We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, Staff welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 St Paul / I-94

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 St Paul / I-94 to your Saves list
Super 8 St Paul / I-94
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1739 Old Hudson Road, Saint Paul, MN 55106 (Formerly Exel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pet Friendly, Staff welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me and my husband checked in for a pet convention taking place in town. Our room was great,not cold at all,and the front desk staff was helpful and adorable. The young men and women were dressed appropriate, you could honestly tell the hotel was greatly managed because at all times it smelt so great, and all the staff was always cleaning. I enjoyed having hot coffee ready in the morning to get the day started. The price is right for excellent service. I would recommend family and friends there before I consider anywhere else. Me and my husband will definantly be returning next year!

Room Tip: I don't believe any of the outrageous, negative reviews. It couldn't be the same Super8 we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Super 8. We will look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    31
    38
    85
See reviews for
59
29
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

i had a very good time at Super 8 with my family and friends they have nice respectful and helpful employees and the people at the front desk was so nice and made this trip fun our hotel room met my standards all the way it was clean and i'm looking forward coming back to Super 8 i think it's the best hotel i ever went to!!

Room Tip: just needed to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Super 8 We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was cheap and old, and we don't spend much time in our room at any motel, but any time of day there were thugs and hookers,and panhandlers every time we went to the front desk. A lot of residents live there apparently,with kids, that run and scream in the hallways early in the AM.The good reviews must be from the residents for lower room rates. Never again. Thats what I get for being cheap, I'm learning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We have put into place safety and security measures to prevent this in the future. safety and security is our top priority., We have not experienced problems of this nature since new management has taken over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We thought we would be ok staying here. Boy were we surprised ! We walked into a lobby full of hookers and pimps. We went to our room to find other people's clothes left in the room. Holes in the bed and a funky smell that I didn't want to figure out what it was. The front desk lady gave us our money back but who in the hell thinks a place like that should be open? Not I !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
This review was back in August, since then new management has taken over property and has taken steps to ensure every guest experience is Super. we invite you to come back to the Super 8 and see what great changes we have made! Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I resided at this hotel for ten days while working in St. Paul and I found the staff very accommodating. The manager, Onny, went the extra mile to make my stay a home away from home. The hotel is located right off of I-94 so it was convenient for me to access locations without any inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing Super 8!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My family and I stay here on the monthly rate. All the staff is so kind and it is reasonably priced. They keep the hotel lobby and hallways so nice and clean and always smelling good! ;) When ever we need anything, they are always on top of it. They always make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. I would defiantly recommend Super 8 to anyone. There are no complaints over here!! Special thanks to the Manager and Assistant manager for everything you do!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing Super 8!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Was in town for two nights and I couldn't have ask for anything better. My room was a bit chilly but as soon as went to grab the phone to call the front desk,my phone rang.It was a women saying she was a manager and is everything alright with the room.i said my heat isn't working.as soon as I hung up the phone,she was at my door.She showed me how to operate it,and also the tv.She was so nice and made me feel epreciated.Some of the staff looked flustered at times but it was a real joy when that women was there....I would recommend this hotel to everyone because as a guest,I felt appreciated,welcomed and at ease!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Super 8 St Paul / I-94, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We will see you next time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 St Paul / I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St Paul / I-94

Address: 1739 Old Hudson Road, Saint Paul, MN 55106 (Formerly Exel Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St Paul / I-94 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 St. Paul is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, Pay Per View Movies and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with a Complimentary Super Start Breakfast. To make your stay even more rewarding, please join Wyndham Rewards, our guest loyalty program.We have several restaurants nearby; Sonic, Perkins, Wendys, Culvers, and Taste of Thailand. We are located minutes from The State Capitol, Science Museum of Minnesota, Downtown St. Paul, Metrodome and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 St Paul / I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St Paul / i-94 Hotel Saint Paul
Super 8 Saint Paul
Super Eight Saint Paul
Saint Paul Super Eight
Saint Paul Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 St Paul / I-94, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.