We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, comfort, super clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Value, comfort, super clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. It was everything you'd expect from a Holiday Inn. Clean, comfortable room, friendly staff, comfortable bed. Location was key for us. Near the Capitol,where we had business, and near many restaurants and bars. It's across the street from the Xcel Energy Center, and would be perfect if your attending an event there. Downtown St. Paul is nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our staff, clean guest rooms, and location near several major sites in Saint Paul. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    76
    43
    25
    5
See reviews for
26
49
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I am not a clean freak but I wondered why this hotel room felt cleaner. Linen and bed even smelled great, pillows could NOT have been smaller. Front desk was a pleasure to deal with. We had food and drinks in the Pub both were great, and they were busy. Parking was way to easy. Hallway carpet looks new, rooms were fresh. Great stay!

Room Tip: Our fifth floor was quiet, ask at least for a room away from the pop machine, and ice(each on opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our staff, pub, and clean guest rooms. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Due to 7th Street having a median, getting into this hotel can be a wee bit tricky. There is a lack of signage pointing the way to the entrance as well. We circled the block trying to figure out how to find the front door. However, once found we were greeted with cheerful employees.

The rooms are very clean, the hallways spotless, and shining elevators. Cleanliness isnt a problem here. The beds were a bit worn out due to people sitting on the edges. The furniture in the room was a bit dated, and the upholstered chair a bit hard, wonderful bedding though.

We were always out and about at dinner time, but ate breakfasts in the dining room. We were very disappointed with the food. Things were either over salted, or had no flavor. Stick to eggs over easy, a meat and toast and breakfast is fine. I had bad luck with the pancakes being raw and doughy, but maybe you'll have better luck. And no, it wasnt due to the kitchen being in a rush, we were the only customers at breakfast that morning. Servers were all personable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you're going to an event at the Xcel Energy Center or other downtown St. Paul venue, the Holiday Inn St. Paul is a great location, literally steps away from the Xcel. It's also close to other great downtown restaraunts...Kincaids, The Downtowner, The St. Paul Grill, etc. Although the location is great, the hotel is obviously heavily used...and it shows. In our room, the shower curtain was ripped, and it took 3+ times to get the toilet to flush. But, we just needed a room to crash in after a concert, so it suited our needs.

The hotel was well run. All of the staff were friendly, we got a room upgrade even though the hotel was sold out, and all services were prompt and thorough. I would stay here again, although I would go elsewhere if I was looking for a quiet or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding. The bar next door was lots of fun on Saturday night. By Sunday morning, when we went down for breakfast though, I didn't much care for anything that was offered. I guess that was the only con. Wasn't really homey, like a lodge or anything either. But I slept pretty good. And customer service seemed nice too. Good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Its a Holiday Inn! What more can you say you get the standard formula but it's all done well, the elephant towel sculpture on the bed made me smile as I walked in to the room.
Service and reception great, my room was ready at noon.
Irish pub on the ground floor will feed you if not excite you.

Room Tip: 8th floor has the bes views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was in town for one evening on business and stayed at the Holiday Inn. The hotel was comfortable, the staff very friendly.
Pros: The internet worked well in the room, the beds were comfortable and the shower was pleasant. The room is spacious, definitely large enough for 1-2 people. Everything served my purposes.The location is good, there are several nice restaurants, bars and coffee shops nearby and the Xcel center is across the street. The coffee in the room could have been a bit better-- but it was drinkable.
Cons: The computer in the lobby, there is only one, did not work during my stay and the staff were unable to fix it (I wanted to print my boarding pass).

All in all, I had a good stay at the Holiday Inn and would return to this hotel should business take me here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.