We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible manager! Unreasonable!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible manager! Unreasonable!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

First I would like to say that I am not writing this because I'm hating on the hotel but with my experience there, I wish not to return and seemed like a racist act for no reasonable accusation. And I am not making this up. Booked the hotel for one night, checked in about 3pm dropped our stuff off because we were from out of town, of course, then left about 3:30pm to explore out stay in MN. Came back around 7:00, took or swim and the pool and the Jacuzzi, this was with like 7 of my friends. We rented 2 rooms with 2 beds. So then around 9pm maybe close to 10pm we went out to have fun for the night. Didn't get back till 2 and 20 minutes later the manager, Evan, came and told us that we were way too loud. So we were like ok maybe we are loud so went to our own rooms, 4 in the bedrooms, and not even 10 minutes later kicked us out for being loud again. I don't know about the other 4 people because they did have visitors too but in my room it was only 5 of us which the extra one was a visitor. We were just watching tv and talking to each other and he came back and kicked us out and said that we were being loud for the past 3 hours. First of all, we just got back for about 20 minutes only not 3 hours. Second, are we suppose to be whispering to each other, why we can't talk to each other? Thirdly, was there a sub-imprint somewhere on our stay that said that there's a curfew before a certain time? This was a horrible experience. Kicking us out at 2 in the morning, with no where to go, for not a reasonable reason and a total lie. I would love to at least have my money back for just a few hours of stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
We have reviewed your comments and we have sent you a private message to gather additional information about your stay.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    84
    50
    27
    6
See reviews for
31
56
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kemaman, Terengganu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Arrive on the 8th Jun, the hotel is nice, clean and people are great!!! Staffs and general public. Housekeeping folded a pet from the towel which was very sweet. Location is good, many bars and restaurant within walking distance. Overall had a real 5 days stay :)

Room Tip: the rooms should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I was in town with friends for the Roger Waters concert at the Xcel Energy Center. Let me first say the location could not be better. The Xcel Center is a short walk across the street. Several bars restaurants within walking distance. If you want a good location this is it.

Parking was $15 during my stay and check in went smooth. The hotel has 3 elevators in the lobby one of which did not appear to be working. The other two were very slooooow.

When we got to our room it was clean but very warm. We turned the AC to 60 and went to have a good time. When we returned to our room after midnight the room was still very warm the AC was not working properly. Figured it was too late to switch rooms so we notified the fromt desk of the problem when we checked out. My room had two twin beds which were comfortable but small and many pillows to choose from. TV reception and picture was great. We asked for a roll away but were told fire codes prohibited but was offered additional sheets and blankets if needed.

The toilet had a purple foam running down the outside of it. We would wipe it up but it would return. The shower also had some dark marks on the floor. It made it appear dirty. We never used or saw the pool. Free coffee in the lobby in the morning and free USA Today.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have been in this hotel in may, 2012. The position is close the Saint Paul down-town, walking distance. The room is large with view on the cathedral, the internet connection is included in the price and it is fast enough. In the room a coffee machine is provided, which is also appreciated. The personnel is kind. Beds are comfortable and with choice of pillows.

On the negative aspects: the bath is really small, not for an adult. The toilet is automatically flashing a small amount of water each 15 minutes, which is annoying during the night. The breakfast is not included, it can be done in a restaurant within the hotel, not very convenient. The room has a fridge but it is empty (?). Not serious drawbacks anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear zarpietro,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We are sorry you found the bathroom accommodations less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed here on business. The room was really clean, and the front desk folks were attentive and accommodating. The pub downstairs is a few steps above a hotel pub - very cool actually. It was quiet, and there are a lot of great restaurants nearby. It would have been a near perfect experience but for the breakfast I ordered in my room. The breakfast menu is deceptive about its prices - I ended up paying nearly $25 for a single cup of coffee, a small juice, toast, eggs and potatoes. The eggs were supposed to be over easy but they were so undercooked they were inedible. The toast was dry, and they brought no butter or jam. The coffee was subpar. It was truly horrible. The only other negative was that they didn't offer any type of shuttle service, unlike most other holiday inns.

Don't order breakfast here and you'll enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. We were pleased to hear that our staff was very attentive and your room was clean.
I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall experience due to your room service order. I have share your comments with our Restaurant Manager so he can review them with his staff.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The staff was very polite and helpful. We were in town for a Wild game. First of all we went to our room and there was a used pair of socks laying along the bed frame. The room was 516 and the door was not sitting in the frame properly,at the top on one side the gap was wide enough to let light and noise in. The room was horribly small bathroom even smaller. Parking was decent but very expensive. It cost me $157 per night with tax. WAY too much for a hotel with the old less than mediocre Midwest small town atmosphere. I would expect much much more from a Holiday Inn. Especially a Holiday Inn downtown St. Paul MN next to the Xcel Energy Center.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. I am pleased that my staff was very polite and helpful. It seems we overlooked items that were left behind. I apologize for that. I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Manager. Our hotel charges $14.00 an evening for parking plus tax. I have sent you a private message to contact me directly.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The elevators were horribly slow and the overall cleanliness was not good. The Liffey had great food and I thought the staff was as friendly as could be but given the choice, I would never stay there again. It's probably a great place for drunk hockey fans but not business travel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.