anything to me!" The staff had no intention of kicking her out until guests complained. Even after the cops arrived at 4pm, we still saw them out and about with the woman as late as 9 pm - why should it take 5 hours for cops to escort an unruly guest out of a hotel? As I passed two cops in the hallway watching the woman, I heard one say to the other, "It's the same s*** every week, we keep getting called back here, it's ridiculous." For two hours on-and-off late in the night, we heard two people fornicating very loudly down the hall. We saw a staff member walk down the hall, seemingly trying to listen to each room as if trying to find which room warranted the noise complaint, but did nothing to actually confront the culprit. And finally, all of the chairs and walls in our rooms had stains all over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory stay. We are taking steps to ensure our customer experience is a great one. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 St Paul / I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St Paul / I-94

Address: 1739 Old Hudson Road, Saint Paul, MN 55106 (Formerly Exel Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St Paul / I-94 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 St. Paul is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, Pay Per View Movies and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with a Complimentary Super Start Breakfast. To make your stay even more rewarding, please join Wyndham Rewards, our guest loyalty program.We have several restaurants nearby; Sonic, Perkins, Wendys, Culvers, and Taste of Thailand. We are located minutes from The State Capitol, Science Museum of Minnesota, Downtown St. Paul, Metrodome and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Super 8 St Paul / I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St Paul / i-94 Hotel Saint Paul
Super 8 Saint Paul
Super Eight Saint Paul
Saint Paul Super Eight
Saint Paul Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 St Paul / I-94, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.