We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xcel, Cathedral, Food . . . Anyone?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Xcel, Cathedral, Food . . . Anyone?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Amazing location for the Wild game, church on Sunday at the Cathedral, and numerous great food choices within a 5 minute walk. We will be returning here soon! The only knock on this hotel is the slooooow elevators, but the staff and rooms more than make up for it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Compsolut,

Thanks for writing a review of our property! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location to visit all of those downtown locations, the Cathedral in particular--a personal favorite! The next time you're in town for a Wild game or other leisure or business reason, we look forward to seeing you! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    76
    43
    25
    5
See reviews for
26
49
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location for a concert or event especially in the winter (event site had no coat check). Friendly staff and we got a early check in which we really appreciated. Only gave a 4/5 because the elevators were very slow, the bathroom was small, and the carpet was in rough shape. Employees all great, room was clean, and great location which included many places to dine. Would definitely stay again for a concert or sporting event nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Spowell413,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's close proximity to area attractions, clean guestrooms, friendly, helpful, and knowledgable, staff, and the early check in! Although the bathroom may have been considered small, we hope that you found it sufficient for your needs; and, if the elevators were slow, we hope that you had the chance to ride our elevator with windows overlooking downtown Saint Paul. We think it's a view worth seeing! Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went to see a concert and stayed here. The best thing abou this hotel is its location. Many resteraunts, attractions, and directly across the streeet from the Excel Energy Center.

Reception staff were welcoming even during the extremely busy check-in time. The room size is fairly large with up to date decor. Room was pretty clean, shower curtain however was quite dirty or possibly stained. The soap and lotion were very nice and clean smelling and of some quality unlike many hotels.

Breakfast was upsetting. We booked a room that included breakfast (or $20.00 off). We were told we had to get to the Liffy before 10 am. We arrived at 9 am to find the Liffy void of all stools and chairs. The hostess apologized and stated that we should have been told they were celebrating St. Patrick's Day early when we checked in. She then told us to order room service. When I did that I was told that I could not order room service and use my breakfast coupon. I will add that I didn't discuss this with management (the desk/lobby was so crowded with parade participants), we just left and ate elsewhere on our way out of town.

I feel we did not get our moneys worth here. The location and room size was the only real positives of our stay here. Next time I think we will stay somewhere else and walk or take a cab to our event.

Room Tip: Away from elevators as it can get awfully noisy near them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Shbrri,

Thanks for writing a review our hotel. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's location in the midst of various area attractions, bars, and restaurants, especially the Xcel Energy Center. We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and their up-to-date decor. We're very sorry about the mixup with breakfast however. I know that the morning of the Saint Patrick's Day celebration was a busy one, and, I believe, the one day of the year that The Liffey has standing room only in the restaurant to accommodate the crowd. Despite that, you definitely should have been able to use the breakfast coupon that came with your room. We hope that you'll consider staying with us again given our all of our perks, and we strongly encourage you to let the hotel front desk staff let us know of any problems, like the breakfast coupon, that you have during your stay. We aim to make things easy rather than a hassle, but, when they're a hassle, we aim to make amends and to make your stay a great one. Thanks again for the review, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a concert at the Excel Ctr. And the location can not be beat. You are just accross the intersection from the front door of the Excel. We arrived at 4 to a lobby full of people. Check in went pretty fast and friendly. Parking was a nightmare. Got a spot only when someone left. It is an extra $15 but worth it. It appeared more spots opened a few hours later. Warning, it is a tight fit! Requested a room away from the elevator and found myself placed in a room right next to the elevator. Didn't complain although soon discovered the walls are very thin. You can totally hear every word of the conversations in the hallway. Thankfully most people went to there rooms after the concert with a few after bar hours. Not conducive for much sleep. Rooms were small but clean. Handle fell off the shower but I was able to get it back on. Ordered room service and the food was average pub food but I was happy they offered this service and it was definitely worth the 15% gratuity and $2 delivery charge to avoid the crowds. I would stay at this hotel again for a concert, only for the convenience, not for a good nights sleep.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Allison C,

Thank you for writing a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's location, available parking, and room service options. We're sorry to hear that you did encounter some issues during your stay however. In reviewing your reservation, I was able to locate the request you made for a room away from an elevator. Apparently there was some confusion in regard to the request, because it was clearly seen but not completed. Although it was absolutely an error on our part, we encourage you in the future to ask at check in whether requests you made on your reservation were able to be honored.

The location of your room surely affected the amount of noise you experienced. Naturally, more people have to walk past a room close by the elevator to get to their own rooms than by a room farther from the elevator. We are glad to hear that the noise caused by passersby was minimal however. We do have security on staff on concert nights to help ensure that noise from guestrooms is quiet in the evenings and night.

We're sorry that parking was more difficult than it should have been as well. If, for some reason, the parking ramp is full for a short time, please feel free to inquire at the desk about the possibility of parking in our small surface lot. This lot is always available for guests checking into the hotel for up to a half an hour in order to make the unloading of luggage easier.

Despite the fact that you had these issues, we're glad that there are things you like about our hotel, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to improve upon your stay with us. Thank you for highlighting everything, and thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here due to the hotels proximity to an event we attended. If you are looking to be close to the Xcel center, great restaurants etc its perfect. The staff makes up for the tired and worn decor, busy lobby and slow elevators. In fact, the staff is perfect. The restaurant (The Iffy) has great pub food, is clean and reasonable in cost. If you have a large vehicle and intend to park in the hotel ramp call first to see if it will fit. Its a tight squeeze in that garage and we have an Expedition. If you like a quiet hotel, this is NOT the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any groups booked there and request a different floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hi Corina B.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property! In reviewing your reservation, it looks as though you stayed during the high school state wrestling tournament at the Xcel Center. The tournament very likely contributed to the busy lobby and slower-than-usual elevators as well as the general bussle and chatter in the hotel. It's usually a bit less frenetic. :) To try and improve your stays with us in the future, I've put some preferences on your profile to increase the likelihood of you getting one of our quieter rooms, although we do always advise guests to make such requests themselves when making their reservations. We hope you visit us again, and thanks once more for the review!

During big events like the tournament, we do employ security staff to try keeping the noise level in the hotel to a minimum at night. Nonetheless,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here for about 4 weeks for business. It's a nice location. Especially if you're there for an event at the Xcel Center, Ordway, etc. I got to know of all the people that worked there over 4 weeks. Most were great. One or two of the front-desk women were rude, but the rest were good. The rooms were clean, but just so tiny! I wasn't expecting anything special, but there was just so little room. I don't now if the hotel offers cots for additional guests, but I don't think there would be a place to put one in the room. No closet (i.e. with doors), just a little nook with hangers. Over all, nice stay. Would recommend if you want to stay downtown and in walking distance of lots of restaurants, entertainment, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi Ahmed,

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that your stay with us was nice overall, and we hope that you'll be back so that we can make your next one even better. We are happy that almost all of the staff was courteous and helpful but sorry for the one or two occasional sour apples. Incidentally, the hotel does not offer cots, as they are against the fire code--a result of the rooms being the size that they are. Nonetheless, we are glad you enjoyed the stay and appreciate the recommendation. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iron mountain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay if you are attending an event at the Xcel Energy Center. We walked right out of the front door of the hotel and across the street to our event (without jackets in the winter). It was so nice not to have to deal with any traffic/walk etc. because we were right there! Had drinks at hotel bar before, and dinner afterwards there as well. Food was great and all staff in restaurant and hotel were very accommodating. Parking fee was reasonable too. Friends opted to stay a bit down the road to save $$ and ended up walking a confusing 15 min. through the skywalk to and from their hotel. It was much further away than they expected. When parking was averaged into their stay they paid $20 less than us and wished they would have stayed @ the Holiday. Rooms are always clean and comfortable, and like I said you are in a great location!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.