We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 East 10th Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Up to Summer Package
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice friendly place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed at Embassy Suites & overall was satisfied with the hotel. Room was spacious & breakfast started at 6am which worked out as I had to have an early start.

My only problem was all the bed sheets should be changed if requested on a DAILY BASIS as who would want to sleep on used ones???

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review given to our hotel on December 28th. We certainly appreciate the feedback given and will review this will all of our staff in an effort to continue improving both the level of service as well as the quality of the hotel.

Thank you again

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    72
    57
    40
    24
See reviews for
73
33
6
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoyed our mini-vacation from winter at the Embassy Suites oasis. What a lovely, updated, french provincial hotel in the city! The staff was friendly and accomodated our every request with a smile. The suite included two large rooms. They were newly decorated with a designer's touch. It was as I would expect from the Hilton with attention to function, beauty and design. The bed was luxurious...my husband, a light sleeper, slept like a baby. The children (7, 6 and 5) loved the pool. I liked the shower available in the pool area to wash off after swiming. We enjoyed the breakfast chef--what a pro! Delicious omelettes served in a flash. Plus, they offer fresh fruit, oatmeal, bagels, cereal, yogurt. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the review given to our hotel on December 26th. We are certainly glad that you were able to share your mini vacation with us here and we are delighted that we were able to give you the experience that you deserve. We share all of our guest feed back with our staff, and will certainly pass along a job well done to all of the teammembers that worked so hard to make this a great "mini vacation"

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had a very good stay at hotel with wife and two kids, ages 5 and 10. We had cheese curds, calamari and pizza at restaurant which were all very good. Complimentary drinks (we had house pinot grigio) and apps (chips, veggies) are always appreciated. Room is great as it has two rooms seperated by door w/ kings size bed in one room and pull out couch in other with both having TVs. Refridgerator included. Only complaint is that shuttle driver played a news station that talked about people being killed in India and never changed the station or apologized. Not suitable for a 5 and 10 year old

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the review given to our hotel on December 24th and thank you for sharing what you found to be good as well as not so good about your stay. We share all of the guest feedback we recieve with all of our associates in an effort to contnue improving service as well as the quality of our guests visit. we will certainly review this with all of our drivers.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was amazing the level of cleanness and services that I received from all of the hotel staff. I will be booking this hotel in my next trip out to St. Paul. I would definitely recommend this hotel for other travelers going to St. Paul.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Spent 4 nights in November 2013 at the Embassy Suites for a business trip.

+ the pluses:
> good omlette in the morning prepared by friendly staff
> decent size room with separate sleeping and sitting area, full size refridgerator and kitchenette

- the minuses:
> room was terribly noisy all night, every night; either noise from an outside heating unit or from the swimming pool located underneath; my mistake not to change room but after an intercontinental trip just wanted to get a shower and sleep
> food from the bar hard to eat; too greasy burgers, tasteless soup; also remainder of the breakfast excluding omlette very simple food like in a school canteen
> two elevators very slow and busy; could take 10-15' to wait during rush hour to get up or down
> looking outside onto a roof top and parking space - ok, no problem. But the roof top was literally covered with thousands of cigarettes that others must have thrown out of the windows. Disgusting and makes one wonder how well other parts are maintained. The wind piled them up like a little mountain of leafs.

other things to know/consider:
> hotel frequented by a mixed audience ranging from tourists, business people, to convention attendees etc. can be busy and loud
> everybody can see inside your room from the corridor unless one closes the curtains to the sitting area
> simple bathroom, shower inside bathtub
> bar on the premise with live music
> location seemed to be close to St.Paul sights and places to eat out by taxi

Overall rating reflects price category of the Embassy Suites and above stated experiences.

Room Tip: Make sure you are neither located on top of the swimming pool nor next to the roof top
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
We thank the guest for the review given to our hotel on Decdember 23rd. This type of honest feedback is the only way that we will be able to continue to improve both our service and the quality of our hotel.

Thank you again

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

First off, I just wanna say the stay was not so bad. It was the fact that i get to my room, get ready for a shower then realize the bathroom door didn't close, then sat down to use the bathroom and almost face planted into the side if the sink cause the toilet seat was very loose and to top that off, the handle was broken and couldn't flush the toilet right and had to hold the handle down for like 15 seconds just to get it to flush…..But hey, they offered me a free movie..lol.. My bed sheets had a few stains on the end piece of it, but hey, i was to tired by that point to complain.… Then to top it off, I never got my gas card that was offered on the site for staying in a renovation celebrate room..lol. But The Pub did relax me with some nice burger sliders and drinks. My daughter liked the breakfast and pool. I def would stay again but hopefully the special offer get served to me next time. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review given to our hotel on December 15th we are in touch with this guest in order to make these situations right.

Thank you again for for your feedback

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

PROS:
This hotel was beautiful inside and out. The architecture was gorgeous, with half balconies for each room (which made the place look almost Parisian from the outside). Inside, the rooms all open to an indoor courtyard, filled with plants and pools with ducks in them. The rooms were huge and included a fridge, microwave, kitchen area, separate bathroom, and two flat screen TVs. The entire design of the hotel is great--very well done. The internet was surprisingly fast. The rooms were cleaned and stocked well, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Location wise, you're blocks away from major sites in St. Paul (easily walkable), and there is an obliging shuttle service as well. The in-hotel restaurant and bar is great, and has really good weekday drink specials. There is a complimentary cocktail hour for guests, and an omelet bar for breakfast. The pool area is beautiful, the business center is equipped well, and there is coin laundry!

CONS:
This gets a four star instead of a five for only a few reasons. The front desk staff, although pleasant, was not organized. We would call for something and have to call back three times, speaking to three different people, to ask for the item.
There is no "pantry" in the hotel, which was annoying when we needed some milk and everything nearby was closed. The place is undergoing some renovations, and I believe a pantry will be installed within the next few months. The elevators are slow and have no door close button. The windows in our room were not insulated well, so, during the negative temperatures while we were there, we were chilly at night. Hopefully this is fixed during renovations.

Despite the chilly nights, this was overall a gorgeous hotel and I would stay here again.


Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the review given to our hotel on December 13th. We are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will certainly share those things with the team that helped to make your stay what it was. Thank you also for sharing what we could have done better and what you felt was lacking at the property. we will certainly be reviewing the call back policy with all of our staff. If this policy was followed you would not have had to call three times.

You are right about the pantry we are very excited to announce that our new corner pantry is openning on or about January 5th. We are pleased to be able to offer our guests the alternative that they are looking for when in need of a quick item.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown

Address: 175 East 10th Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Paul - NEWLY RENOVATED Downtown hotel conveniently located in the heart of the Twin Cities is just blocks from the Xcel Energy Center, the Science Museum of Minnesota and Minnesota Children's Museum. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale hotel is just minutes from many Saint Paul, MN attractions making our downtown St. Paul hotel the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests of the Embassy Suites St. Paul Downtown hotel stay in a spacious NEWLY RENOVATED two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary evening reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. Our on-site restaurant, Cork's Pub, provides a casual venue for enjoying dinner, catching a game on TV or simply having a drink to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Saint Paul Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.