We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, spendy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel, spendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Price was high for a Saturday night stay. Small but clean room. No frills. Enjoyed the location, lots of bars/restaurants within walking distance or a cheap cab ride away. Easy but expensive parking on site. Would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi gotskilz77,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location near area attractions and within blocks of lots of different bars/restaurants! We are also glad to hear that parking was an ease, and that your room was clean! Prices at the hotel do vary by night, so please do call us to check rates when you want to stay. We'll look forward to seeing you then! Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    76
    43
    25
    5
See reviews for
26
49
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend while visiting my son. Beware, the hotel is in a convenient location, but is under renovations. My room had not been updated yet and it showed (dingy carpet, running toilet, bad lighting). While I understand that the remodeling is definitely needed, they began working on the room right above me at 8:15 Sunday morning! A little later start time would have been appreciated.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi Appletonkents,

While we are happy that you enjoyed our convenient location, we are sorry that our renovations caused some inconvenience. However, these renovations are now nearly complete (due to conclude at the end of the month) and will result in all new carpets and beds in all of our guestrooms. Our maintenance staff also continues to systematically inspect rooms and conduct preventative maintenance to help ensure guests continue to have comfortable stays with us. We hope that you will visit us again to enjoy the benefits that have come with these renovations, and we wish you happy travels until then. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband, son and I were in St. Paul for a weekend wedding and spent two nights at this hotel.
The room was clean, but decorated in depressing brown and beige tones. There was no vent in the bathroom, so, when showering, you had to leave the door open or try to dry off in a totally steamy bathroom with the door shut. The towels, while hopefully clean, were a dingy white. I, unfortunately, left some clothing in a drawer and called the hotel, but, after promising to contact housekeeping, they have never called me back. Extremely slow elevators and parking is extra! On the upside, the hotel does have a nice location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hi RealtorAtSea,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We're very happy to hear that you loved our location and appreciated your clean guestroom, but we are sorry that you found the room decor to be a little drab. On the bright side, we are currently improving our guestrooms with all new beds and carpets, so we are sure you will find the rooms looking good if you visit again! We are also very sorry to hear about your lost and found item and implore you to call us again regarding it. Please call our manager on duty at 651-225-1515 at your earlier convenience, and we will get back to you as soon as we possibly can! Thanks again for the review, and we wish you the happiest of travels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a nice hotel that is right across the street from the Xcel Energy Arena. There are a decent amount of restaurant with in walking distance and the hotel has a nice parking garage. The rooms are clean and a good size, typical of this class of hotel. Breakfast is not included but there is an attached restaurant with a decent menu. Check in was easy and staff were friendly. If, like us, you are going to the arena this a very good hotel. Our room was very quiet also. My only complaint would be the fact that you HAVE to use the elevator to go up or down from or to the first floor. Sooooo when 3/4 of the hotel guests come back from a concert the lobby becomes a bit of a cluster-feck as you can't use the stairs. Now that's some ingenious engineering.

Room Tip: drive into the parking garage entrance to unload and getting your parking pass
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Buzzerd03,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you appreciated our great location across from the Xcel Energy Center and near numerous restaurants within just two blocks of our hotel! We're glad that you enjoyed your clean and quiet guestroom as well as our friendly staff and convenient parking too! It's true that stairs are not generally accessible as they are fire exits that lead to the outside of the building. However, our staff is certainly happy to open them if need be. Feel free to ask if we haven't opened them yet! Overall though, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we'll hope to see you again in the future! Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed for a recent show- this place gets a five for location (excel right across the street, many restaurants within walking distance, Science Museum a few blocks away as is the river) but a three for actual accommodations. Not bad, not great- I guess you could say it serves it purpose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi wisctravfamily,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you loved our excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center and near numerous other attractions and great restaurants! We are also glad to hear that our accommodations were to your and your family's satisfaction, We always want our guests to consider their stay with us a 10, so please always feel free to let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay better! If not before, we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area for a concert! In the meantime, happy travels, and thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great location for downtown St Paul and close to Harriet Island park and pavilion. Also just across the street from the Excel center. Had to pay extra for parking so it was a little pricey, house keeping and other staff was awesome. Liffy's restaurant and lounge is right there and across the street was Eagles Bar and restaurant which was very good

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi scottmt59405,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and appreciated so much of what our hotel has to offer: great location; excellent housekeeping and other staff; and delicious in-house restaurant, not to mention many others nearby! It is true that there is a cost for parking, but the cost is similar in price to other parking fees for hotels in the downtown area. Regardless, we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we'll hope to see you again the next time you visit St. Paul! Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the holiday inn while entertaining clients at a show across the street at the Xcel Center.

The location was ideal for the concert and that is how we chose the hotel. Check in was handled efficiently yet a bit confusing as the cab driver dropped me in front of the Holiday Inn sign, which was not the entrance to the hotel.

As you'd imagine the hotel takes on the likeness of who is playing across the street so I would caution this to anyone not selecting the hotel to attend a conference.

The room was about as you'd expect from a holiday inn. Not great but generally clean. The shower was pretty bad but again clean and met the expectations you would expect from the property.

The attached Bar and Restaurant was great and featured a nice deck that was packed after the concert. The restaurant inside served a nice breakfast and was nicely packed for happy hour.

Bottom line is we made this decision based on location, location, location and our expectations were met.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi bmordski,

Thanks for reviewing our property! First and foremost, we're thrilled to hear that you loved our excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center and nearby numerous different attractions and restaurants! We're also delighted to hear that you greatly enjoyed The Liffey, our attached bar and restaurant. We agree that it has a lot to offer--from it's amazing elevated outdoor terrace to its great happy hour to its delicious food! We're also happy to hear that you found your guestroom to be clean our staff to be efficient. As always, do let us know if there's anything that we can do to make your stay better, and we'll be more than happy to help while you're with us! We'll hope to see you the next time that you visit for an event at the Xcel, and, in the meantime, we wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.