We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and pool good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 East 10th Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Up for the Holidays
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Location and pool good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our second stay at an embassy suites as a family. It was a good experience (for two nites), but we received only one towel for the four of us when we went into the room, this is not acceptable. Beds weren't made until 4pm and yes, one of the elevators was down (minor inconvenience). Breakfast was good, never did make it to the reception... but would have liked to. The pool and hot tub area was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for the review given to our hotel on July 15th We appreciate your sharing with us what you enjoyed about the hotel, we are certainly blessed with a great location and we are very glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast. I would however like to apologize for the towle situation, we have reviewed this as well as other opportunities with our housekeeping staff and believe we have identified the issue and corrected it. We are also very happy to say that when the modernization to all of our elevators is complete later this year all 4 elevators will be working much better and more efficiently to service our guests.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    99
    65
    46
    31
See reviews for
100
51
6
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were highly impressed with the great (and complimentary) made-to-order breakfast each morning and the manager's reception with drinks and snacks each evening. The pool was lovely, the rooms spacious and the overall hotel beautiful. I had hoped to be close to the Minneapolis Children's Museum, and we were only a few blocks away!

We also were only one block away from great food and beverage(Black Sheep Pizza, a lovely Thai place & microbrewery Tin Whiskers) and even an awesome fancy grocery store. We were also only two blocks from the metro so we were able to get to downtown Minneapolis and The Mall of America without a car.

Highly recommend for families!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for the outstanding review given to our hotel on July 13th. We are certainly blessed with a great location and a staff focused on exceptional guest service. We appreciate you sharing what made your stay enjoyable with us, we share all of our guest reviews with our staff in order to continue improving the overall experience of the hotel.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Expensive for the service and the facilities. Old bones, that are in need of fresh paint and elevators that move faster than geriatric turtles with bilateral hip fractures. (2-3 minute wait was typical). Beds comfortable, but linen not clean first night we stayed there. Lousy drains in shower/bathtubs (slow..so you do get the extra benefit of a "foot" soak during your shower).
2.5 out of 5...not bad enough to call poor, but not good enough to call average. I

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for the review given to our hotel on July 6th. We are sorry that this stay did not meet all of the expectations that you had for the property. We certainly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and we will be sharing your review with all of our associates in an effort to improve the quality of our hotel as well as the overall guest experience.

Thank you

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel in March. It was very close to the hockey arena. We also enjoyed the hotels restaurant after the game. Very spacious and newly renovated rooms. Only con, another guest must have been smoking in their bathroom because we woke up to our bathroom smelling line cigarette smoke. Front desk staff apologized and assured me the that the hotel maintenance would take care
of the issue.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for the exceptional review given to our hotel on July 6th We certainly appreciate you sharing what made your stay so enjoyable and we are glad that the hotel staff was responsive to your concerns and the situation with your neighbor was resolved.

We look forward to you returning soon

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

One elevator didn't work, and service on the others could not keep up with use. Sanitary conditions in breakfast were bad (serving utensils fell on floor and were put back in service by workers). Bathroom was not cleaned behind door: filthy! Neither TV remote worked. Room wasn't serviced until 5 p.m., neither toilet paper or Kleenex provided (we had to go to the front desk to get them).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for the review given to our hotel on July 2nd, we are very sorry that your stay didnot meet the expectation you had. We have shared all of your commetns with our team membvers and have ensured that training processes were in place to ensure this issues that you saw did not contnue.

Thank you again for making us aware of this as it is the only way we can continue to improve our overall Quality and guest experience

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Basicly the hotel was comfortable and the staff very pleasant. My issue was totally with the housekeeping of the room. The first night was fine, when we returned the next evening the room hadn't been cleaned, beds weren't made, towels not changed out, etc. The next day beds were made, towels changed but the mirror had water spots still on it from washing up and empty shampoo bottles were still in the tub where I had put them so they could be replaced. this was room 1 (I had 3). Room 2 upon arrival had every drawer open, sofa pillows on the floor and bed not made up. Room 3 was OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the review given to our hotel on June 27th. We share all of our guest reviews with our associates in a contnued effort to improve the quality of the hotel as well as the overall guest experience. we will go over this with housekeeping and review our processes to ensure the room is cleaned completely and correctly each and every time

Thank you fro the feedback, we certainly appreciate you taking this time to infrom us about your stay.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Spent a horrible, hot night in a room with no AC a few months ago. I suggest you read my previous review. Management finally returned my calls about two days later. Second room and room service were comped, which was, in my opinion not really compensation since we 1. Did not eat the awful luke warm room service and 2. Did not use the second room. So we basically paid full price for the room that we did use, the one with the ant infestation and no air conditioner. But I was ok with what he offered in the way of apology because he promised to send me a coupon for two free nights on my next visit. Never sent it. Hopefully you were sitting down and weren't up a tree when you read this as I'm sure the shock probably overwhelmed you. I find it hilarious that management finds the time to respond to every. Single. Review. On this site but doesn't care enough to honor their promises. Management FAIL. And I even deleted a bad review on another site because I felt that the manager was so earnest when he called to apologize. Probably would have deleted my review on here too had I actually been treated like my experience mattered. I'm a pretty reasonable person and don't actually enjoy reducing the star ratings of other businesses. Whatever. Over it. Shame on me I guess for not reading the Trip Advisor reviews like I usually do and just assuming it would be up to par because it was Embassy Suites.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown

Address: 175 East 10th Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Paul - NEWLY RENOVATED Downtown hotel conveniently located in the heart of the Twin Cities is just blocks from the Xcel Energy Center, the Science Museum of Minnesota and Minnesota Children's Museum. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale hotel is just minutes from many Saint Paul, MN attractions making our downtown St. Paul hotel the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests of the Embassy Suites St. Paul Downtown hotel stay in a spacious NEWLY RENOVATED two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary evening reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. Our on-site restaurant, Cork's Pub, provides a casual venue for enjoying dinner, catching a game on TV or simply having a drink to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Saint Paul Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.